We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in catastrophe” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Check in catastrophe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Seriously could not believe that with a reservation, there were no rooms cleaned by 7:00 pm. Some folks had been waiting over three hours to checkin. What made matters worse was the attitude of the checkin clerk. Horrible customer service. How hard would it have been to keep a call back list when a room was ready? Will not be back

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We apologize for your inconvenience and for not providing the Holiday Inn Resort Standard of Service. It is our goal to provide all of our guests with both a quality product and service. Please contact me at the hotel directly so we can further discuss your stay. Thank you for your continued patronage of Holiday Inn Hotels and Resorts.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    209
    108
    63
    51
See reviews for
265
160
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place was great, we arrived before check in time and they let us check in early. We told the staff we were here to celebrate our anniversary and they went above and beyond to give us the perfect room, last floor at the end of the hall for privacy and with a view! room was clean and beautiful, Staff was courteous and attentive. Our stay here was wonderful! Thanks Holiday Inn for making our anniversary a special one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and celebrated your anniversary with us. Its is good to hear that our property exceeded your expectations by providing a quality product and service. We are also pleased that we were able to check you in before the check-in time. We thank you for your business and we hope that you can return to our hotel in Galveston very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Brought my sister and her family here because I'd been so impressed in the past. It's now 5:30 pm and I'm still waiting on my room to be ready. I'm in my sisters room, and the desk chair is ripped, the beds are sloppily made, and the floor feels gross to bare feet. Pretty disappointed right now. I expect better from a Landry's owned property.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
I am sorry that you had a poor product experience at our hotel and it is not our standard of product or service. I would greatly appreciate it, if you could contact me directly so we can discuss what room you were in so we can correct the issues that you observed and to discuss your stay in further detail.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We visited in November, when the weather was still nice but water in the pool too cold to have a swim. However, we enjoyed our stay, room was comfortable (executive floor with a fridge). We also went to the restaurant with nice food and good service. There is a Rainforest Cafe, which is a must to see especially with kids. Service at the hotel was very good and receptionists very helpful. We also used a free shuttle to the ship terminal, which was very convenient. It is not far to go to the centre and park. Galveston is very nice and many interesting places to see. There is also rental bikes right next to the hotel beside, which is a nice way to explore the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: It is better to be above the pool since there is a noise from air conditioning on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are ideally located and our complimentary shuttle to the cruise terminal is the perfect way to start and end your cruise vacation. We thank you for your business and we hope that you can visit us again in Galveston soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is exceptional! We've been going there for years and it continues to impress. There are more luxurious hotels along the seawall, but this one stands out. It is a perfect location for the beach across the street and proximity to restaurants and shopping. The staff has always been friendly, professional and courteous Special accolades to the concierge and driver, Debbie. She is a welcome sight and we always look forward to seeing her again. Pool area and activities are great for families. We look forward to going back down there next spring.

Room Tip: Just make sure you don't get a room right above the roof-line with the air conditioners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We thank you so much for your review and comments. We are so glad that you continue to visit our property and that each time you have a perfect stay and that you notice the continous improvements to our property. We completed renovations in 2009-2012 and we are completing another round of renovations in 2013-14. We are always improving our product to provide the highest quality product and service for our guests. Thank you again for your feedback and recognition of our staff and we hope to see you next spring!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Want to thank Will from Engineering, Andrea and Mike from the Front desk. From the time we arrived, these folks made us feel welcome. From helping us get our belongings to our room to arranging passes and free Shuttle Service to Pleasure Pier, staff made us feel very welcome. Great location, great shower. Good to have in-room El-safe. Too busy to use pool. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for recognizing our team members for a job well done. We are glsd that you enjoyed visiting the Pleasure Pier. We are just sorry that the pool was so busy. We thank you for your business and we do hope that you will return to our hotel soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here last night and it was just ok. The pool was fine... small but enjoyable enough. Room was nice also. Its location is great being close to 61st St, Landrys, Rainforest Cafe, etc. The bar is a little run down and when we went for drinks we didn't feel like staying. The biggest thing for me was that housekeeping was knocking on the door at 8:45 or 9 am! Leave us alone... I think most people are sleeping then. They should be more considerate. I won't be back. I'll go somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. Our hotel is in a great location to the beach and numerous restaurants. I am sorry that housekeeping knocked on your door so early but our housekeeping staff does begin cleaning rooms at 9am. We do provide Do Not Disturb Signs for all of our guestrooms for guests who choose not to have service in the morning. I am also sorry that you didnt enjoy our bar. However, the bar was renovated in 2012 and has been voted the Top Live Music Bar in Galveston for 5 straight years. We are sorry that you had a negative experience but we hope that you will return so we can provide you with a better experience your next stay.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.