We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good. But better elsewhere.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good. But better elsewhere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night and it was just ok. The pool was fine... small but enjoyable enough. Room was nice also. Its location is great being close to 61st St, Landrys, Rainforest Cafe, etc. The bar is a little run down and when we went for drinks we didn't feel like staying. The biggest thing for me was that housekeeping was knocking on the door at 8:45 or 9 am! Leave us alone... I think most people are sleeping then. They should be more considerate. I won't be back. I'll go somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. Our hotel is in a great location to the beach and numerous restaurants. I am sorry that housekeeping knocked on your door so early but our housekeeping staff does begin cleaning rooms at 9am. We do provide Do Not Disturb Signs for all of our guestrooms for guests who choose not to have service in the morning. I am also sorry that you didnt enjoy our bar. However, the bar was renovated in 2012 and has been voted the Top Live Music Bar in Galveston for 5 straight years. We are sorry that you had a negative experience but we hope that you will return so we can provide you with a better experience your next stay.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    140
    67
    44
    37
See reviews for
160
104
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We ended up at this hotel because we left our condo early due to no hot water. The staff was friendly, helpful greeted my husband at the door when he checked in. The room was clean, had a great view and we enjoyed a hot warm shower!! We were here only one night but we enjoyed it, especially because the walk to the beach was just across the street. Thanks for the nice room and experience especially after the not wonderful experience at our condo.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel across from the beach while your condo was having issues. We thank you for your business and we hope that you return to our property or refer us to your family and friends.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were roomy (for 2 people) and had a fridge and microwave, which was nice and we didn't have to specifically request it. Except for finding some long strands of hair that didn't belong to me (think it was housekeeping) the room was very clean. The bed and pillows were very very comfortable. The staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is our goal to provide quality service, cleanliness and a well-maintained property for all of our guests. I am sorry that a hair was founf in your room. It is our standard not to have hair in a guestroom and I will ensure that we address this with our staff. Again we thank you for your positive comments about our hotel staff and property and we thank you for your business. We hope to see you again soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Thanks to all the staff for making our family trip all it could be. Special thanks to Skylar Nelson. Great view and easy access to the ocean. Would stay again in a heart beat. What a excellent place to visit with many attractions near by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and your feedback. We are glad that you had an excellent stay with us and we are even more pleased that our hotel team provided you with Great Service. also, thank you for commendation of Skylar, our guest services agent. We appreciate your business and we hope you can return to our hotel and Galveston very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here mid May for two nights before our cruise, the price for the room was great and I was a little worried on the quality of the hotel for what we paid. I can tell you now I shouldn't of worried the hotel was clean, smelt fresh the room was beautiful furnished with plenty of room and the location was right opposite he beach.
What made our stay here exceptional was there customer service, nothing was too much trouble from the moment we checked in late to arranging there complimentary transfer to the port.
The staff were so helpful & friendly and Mike the front desk manger was so helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel, it was beautiful looking out at the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and it great to hear that our hotel team made your stay perfect by providing exceptional service. Our complimentary shuttle to and from the cruise port provides a fun cruise experience, as well. Thank you for your business and we hope that you can return to our hotel soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very friendly staff. Nice room with comfy bed. Walking distance from beach and several restaurants. Very nice pool area!!! Only bad things are the road you have to cross to get to the beach and none of the vending machines work (although the staff was quick to refund).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was comfortable and that we provided you with friendly service. Unfortunately none of the hotels are actually on the beach and are across the street from the beach. We do have a crosswalk at 53rd Street and Seawall Blvd only about a city block from the hotel. I am also sorry that are vending machines were out of order due to the drinks all being sold. They have been re-filled. Thank you for your continued patronage of Holiday Inn Hotels and Resorts and we hope that you can return to our location very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWH01
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We typically stay at San Luis resort but it was $500+ a night so we opted for the Holiday Inn right next store and it was 1/2 the price for the same view. The staff were wonderful especially Jennifer, Jasmine, and Ed. Very nice and exceptionally helpful. They also provided us free parking and shuttle service while we were on our cruise for the week. It was a great experience and a significant savings to boot.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank yuo for your review and your positive feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay prior to your cruise. It is also great to hear that three of our team members as well as all of our staff provided you with exceptional service. Thank you for your business and we hope that you can visit us again very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn on the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Café and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.