We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galveston vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Galveston vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago - Rooms were nice, the staff was helpful, - Jose went out of her way to make some copies for me, that really helped. Thank you to Jose at the front desk. The night club attached to the hotel isn't too great for the noise of the bass -

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    166
    78
    52
    42
See reviews for
200
126
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed there the night before a cruise and it was fine. I'm not crazy about rooms that have an outside entrance, therefore the 4 star. The room was nice, but we had requested a rollaway and it took a real effort to make it work. The pillows really need to be improved too. Convenient to restaurants and close to the pier. Fine for a cruise but we probably wouldn't stay there otherwise...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here probably May 30 & 31st (+/- a week) of 2010. I had exactly the same intolerable experience as the 1 star reviewers from Dec. 18 and Nov. 18 2012.

I am sad to read that they are still this rude, inconsiderate and contemptible.

There is a nightclub attached to the hotel. They play music with the bass turned up so high, that it thumps in your room until at least 2 AM. When I complained to the desk they said, "We're a resort. We have to have a dance with loud music" and acted like it was my fault for staying there. I somehow should have known, because they are a "resort".

They claimed they would talk to the DJ, but the only result of that was that when the DJ left at 2AM, he apparently left the sound system turned up to full on automatic, because at 4AM loud thumping music was still being broadcast throughout the hotel at just as high a volume. When I complained at 4 AM, the desk clerk finally went into the (now empty) night club and turned down the music.

This "resort" has no respect for their guests. Our compensation for a sleepless, wasted night of valuable vacation time? Free breakfast. Yay.

In 2010 the best thing about the place was that they had a ping pong table in the recreation area. Now it's folded up and hidden in the utility room.

The last two summers we've had a very nice stay just down the seawall at the hotel that whose name sounds like a very good cowboy movie. They aren't perfect, but you get a good night's sleep there, without the idiocy of people who think that loud booming in your room all night is something you should expect at a "resort".

Room Tip: Don't. Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
SOCMED
Public Acknowledgment
Dear Jeff W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us and if your stay was negatively affected by the outside noise and poor customer service from our staff. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. Rest assured, we will address this and will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We selected this hotel for two reasons. We wanted a hotel with a cruise shuttle service/parking and close proximity to the ocean with ocean views. Upon arrival we were offered porter service and took advantage.We were placed in a room on the second floor overlooking the pool with a spectacular ocean view. We could hear the crashing waves on the balcony. We were worried about noise from the bar/nightclub, but we figured after a 15 hour drive we would sleep soundly. We were awoke from the booming bass of the nightclub shortly before they closed. We were able to return soundly asleep. The room was clean, even for a smoking room, there was not that overpowering stench of stale smoke. Did not eat in the restaurant instead sampling local fare.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had stayed here once before on the night before the cruise and then switched to the nearby Hilton for our next two cruises. When we stayed here again, we remembered why we had switched. The room is updated, but has a window unit a/c which is loud to start with and then clunks on and off all night. If you choose fan only, the room becomes clammy due to the humidity. Also, the coffee maker did not work, but there is always coffee out in the lobby.

However, if the Hilton was not available, we would stay here again, due to the services provided to people taking a cruise.
The hotel lets you keep your car in their lot for the duration of your cruise and they also provide transportation to and from the cruise ship. This is a great service - when we arrived back in Galveston from our seven day cruise, the hotel van was waiting right in front of the door and we were back at our car within 20 minutes. All of the staff, both in the hotel and the shuttle drivers, were just excellent.
We had a room far away from the pool and bar, so that was not a problem. We enjoyed having a cocktail in their bar after dinner, although the bartenders are rathered scattered in their service.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, ask for a room away from the pool and bar. This is a party town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay the night before a cruise, don't pick this place. There is a bar and a pool right in front of the oceanview rooms and all you hear til 1:30 am is music in your room and drunk people talking outside your room. We called to complain and they did nothing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear smongie,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here the night before our cruise on December 1. We had a balcony room on the 6th floor that overlooked the hotel pool and had a great view of the beach and water. Room was very clean. We arrived in the evening and while the lobby was very full, check-in was very quick and the front desk attendant was very polite. We had no major issues with the room. We couldn't get our iphones to charge with any of the outlets, which was very odd. We used every charger we had wtih us without luck. I know iphones can sometimes be tricky, so I wouldn't say it was a hotel issue, as I didn't have any issues using my hair dryer. We did speak with the front desk attendant and while she was perplexed too (lol), she did offer to have someone come up to look at it. We ended up declining since we would be leaving the next morning. Clean, friendly service and a nice room with a great view! If and when we come back to Galveston for another cruise or to enjoy a long weekend, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#8 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn on the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Café and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.