We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent one day stay before cruise!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a Free Night!
Ranked #19 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent one day stay before cruise!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We got a very good deal online so we decided to stay here for a night before we board our cruise. This hotel is indeed on the beach and quite close to the port from where we had to board our Carnival Triumph. Our deal did not include free breakfast however this hotel is located at an ecxellent location with quite a few restaurants (from Rainforest cafe, Ihop to local restaurants) so we were good. It has Walmart and Kroger nearby so was good to purchase some last minute stuff for our little one. We really liked the location of this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    124
    64
    40
    34
See reviews for
144
97
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and if everything hadn't been booked up, I would have left in the middle of the night. We were on the 4th floor and evidently above the bar because a Zydeco band played until almost 2 a.m. It was so loud that our room vibrated. I called twice to complain to a disinterested front desk. You also couldn't park if you left in the evenings because all the people who came to the bar took up all the parking. We had to park a street over in the overflow parking lot. The second night, I thought surely not again, but yes, same band and same noise. This time I asked to talk to a manager who couldn't move us because they were booked full, but took a whomping $40 off my bill. I also discovered some ants or some sort of insects in the bathroom the morning of checkout. After this experience, I will never stay with Holiday Inn anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Are you ready for this? You are about to read a bad review about room 821 in the Holiday Inn "Resort" in Galveston. Do not stay at this hotel, unless you want...

--Door to outside that doesn't shut unless you put some weight behind it and do it just the right way so the latch matches up and you can actually lock the door.

--Security latch on door that is falling off the doorframe and can't secure itself, much less you! (Oh, and when they come fix it, the guy from the "engineering dept" comes up to the eighth floor with a luggage dolly and says, "Did you need this?" Really? Then, when he's told the real reason he was called to your room, he says he has to come back, then. I told him forget it.

--A luggage rack that breaks the moment you put actual luggage on it.

--Birds that wake you up at 4 am the first night you stay and a party with a live band that keeps you up until 4 am ( well, almost) the next night!

--A TV that doesn't work because they are upgrading to HD. All day??

--A restaurant that charges $9.99 per person for a very bland breakfast buffet complete with those runny, typical school cafeteria, eggs.

--A shower head appropriately positioned for a short person. It was too low for my wife or myself. She is 5'9" and I'm 6'1" --neither of that tall, but maybe a little above average.

--A steel fixture that is incomplete in the bathroom to hang the blow dryer on. Really...the maid hung the blow dryer on this thing that looks like it should have something really nice on it, but in its current form, is a steel contraption with the name of the manufacturer on it.

--A hotel that from the outside looks like something you'd see on a 70s game show. You know, "You've won 7 days and 6 nights in the fabulous Holiday Inn Resort in Galveston, TX overlooking the beautiful Gulf of Mexico". Seriously, the hotel looks like one of the pictures on and old Price is Right or something.

--A staff that sends you to their 800 number when you want to address some concerns you have. (And a manager that says, "they shouldn't have done that" when you call back after lodging a very bad complaint with corporate.).

Yeah, stay at this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Pli876,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Reference # 32571478
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Each room had a balcony overlooking the pool and the beach. The front desk clerk was very helpful and offered us a gift upon arrival with coupons, water and snacks. Before we arrived we were told to request rooms above the third floor and away from air-conditioning. We were on the sixth floor. During the night it was very quiet and we got a good nights sleep. Overall this hotel was a bargain for the price. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

First and most important, the rooms were modern, clean, and comfortable. Microwave, fridge, and coffee maker were standard. Each room had a balcony overlooking the beach and SeawalI Boulevard. I give the front desk average marks, although we really only dealt with the front desk during check in and check out. She made out like she was doing us a big favor by giving us an ocean views room, when in fact they are ALL ocean view. While the rooms were clean, other areas of the hotel needed work -- specifically the area around the vending machines and the ice machine, and in front of the elevators. The door leading out to the parking lot was smeared and the handle was sticky (ew!) and stayed that way for our entire stay. The last morning, the vending area smelled awful, and needed a serious scubbing. Ick. The location was excellent, but Galveston is so easy to get around in that it hardly matters.
I would consider staying there again, but only if the price was right.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle F, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Resort on the Beach. We appreciate your feedback and will definitely use it as we continue to improve our property. I apologize that you found some areas of the hotel not to your satisfaction and will address this with our Housekeeping Director immediately. We look forward to having you return in the near future to see that we follow through with our guest recommendations. Please contact me directly to set up your reservation. Thank you, Michelle Fichera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Loved the room,each one has a balcony overlooking the pool and the beach. Desk clerks were very helpful. Drawbacks were the children screaming in the pool till 11 at night, & the Grackals(black birds) chirping all night. The birds were to no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle F, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Resort on the Beach. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our entire team. We look forward to your return in the near future, and please feel free to contact me directly to assist in making your reservations. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My family and I decided to have a midweek mini-getaway. As an airline employee, we travel over the world and stayed at many 5 star hotels. This place is a hidden treasure. The location is perfect, the beds are comfortable and the staff is AMAZING. I was having a medical proceedure the morning before arrival and spoke with Andrea, very patiently listened to my dilema, advised me to call back and ask for Manager the next day. Michelle was very understanding when I call and did not ask unnecessary questions. The check in with Mike was exceptional and we felt welcomed! This will be our first choice everytime we visit Galveston. The pool area is very clean and the parking area well lighted.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Gulf! Room 514 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle F, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Resort on the Beach. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our entire team. We look forward to your return in the near future, and please feel free to contact me directly to assist in making your reservations. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn
Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn on the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Café and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.