We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Galveston Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great hotel! Clean, beach views, great location. I have never been in a hotel where every person steps aside and greets you, morning, noon, and night. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Best club sandwich I have ever had. The front desk seems like they care about their jobs. Good happy hour prices in the bar too. Only place I will stay in Galveston.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    143
    67
    45
    38
See reviews for
166
104
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stay here every year and as always, this property never disappoints! We have also stayed at the Holiday Inn Sunspree, which we love also, but the prices were a bit steep this year. This property is always clean!! Nicely updated rooms and a tropical pool with beach view! This property is in a great location too!! I love the poolside rooms when our children were younger, so we did not have to go up and down the elevator a hundred times a day!!! Now, we stay on floor 4 or higher for a nice beach view. The food here is not too bad for a hotel either, we enjoyed the buffet breakfast. This property is sure to please a family, couple, or group!

Room Tip: Floors four or higher for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle F, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Resort on the Beach. We appreciate all feedback, and look forward to assisting you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact me to set up your next reservation. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is an over-priced re-furbished motel 6. The rooms are small, the staff un trained and the amenities non- exsistant. I paid for two nights but the staff would not clean the room or give me towels because they kept ionsisting I was checking out! The rooms were higher priced than their sister property in Miami and I did not have to walk down to the light and across the busy highway to get to the beach.The staff did not know that they served pizas. There is only one computer for guest use. The web site incorrectly stated "free breakfast". The dining room is too small for the number of guests and the hostess leaves every one standing in the isles as opposed to taking names and letting guests know when their table is ready. I received a free upgrade which meant I got a room with plastic plants. The balcony area was filthy.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Theressa C,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us. We pride ourselves in our excellent customer service and ensure our facilities are well maintained. We try our hardest to maintain not just good value, but comfortable, clean, superior and friendly accommodations while we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. I am sorry you received service and qualities that was less than satisfactory. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to consider needed improvements and I hope that you can give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The view was great, room was very nice, and the housekeeping and maintenance staff was very nice. However the management staff is demeaning and a very unhelpful. A week after our stay I checked my credit card statement and Holiday Inn had charged me double for my room. I contacted Holiday Inn at the Beach and they told me that the amount they charged to my credit card was correct because I stayed in 2 rooms. I explained to them that I had only made the reservation for one room, only checked-in to one room, and only stayed in one room. I told them I could send them a copy of the reservation and the check out receipt. The management staff gave me the run around and pretty much told me that I was lying, they said the only thing they could do was transfer me to a voicemail where I could leave a message. I repeatedly ask to speak with someone that could help me resolve this issue instead of leaving a voicemail, they refused. I will never stay at another Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 8th floor for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of Holiday Inn Resort on the Beach. I would be happy to speak with you about the billing discrepancy you encountered during your stay. Please feel free to email me at mfichera@ldry.com with a contact phone number and the best time to reach you, and I will be happy to get this resolved. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were on the 7th floor and loved the wonderful views and comfy beds. Traveled there with my two kids and we loved the hotel, the arcade is a little small, but the kids still enjoyed it. Very friendly staff and welcoming foyer area. I highly recommend this hotel and we have no complaints.

Room Tip: Request higher floor for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Resort on the Beach. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return in the near future. Please feel free to reach out to me directly when you are ready to book your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Great location since its located right across the street from the beach. Had a very nice room located on the 6th floor. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Kids loved the pool area and would stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Resort on the Beach. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return in the near future. Please feel free to reach out to me directly when you are ready to book your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

My two children and I just stayed here and had a great time. Loved the pool and the swim up bar where I got kids ciegin daiquiris for $4. Pool staff was excellent. One night we ordered room service because I was sick and I ordered the kids dessert. Room service offered to bring up dessert 30 minutes after dinner so it wouldn't melt. There was a free balloon artist one day at the pool. The bed and pillows were nice and comfy. Highly recommend. My only complaint was there were smoking rooms on the same floor but I only smelled that when I was at the end of the hall getting ice. Didn't waft into our room at all. Just a small complaint really but figured I'd bring it up.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Resort on the Beach. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return in the near future. Please feel free to reach out to me directly when you are ready to book your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn on the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Café and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.