We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Inn to your Saves list
Beachcomber Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2825 61st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place was not a seedy hotel but it wasn't anything special either. I would not go here again. Positives were, waffle house right next door and beach within walking distance, about a block and a half. The young ladies that were there when we checked in were really nice and helpful, trying to get our three rooms together. But the people we encountered afterward throughout the 2 days we stayed were not the friendliest.

The prices were supposed to be a bargain at 70 per night friday and 130 per night weekend. So it averaged about 100.00 per night. Which really was no bargain considering the location, service, and condition of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    60
    37
    25
    55
See reviews for
72
59
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Close to seawall and 61st street fishing pier. For a few frills hotel, we got what we expected. Everything was to our satisfaction. Staff was Very friendly and filled every request we made. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great price! Bed was comfortable ! Close to the seawall ! Customer service was great we will be staying at this hotel on our next trip! Good job beachcomber you've come a long way! They have done a lot of updates !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

For 100 dollars a night, the location was awesome. As for cleanliness they could spend a little more effort on this part. Our room had mold on the bathroom ceiling, there was mold on the lampshades beside the bed and when we walked in a musty smell smacked us in the face not to mention the rips in the comforters on the bed and they were so kind as to give us dirty towels. I would not recommend this hotel unless you absolutely have to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

After researching several properties for our recent family trip to Galveston, I booked the Beachcomber Inn. Several factors led me to this decision. First of all, the property has an excellent location: a block away from a major grocery store and two blocks away from the beach. Second, they advertised refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers in every room. When I made our reservation, I requested a handicap room on the first floor. Upon our arrival to the property, we were greeted and told that our room was ready. The first thing that we noticed was that the AC was on full-blast and the room felt cold. This is a good thing, because it was nearly 100 degrees outside and not having a good AC in the room would have been uncomfortable. In addition, the room was clean and ready for our stay. Actually, I was impressed with the cleanliness of the refrigerator and microwave. As you can tell from my other Galveston post, we only used the room to sleep and shower. We stayed two nights, and even left the property before the seven o’clock breakfast on the first morning. (We were on the beach by 6:30.) However, we ate breakfast before checkout on our last day. It was appropriate. There were three or four different offerings for cold cereal, three selections of juice, instant oatmeal and a selection of breads with cream cheese and jelly packets. The breakfast area was well-maintained. And finally, there was a pool. It was small, but well-kept. I went for a swim on in the afternoon of our second day. The pool is big enough to cool off or for small children to play around for a little while. In general, I recommend this property. If you do decide to stay there, it is a good idea to make reservations, because they seemed to be at capacity every night we were there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor handicap double room: room number 106.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We just stayed here for four nights on our recent Galveston trip. If you're like us and spend your time on the beach, sightseeing and just enjoying Galveston and just need a good clean room with cold a/c, comfortable bed, good tub and shower at a good in-season rate then Beachcomber fills the bill. Room has a dorm size refrigerator and small microwave. Because the refrigerator was big, we could bring in more food to keep and take with us to the beach. Worked out well for us and we have no complaints. Housekeeping was very friendly and appreciated our small daily tip with a little extra attention. Pool is small and nothing to brag about. The continental breakfast is pretty standard and not much seating available. Also, the wifi never seemed to be working while we were here and the staff couldn't really speak to why that was so. We would recommend this if you're on a budget or other preferred choices are booked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our bed had blood on it and I asked for another room and I got a worster one that smelled like cigarette smoke, So I had to ask for a non smoking one. Their housekeeping is awful The bathtubs are dirty and the people there do not answer you when you say good morning to them They offer a continental breakfast but there flies all over the food they also have roaches This is the worst hotel we have been to.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWolbach, Manager at Beachcomber Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer;

I do not understand where you saw "bugs". We are professionally exterminated
and if reports of bugs are made to the front desk, an immediate response is
made.... The breakfast area is very closely monitored.... We have not received
this type of "observation" before and regret you could not point this out to hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Inn

Address: 2825 61st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachcomber Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Galveston
Beachcomber Motel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.