We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didnt care for it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Inn

Save Saved
You added Beachcomber Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachcomber Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2825 61st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Springtown, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Didnt care for it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Only place that had a room.

Staff where 50/50 on niceness, I had asked one clerk if the internet was always so unreliable, he said " Comcast is unreliable", So that is his perception on dealing with that problem. WIFi was hit and miss for 3 days.

On check-in (great clerk), our room had no towels or soaps. One bed was made, the other had the pillows just laying on the bed. Over all the room looked "clean", but was dismayed at the simple lack of attention. Clerk was prompt in letting us come BACK to the office to get towels and soap.

Toilet ran ALL the time and my personnel pet peeve, water backs up in the tub???
Table in the room should have been thrown away, it was that bad stability wise.

Parking was good, pool is like SMALL. Beach is close, but didnt have time to go there LOL. Enough places to eat within a block if your in a hurry.

Bed was good (for me), 2 small flattish pillows.
Fridge and microwave worked.

Not where I would take my wife for vacation, but for $60, it was OK for 3 days of "us guys" there working. If you on a tight budget with kids, it would be fine if you didn't want to stay 11 miles N in Texas City.

I would pay over $60 anytime of year for this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    57
    37
    24
    53
See reviews for
70
59
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wanted a few days at the beach and this place seemed a good fit for my budget. It is located a bit off Seawall Blvd., on the center west end of the island. It is a pretty good location, close to the heavily used beach areas to the east and not too far from the Strand. The room was small, but clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. The A.C. was very cold and my computer went online with no problems. I have stayed several places in Galveston, and for the money, this is not bad. The room had a nice T.V. and a good selection of channels.

Room Tip: Stay in the back, away from the pool and 61st. Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, MS
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked this place off of the reviews, We just wanted a clean room with paying mega bucks.. we got it. The hotel is older but clean. There is a Waffle House beside it and the more expensive hotels are on the Sea Wall but we walked the entire Wall and had a great time exploring.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here in the off-season, so it was very affordable. Rooms were very clean. The desk clerk, Jeff, was very helpful, attentive, and informative. The hotel is just a block (if that) off the gulf of mexico. Next to three restaurants, within a block of several more and a major shopping center...but you'd never know it. Quiet, safe, and clean. And above all...very affordable. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The room was clean, and the staff was courteous (with one exception). But that's all I can say for this place. You get what you pay for. There was a scratching sound in the smoke detector over the bed. Think bugs. Someone came to give a listen, but that was all. He said it was normal. I said wanted a different room. He left to check the detectors in other rooms and said they all made that noise. I doubt it. It's a hard-wired detector. There's no reason it should have sounded like bugs crawling around inside. The sound went on all night. Sometimes it was soft, sometimes it was louder, sometimes it would stop for a few minutes, presumably b/c the the bugs were catching a few zzzz's which I definitely wasn't. Also, two of the three lamps didn't work. The clock didn't work. The carpet was lumpy and felt damp. I could go on. I regret that I didn't pay $40 more to stay someplace that didn't have these strange amenities.

Room Tip: Avoid room 111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a room booked at the La Quinta in Glaveston Memorial Day Weekend but when we arrived there was nothing available and I had made a mistake on my reservation as far as check in date. Only 2 places we called had availability, the super 8 and beachcomber for nearly $200 a night. Since we had already made the drive we had no choice so we reluctantly stayed at the beachcomber thinking it would at least be nicer than the super 8. We couldn't of been more wrong. I have paid less to stay at the westin than this place. It is a DUMP!

Room Tip: STAY AWAY! They charged us nearly $200 for a room worse than any motel 6 we have ever stayed in. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great Price with Great location close to the beach(walking distance) Clean comfortable rooms, great service, Clean outdoor pool, the continental breakfast was a great plus. When we arrived our AC in our room was not working properly, as soon as I let the clerk know, he called the Maintenance man, Carlos and within 30 miniutes Carlos had a brand new AC unit installed and we were cool and comfortable in no time! This is the second time we have stayed at the Beachcomber and we will definitely be back on our next trip to Galveston!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Inn

Address: 2825 61st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachcomber Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Galveston
Beachcomber Motel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.