We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites to your Saves list
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6102 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Crosby, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Looked for a decent and cheap place to stay for a few nights while we visited Sclitterbahn. Based on other user reviews, I decided to give it a shot. Property layout is one of a kind, 2 pools on site, accomodations for 6, studio kitchen... Not disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    111
    49
    23
    13
See reviews for
157
62
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My family stayed there on July 11 and 12th. Rooms were ok, small so we seemed that we were packed on top of each other. Also, we could not ever get our Wifi to work. However, the biggest problem was that the outside STANK horribly!! We couldn't even enjoy sitting on the balcony. We were told that it was due to the seaweed, but if you traveled down seawall Blvd (either direction) the stench wasn't there. Also, it advertised that its across from the beach, yes, actually it is. I can't argue that, However with the seaweed that is 4ft tall across the beach, it is the nastiest thing I've ever seen. There's no way that I would recommend anyone swimming there. We went down Seawall to a public access where you could park your car on the beach and it was nice. The hotel was convenient but for what we paid for two days stay- we could have put on a down payment for a nice cruise! --- with NO seaweed!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenGalveston_Texas, General Manager at Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, please be assured that we try our best to let our guests know that these are not very large suites by making sure to specifically mention that they are small in all of our literature as well as noting that their actual size (475 square feet). Unfortunately, when guests book though 3rd party sources, they don’t always see the “Full Monty” descriptions of the property either, so we are working with Expedia to address this. We do hope that the kitchen amenities and private walk on balconies make up for the size and ultimately offer a much better value than an ordinary hotel room for about the same price. And thank you for mentioning the Wi-Fi issue, we will contact our provider right away. Please note that we do have a 24/7 support, so if ever there is an issue we are always available to assist. As for the Seaweed….We have recently been assured that the Galveston Park Board, the Texas General Land Office and the Army Corps of Engineers are formulating their best efforts to address the large influx of seaweed that has hit not only Galveston Island, but the entire Gulf Coast; it is a very unusual phenomena. Although most coast lines are used to a yearly influx of seaweed, we have never seen it in this quantity before and thus the need to call in the regulatory officials who are working on clean up efforts. They are raking most beaches daily and we are also hopeful that as mother nature takes her course, our beaches will be bigger and better than ever soon! Luckily, Galveston has so much more to offer than just beaches with the Strand, Moody Gardens, Schlitterbahn, the Pleasure Pier…the list goes on and on. But all of that aside, we appreciate guest feedback and want to assure travelers that we value their opinions and work hard to always address any guest concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Held a family reunion here in June. The rooms were nice and recently remodeled. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We used the meeting room for the day. It has a kitchen attached and was perfect for what we needed. The location right on the beach was nice and in a convenient place for visiting attractions on both ends of Galveston and very easy to get to from Houston.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

It's cozy but for us (2 adults & 2 kids under 5) it was perfect. The bunk beds were a big hit for the kids. The kitchenette added convenience and there's a laundry facility if you need it. The bedroom was a tight fit but the bed was very comfortable. Location was great and easily accessible to all popular attractions. The pool was nothing fancy but never seemed crowded. The staff was friendly and we would definitely stay there again!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Haven't stayed in Galveston in quite a while. Son & I have both been ill. Granddaughter going stir crazy. Made a last minute call on Friday. Super lady, Carrie, arranged everything. Even explained how to get extended hours, if we wanted them. (We did!) Son & granddaughter enjoyed pool, beach and shopping. Both appreciated solid door on bedroom-I snore! Kitchen allowed us to keep meds, drinks & food available as needed. Front desk sent extra pillows & blankets. Unit was clean - clean - clean! And really comfortable. A little small, but not cramped. I really enjoyed relaxing on the balcony and watching the seabirds. We had an inside sea-view room and it was just fine. Hope to go back before school starts in August or maybe for Dickens-on-the-Strand. Thank you all for a great weekend!

Room Tip: No restaurant on property, but hotel surrounded by them in all price ranges. If you need to cook in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Casa Del Mar is a good place to visit in Galveston in the spring, rates are lower, weather not as hot. Went in April. Try for one of the units that fully faces the oceanfront. Ideal for one, two people or people with 1 or 2 (at most) small children. Nice balcony, kitchen, bathroom (shower/tub) separate bedroom and bunk beds along hall. Supposed to sleep 6, but would be very cramped for that number. Staff helpful, on-site parking. Near grocery store, restaurants, fishing pier.

Room Tip: Rooms facing front have better ocean view than side-angle units, but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here for 6 days including the memorial weekend. The bedroom was very small, not even enough space for a bedside table, however the sitting room/kitchenette was comfortable and had a great view from the balcony. The best thing about our stay was the help and advice we got from Scott at reception. What a great guy! He steered us in the right direction for where to and what to see and even printed out maps for our onward journey to Corpus Christi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites

Address: 6102 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#6 Family Hotel in Galveston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Mar Beachfront Suites are a super value, ideal for a family vacation or a weekend getaway for two. Each fully furnished suite offers a private balcony for you to relax and enjoy the view as well as a small living area with a newly remodeled studio kitchen. There is a small private bedroom with a queen size bed and in the living area, a queen sofa sleeper and a set of Junior bunks designed for small children under the age of 10. We have two tropical pools (one seasonally heated), a trellised Bar-B-Que area, laundry facilities and Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all suites and throughout the property. Our beautifully landscaped property also features conference and catering facilities ideal for family reunions, small groups and corporate retreats. Casa del Mar is conveniently located right on the Seawall beachfront, central to all of the Island's great restaurants, shopping and favorite attractions. Relax by the pool, take a sunset stroll on the beach or enjoy Galveston's rich Island history. Casa del Mar and Galveston Island offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Hotel Galveston
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.