We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Galveston Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites

Save Saved
You added Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6102 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Every Room Has A View
Ranked #16 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Garland, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Galveston Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at Casa del Mar from October 14-18, 2013. I have stayed there from time to time since it was built in the 80's and love it. The condos are a little scruffy, but are undergoing a remodel that will take care of that. I love this place because it offers a tiny bedroom (queen bed)with a door that shuts, bunks in the hall, a living room with a queen sofa sleeper, and a kitchen that even has an oven! That meant we could have warm cookies and milk every night before bed; I could make a quiche or other oven dish. The unit will sleep 4 adults and 2 children, but for this trip, it was just my husband and me. I'm an early riser and it is nice to slip out to watch sunrise on the beach without waking him, to put on my own pot of coffee; to make breakfast in the condo and save our calories for lunch.

The property is beautifully landscaped. Security and maintenance personnel are always visible. The condo was immaculately clean. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. When the smoke alarm battery died and I requested replacement, it happened immediately. There are 2 pools, 2 hot tubs, and a barbecue area. Later in the season, one on the pools will be heated. Galveston hotels have become quite pricey, and for this visit in the off season, I think the room was overpriced by $10-15.

Two complaints. 1) We had a room in which the bedroom backs up to a VERY well-lighted interior hall. A lot of light came into the bedroom. It didn't bother me, but it did bother my husband. 2) The WiFi worked when it wanted to and the signal was weak. I will go back when traveling with my daughters or my friends. I don't think hubby will.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms with an "outside" hall instead of the interior hall. Less light in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    80
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
106
42
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 3 days and we really enjoyed it. The hotel had great views and we really enjoyed the layout. The kitchen was a huge plus! We liked that the hotel provided plates and such for us. The decor was a little old but they have signs in the lobby showing the new upgrade for the hotel! I felt as if they provided everything we would need and that we couldnt ask for more. We are not natives to Galveston so everything was new to us and the staff were very informative and suggestive about places to eat and even provided coupons. When my husband and I do go back we will stay at Casa Del Mar!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherman texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here in Sept 2013. Bedroom is so small the bed is cramed in the corner. Hard to get out of. Decor is early 80's. Torn wall paper in bathroom. The pictures are much better than it is. Picture of pool looks big, very small. Disapointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenGalveston_Texas, General Manager at Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Although we have no record of a complaint of this nature in any of our rental units on September 27th, we are always eager to address any guest concerns during their stay if they are brought to our attention. We have reviewed our web-site photographs to ensure their accuracy as well and we have also asked a few of our in-house guests to assist us, just to ensure we get fresh guest feedback on the information we have posted. Unfortunately, there are many web-sites that are not affiliated with the on- site Rental Association that we have no control over, but if we are made aware of any misleading information, we will definitely address it. We are also very excited to announce that the Rental Association is currently undergoing a major renovation in all 130 of their guest suites including all new bathroom and kitchen tile flooring and granite counter tops along with new fixtures, appliances and fresh paint throughout each suite. This is one of the many ways we strive to provide our guests with outstanding service, value and hospitality and we stand ready to ensure each and every guest experience is a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've stayed at this property several times over the years and have always enjoyed my stay. The one bedroom is really nice, but the pull out sofa was very uncomfortable. It was better to sleep on it without folding it out. The best option is to get one of the rooms with a daybed in the hallway. It is much more comfortable.

Room Tip: A room facing the seawall has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Okla
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great location on ocean. Room was good size, with nice living room, that includes a very small kitchen. Workable, but European small.

Balcony that includes two chairs and small table between (plastic).

Bedroom includes queen bed with built-in cabinetry.

Bunk beds in hall are very narrow but six foot long. Reasonable for kids.

Front desk was very helpful and friendly. Outstanding service.

On the other side, it is an older property. Not special. Not new. Exterior has some rough spots, but might be due to constant exposure to salt air.

Wal-mart is only 2-3 blocks away, as is Sonic. Numerous restaurants close by.

Walk across street to ocean/beach.

Room Tip: Rooms in front have full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for four days at Casa del Mar in July 2013. The staff are attentive and friendly, the maid service is excellent, and the room is superb. You're in the best location imaginable on the seawall, and beach access couldn't be better. Right across from a fishing pier, and a terrific frozen custard/Italian ice place is just on the other side of 61st street. We had a third floor room with a great view of the beach. The little kitchen is just right, and the coffee machine comes with complimentary coffee packets. Bunk beds are fine; my 6' teenage son had no problem fitting into it, and slept well. A very nice room in the perfect location; everything a family needs for a great Galveston vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a third-floor room; the view on the first and second floor is somewhat obscured by the palm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family arrived on Sunday August 4, 2013 and we were promptly checked in . The staff was really friendly and when we arrived at our room we received a phone call to make sure everything was to our liking.! The room was very,very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and we had a great view of the beach. We were very pleased with our stay and we will be going back again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the west side of the hotel, because there is very little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites

Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Hotel Galveston
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Hotel
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites Galveston
Address: 6102 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.