We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Casa Del Mar... but poor check in/out times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites

Save Saved
You added Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6102 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cool & Breezy Easy Escape
Ranked #12 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love Casa Del Mar... but poor check in/out times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Casa del mar is a great value and i stay here often for buisness, however I do not understand why check in is at 4 pm and check out is at 11. If it takes 5 hours to clean rooms, maybe a little more help should be hired.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenGalveston_Texas, Manager at Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Although we would love to offer early check-ins during the peak season, it is almost impossible to do so because of the high volume of room turn over. There are essential checks and balances that are required to ensure that all rooms are thoroughly cleaned and well maintained after each guest use. We apologize for any inconvenience , however, please know that we are committed to providing the best possible service and accommodations, even in the busiest of times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    85
    39
    18
    13
See reviews for
110
44
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We just got back early from our vacation at the Island Memories condo at Casa Del Mar that we rented through Casabling. We came back early because of our experience in that condo. We paid for one more night, but left and are back at home right now because of the condition of the condo. When we arrived we were were met with the most unpleasant smell in the condo that made us search to see if there was a dirty diaper or if something had died like a rat behind the furniture. We realized the smell, that gave me a headache that night, was permanent to the condo. The guestbook entries on their website (Casabling) do not do, at least this property, justice. The ceiling was peeling and stained, the balcony sliding door would not lock, the bathtub was dirty and leaking, there was no remote to the tv, the air ducts looked like they had black mold, and the carpet turned our feet black walking on them. My wife, who was pregnant, was concerned even sleeping there because of the air quality and smell. Furthermore, when we came back from the beach and plunked our 2 toddlers in the bathtub the water did not work. We saw a voicemail later and appreciated the call, however, this was an unresolved issue that should have been taken care of earlier before guests stay (pay) for the condo. The tech said the shower valve was so old and the build-up of sediment so bad that it could not be repaired.
We were truly disappointed in our experience and knowing that we paid $129 a night for this seems to contradict their statement of..."We suggest that you use the "golden rule" or "Do unto others as you would ....".

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenGalveston_Texas, Manager at Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Some of the condominiums at Casa del Mar are managed by individual owners or private management companies which is the case with this particular unit. Casa del Mar Beachfront Suites (the hotel suites) are all managed by the on-site Rental Program and are handled by the Casa del Mar Rental Association management team. We apologize for the negative experience you had, however, any issues with privately managed condominiums should be addressed directly to the individual owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

So, once again we waited until the last minute before booking our stay in Galveston. We decided to stay a different place this time. (Tired of Gaido's, wanted to be on the seawall instead of on the Strand so 86 the Tremont, only luke warm about stay at Victorian, can't afford house rental, mother freaked at the bed-bug writeup on another hotel choice on Tripadvisor). We opted for Casa del Mar, despite the wavering writeups, and hoped we'd have get good vacation juju.

We accidentally ended up booking through Expedia (I thought I had the hotel direct number but it was them instead). I would recommend calling the hotel directly. The rate for the hotel room was fairly reasonable ($170 night for Memorial weekend for 3 of us).
Our room (168) still overlooked the beach but without the incessant traffic honking on the seawall. It was very quiet, clean, with a beach view, adequate sleep space, good hot water pressure, tiny refrigerator, hair dryer, porch, air-conditioner, good tv/cable, coffee maker, free parking, elevators and access to 2 pools.

For storage, we used the bunk beds (which only a kid would find comfortable enough to sleep on). The one bedroom had a double bed and the most delicious air-conditioning ever. It got positively cold in there. YAY! Although the couch pulls out to a bed, we didn't bother as the couch was cushier than the mattresses and very comfortable. The fridge was big enough for all of our drinks, the coffee pot worked great (and had free coffee), and there was an ironing board (yeh...right.) Anyway, despite the limited cable channels, the TV was just peachy and although there were perfectly comfortable chairs in the room, we spent most of the time at the beach, sleeping or on the porch. The view from the porch is part beach and part Golden Corral (which I could have done without), but the breeze up there was glorious and occasionally you could smell something barbequeing on the little strip of grass the hotel has designated as grilling area.

Over the weekend, the pools were a bit too warm for my taste and had too many kids in them. But, they had outdoor showers, and lounge chairs and would probably have been a great deal less crowded not on a holiday weekend.

They do NOT have a continental breakfast (unlike Gaidos and Victorian), their internet consists of a computer in the lobby and to my knowledge they did Not have wi-fi. It sits directly across the street from the rebuilt fishing pier, which is scenic, but doesn't have the nicest of beach (mostly rocks and kelp).

So, we ended up driving up the seawall in the early morning and picking a parking space around 24th street, (hotel is on 61st). The 10th-30th street strip, has great sand, umbrella and chair rental, walking access to restaurants (ex: Millers has great lunch take-out and an even better breakfast), portable johns, and crosswalks without having to lug your stuff down a series of stairs to get to the beach (and far enough away from the levees that you can swim without drowning).

All in all, very nice stay. Will definitely stay at Casa Del Mar again.

Room Tip: Rooms directly on the seawall are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights during the Memorial Day weekend and spent less than $400 for the entire stay in peak season. In a nutshell, I would say this place is great value for money. The suite had all the amenities we were looking for - beds were nice, kitchen had sufficient equipment for cooking, the patio was facing the sea and had nice breeze blowing all day long. For those of you looking for an upscale hotel, this is not the right choice. You would have to spend much more and make do with smaller rooms that won't have any view. Instead, what you get here is all the facilities of a hotel without the fancy lobby.

The location was perfect too. It is right in the middle of all the action on the Seawall and the bigger more expensive hotels (San Luis Resort, Hilton) are at walking distance. Plenty of restaurants around as well. There was ample parking available too. We noticed that the security guards were on duty 24 hours, which made us feel very safe.

The only thing that annoyed me was that the front desk called us once asking not to feed the birds. We were NOT feeding the birds. Apparently, one of our neighbors were. They should have verified who was before calling us. Other than that, we did not have any unpleasant incident to report.

All in all, I would highly recommend this place especially for families. If you need a clean suite in a nice location with a good view and amenities, then this is a great choice for the price. If we happen to visit Galveston again (which is very likely because we loved the place), I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Call them to book. Don't book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This was our first time staying in Galveston. We came during Memorial weekend and looked for something that has kitchen. This property met our needs (family with 2 young kids. It is located across the street from a beach that has fishing pier and lifeguard.

Our room on the 3rd floor had limited view of the beach, but we could see the kids at the beach from the patio. Our only complaint was that the freezer was not cold enough to keep ice cream firm, even after changing the thermostat to maximum; however, everything else stayed cool. They also have a shower by the pool that we used to rinse after coming from the beach. There were some picnic tables with grill on a dedicated area, but we did not use it.

The other pluses of this location is that it is only a block away from Walmart, Randall, and Kroger to supply the kitchen. There are plenty of restaurants as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

The Casa Del Mar is great for families or groups of people but is really showing its age.

Positives:
- It can accommodate up to six people, four adults and two children on bunk beds.
- It has a full kitchen.
- The gulf view and balcony are excellent, and every room has a view.
- There are two pools, one heated and one not.
- There is a nice BBQ area even though I didn’t use it.
- It is within walking distance from the beach (which is across the street), Wal-Mart, Kroger’s, plenty of restaurants, and some places to shop.
- It is within walking distance from a bike shop, which you can use to get to a lot more places without having to drive.
- There is security. I saw security walking around most times when I went outside and when it gets busy they have security screening who can park in the lot.
- Plenty of parking.
- All of the staff I dealt with was quick and friendly. Checking in and out was no problem at all.
- I had no complaints about how clean the room was. I never saw the cleaning staff but the room was always cleaned when I came back to it.

Negatives:
- No breakfast
- No exercise room
- Slow elevators
- I’ve stayed here twice and the internet connection was poor both times.
- The hotel is really showing its age (paint peeling, faded wallpaper and carpet, etc.).
- Horrible mattresses, for the pull out bed and the one in the room.
- Room is a lot smaller than it looks through the online pictures.
- The room has a huge window for some unknown reason and there is a light right outside of it. Even with the curtain pulled tight, light was getting through and when this is combined with a horrible mattress this can cause some sleep problems.
- The mattress in the room is full sized. I’m pretty sure it is advertised as a queen but I’ve never seen a queen that small.
- For anyone thinking about having an adult sleep on one of the bunk beds, it is not going to happen. Those are not twin sized mattresses and there is no room to stretch beyond the mattress.

The positives and negatives are pretty close. I’ve been to Galveston four times and two of those times I stayed at the Casa Del Mar. When going with a group of people the Casa Del Mar has been the best option, but when going with just my wife I’d rather stay somewhere else. So far the Quality Inn, which is across the street from the Casa Del Mar has been the best overall hotel of the three I’ve tried in Galveston so far. The Bestwestern has been the worst.

Room Tip: Call the hotel if their website says no vacancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Great location for view of the beach from the suite balcony. Excellent location enables you to walk to the beach, fishing pier, fast food restaurant, or even the grocery store. Great desk staff and very responsive.

Room Tip: Call the hotel desk direct for the best room rate.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites

Address: 6102 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#8 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Hotel Galveston
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.