We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay at the Silverleaf Seaside Resort in Galveston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silverleaf Seaside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galveston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silverleaf Seaside Resort
19320 West San Luis Pass, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We loved our stay at the Silverleaf Seaside Resort in Galveston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed for a week from May 15 -22. We were all very pleasantly surprised at how nice our condo was. I had called ahead and requested handicapped accessible facilities because I had heard about the stairs at some of the buildings. We were given a condo in one of the Presidential buildings that all had elevators. We were given a 2 bedroom lockout unit, which was very nicely furnished, very roomy and even had a second small kitchen in the second bedroom lockout room, plus a stackable washer/dryer. The building we were in was some distance from the pool, miniature golf course, playground and the office/grill/activity center, but we didn't mind driving to use those facilities. I loved that there was wireless internet at the activity center and also one computer available for use. The burgers at the grill were very good, home-style burgers. That is the only thing we ate there, but they also offer breakfast, pizza and other fast food items for purchase. The beach is directly across the street, and there is a nice, small parking lot to park and then walk onto the beach. This was our first time to Galveston, and we really enjoyed our time on the beach, which they did clean occasionally. We appreciated the fact that this was a private beach area and no big crowds of people to contend with. We were also surprised to find that there were restaurants (you must eat at Nates in Jamaica Beach) and small grocery stores within a couple of miles from the resort. I had gotten the impression from previous postings that we would be somewhat isolated and far from any amenities. So it was nice to find that this was not the case. We made use of the grills outside our building to grill steaks, also. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and all agreed we are looking forward to coming back to Galveston soon to stay at the Silverleaf Seaside Resort.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
39
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kirkwood, mo
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stayed in one of the Presidential Suites. It was absolutely fabulous! We were treated with curtesy and respect. Everyone was extremely helpful with anything that we needed. The Suite was very accommodating and very clean! The beach was well maintained and it was fairly easy to get a lounge chair everyday. I know it has not been that long since the hurricane, but Seaside Resort did an amazing job with the clean-up. Thank you Silverleaf Seaside Resort for making our vacation wonderful! Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

This was a relatively new condo (time share). There are 13 bldgs. with maybe another 10(?) to be built. All are 3 floors, but dont forget---all the bldgs. on the island are on "stakes", so you have to WALK UP to the FIRST floor. Also, very important -- there are NO ELEVATORS! (unless you are a presidential owner).=that's why I gave it a "4" rating plus being so far out of town may be a problem for some. The beach is just a short walk across the street. It is about 15 min. outside of Galveston, so keep that in mind. Warning: the traffic speed changes many times during that 15 min. drive! There is a snack bar at the place & a good restaurant and small market just a couple of miles away (going to Galves.) and a big supermarket & Target in town. Every few miles along the riverfront are public beach areas, so there's no shortage -- but sticking to "the room" - it is good size & attractive; and staff pretty helpful. There are A & B suites (4 or 2 people), and a small but adequate porch and kitchen. No dvd player or hairdryer (but you can request it); and they have movies to rent & minor daily activities. Houston is at least 1-1/2 hr. away. They have a pool. The island is pretty much back to normal since Hurricane Ike last fall (90%?)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

The best thing about the place is that it is one of the nicest looking places on the west end of the island. ALthough it is pretty far to some "action" or even restaurants, the ride is pleasant. They do the best they can with the salty sand and wateroverflow covering much of the property. We stayed in bldg 12 and it was convenient to the pool and grill/recreation. The food was surprisingly good and the restaurant staff were all nice people. There was one computer for use which was really nice to check your return flight, check our restaurants, etc. The rugs need shampooing badly and the chairs needs some fabric cleaner, but everything was surface dusted and vacuumed. The pool was well kept but i was surprised it was not heated since many of the days were only in the 70's. The mini golf was cute and attractive from the road. The area around the timeshare was sad to view as many restaurants and homes hadn't yet rebult from IKE but all in all, it was a relaxing time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

we stayed at seaside the last week in february. we enjoyed our stay, but the problem arose when we came to hear their sales pitch. as we walked to the hall to one of their offices we heard alot of profanity coming from an office. words i cannot even repeat. what amazed me is when i found out it was the sales directors office. the salesman we had was very pushy and after some research lied during the sales pitch. after about an hour and a half of being bashed we were allowed to leave. we later identified the man using profanity and a few racial slurs was the director himself. we will not go back to the resort ever!

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

We booked the week through RCI exchange so it was simple. We traveled wth our 3 little ones: 2, 4, and 6 year old. Overall, the resort was nice and down to earth.

1. Staff: Very helpful and friendly. Always available to answer questions.

2. Activity center: Many activities. They offer free wi-fi, movie nights, snacks, and many tourist information brochures. They gave a gift package to each owner that was a plesant surprise. You can also borrow all equipments to use in their tennis court, mini-golf and basketbal court.

3.Amenities: (all free) Mini-golf, tennis court, unheated out-door pool (which is also closed during cold season), wood structure playground, huge grass area, pic-nic area, BBQ grills.

4. Rooms: Simple country design and a bit empty. It was originally designed as two lockout units. One room (main area) with king bed and a Jacuzzie tub, sofa bed and full kitchen. Other other room with a double bed, full bath, partial kitchen. At most 800 square ft overall. Some building design faults such as door open to the wrong side blocking access, light switches hidden behind doors when opened, heating badly sized despite repeated adjustment by the maintenance. Overal, livable and OK.

5. On site Beach: Need to run acroos the main road. We did it once and have used the car for the remainder of the week. Not the best beach in the world but pretty nice for sand castles and always kept very clean!

6 Resort: Presidential suites are located further away but they are building more amenities in the future. For now, all amenities are close to activity center. So if it is important for you, do request to stay in a building closer to the activity center.

7. Galveston: Located 16 miles west of Galveston. There are many things to do in Glaveston and we were never bored any day. Check their official web sites and get some coupons for local attractions such as $2 off at Schilitter Bahn, Moody garden and other attraction.

9: Location: 15 min drive from Galveston but we found it was nice. If being central with many activities is important for you, this may not be your ideal location.

10. Grocery shopping: There is a Wal-Mart super center just right off the seawall and 61 st street. SO do make a stop on your way to the resort (as this is the only way from Houston) and get all your shopping done. There are also many other supermarkets and restaurants along 61st street and seawall. Once you pass by the sea apartment, there will no longer be any descent shopping after that!

11. Laundry: This is the first resort we have been to that does not have on-site laundry services. You need to drive 4 miles toward Galveston for A laundrymate.

Overall, many more close by attractions, friendly people and a good experience. But only if you want to stay AWAY from the crowd and activities. There are no major attraction around the resort within 15 min drive. Iam sure suring the summer time it will be better,

cheers,

  • Liked — Staff and mini-golf
  • Disliked — No heated pool, Rooms / condo can be better designed
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silverleaf Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverleaf Seaside Resort

Address: 19320 West San Luis Pass, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
Also Known As:
Silverleaf Seaside Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverleaf Seaside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Silverleaf Seaside Resort to your Saves list