We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and great beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silverleaf Seaside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galveston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silverleaf Seaside Resort
19320 West San Luis Pass, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful and great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was an RCI exchange vacation. The room was great, the beach was wonderful and not crowded, the service was terrific and the location, although out a ways was quiet and away from all the action.The RCI concierge was great not only offering the use of the unused studio next to our 1-bedroom but also hosting a lunch with no sales pitch!

Room Tip: All rooms are one floor up. If you need an elevator, reserve rooms in the presidential villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
39
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosenberg, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a short break to the Silverleaf Seaside Resort. Checkin was easy. We had a first floor unit, and like many coastal properties, that means upstairs. The only buildings with elevators are the Presidential units, but we were told that we could get a porter to help carry our things, if we needed. The condo was clean and had pretty, coastal decor.

The living area had a table with 4 chairs, with counter top seating for 2 in the kitchen. The balcony had a table for 4, and a nice view of the Gulf of Mexico. There were ceiling fans in the living room & the 2 bedrooms. The kitchen was nicely appointed, with a full sized 4 burner stove and dishwasher, and plenty of dishes, toaster, electric can opener. There was even a working ice maker.

The master bedroom had a whirlpool tub, and I LOVE that. The 2nd bedroom had a private bath, also. There were plenty of towels, and more available if needed. And the beds were comfortable.

The pool was spotless, with palapa shaded tables. The beach is right across the road from the main entrance, with 2 porta-potties in the parking area. The beach (while not owned by Silverleaf) is maintained by Silverleaf, with a boardwalk over the dunes and trashcans to keep it clean.

The activity center had a nice little snackbar open from breakfast to dinner, I had a pretty good cheesburger, and brought ice cream & bottle sodas back to the condo. There was a small arcade, pool table, and ping pong. The miniature golf was used by families the whole time we were there! There are BBQ pits set up between each building. On site was also a nice playground, tennis courts, basketball court and shuffleboard.

The location is not IN the town of Galveston, its closer to the Jamaica beach end of the island. The property is in the middle of some high end homes! its a straight drive into Galveston proper, where you can find grocery stores and lots to do. Head south from the resort (or a right turn for those of us without a compass in our heads) and there are beaches that seemed to be VERY popular for fishing!

I'm looking forward to taking a longer break to Silverleaf Seaside!

Room Tip: Get a porter to help carry your things up the stairs. Unless you are in a Presidential unit, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our older son and family relocated to Houston early in the year, and we wanted to spend some time with them at summer's end. Found availability through RCI at Silverleaf's for the Labor Day week. Would have liked Friday to Friday better, but figured the elevator, in unit washer/dryer, etc were more needed. Hence went with one of the Saturday-Saturday available units.
Arrived at check-in around 2:45 PM. No line. Took less than 3 minutes. And didn't even ask for a credit card imprint. I was already impressed.
Then a short drive to our unit, #182 in bldg. 16 in the far rear of the resort. Plenty of parking. Like nearly all structures in the area, the building rests on very tall stilts. So a nice climb to first floor. Our unit was on the far right of the second floor. Given our bags and other goodies, the elevator was a must.
The unit was huge, with interior locking doors between larger and smaller portions, each with a full kitchen. The primary bath was larger than many hotel rooms I've been in. All appliances, TVs, lighting, AC, etc worked well with the exception of a toaster which wouldn't lock down. Very large deck with views of the gulf and bay.
Although the weather was brutally hot, our family enjoyed the pool and the beach. As others have noted the beach is quite a distance from the unit, so plan to drive to it. Galveston with its many attractions is about 15 minutes north. Found that to be wonderful on the day after Labor Day when the crowds had disappeared.
Had a couple complaints, though:
a. In its catalog, RCI incorrectly shows the property as not allowing pets. We therefore left our pooch at a kennel only to be quite displeased to find dogs everywhere on the property. There is a $100 charge per pet, much less than the kennel charged. So don't always believe what RCI publishes.
b. Mosquitos are a real problem especially in the elevator, stairwells and parking lot. Suggest having Off, Raid, etc among your items. Packing to depart was very bad. I sprayed Yard Guard around our car to be left alone long enough to stuff the trunk. While the property is quite wonderful, there is no way I could give it a rating of excellent.
Have included a few photos of property.

Room Tip: If doing a timeshare swap and you need an elevator and in-unit laundry facilities, be sure to book o...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We enjoy the resort lots of activities easy beach access and quiet.staff very friendly and helpful
Construction going on is only downside.view from room was nice.resort is not near downtown but we prefer that.beach is clean and grated daily to make for nice time no seaweed

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I visited the RCI-side of the resort (timeshares), and units were quite simple. Internet connection was only at lobby.

We decided after 2 days to move on and headed to Dallas - we had booked the resort for 1 week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Let me start by saying I have been to two Silverleaf resorts (Canyon Lake and Tyler) both were extremely miserable, dirty, unfriendly and smelly. I booked anyway because I needed a two bedroom to accommodate my large family. And figured I would not spend a lot of time in the room. Holy Smokes this place was nice. We stayed in the presidential suites two bedroom (must book to Saturday check-in). The place was very nice, clean, the air conditioner actually worked (unlike Canyon Lake and Tyler). Not close the Strand but we were comfortable with that. TIPS: The State Park is a great place for fishing. Took surfing lessons with C-Sick surfing (very very excellent service and training) my 3 kids, my husband and I all took lessons. Bubba Gumps food was awesome (heard other state locations suck, but this was great). Get the all day pass to pleasure pier it’s worth it. Get there early go home and relax then go back at night. Your pass is still good. Don’t go to the Pirate Museum. It is terrible boring and not a museum, just a bunch of plaques to read. Eat at Nates West End. Food is very very good.

Room Tip: (RCI) book on Saturday to get presidential unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are coming to spend most of your time at the beach and stay at resort.... I'd give it a 10!
We like to go to Pier 21 and Pleasure Pier and, and, and!!!
So it's a hassle driving to where want to go. But this is a Great Property.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silverleaf Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverleaf Seaside Resort

Address: 19320 West San Luis Pass, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
Also Known As:
Silverleaf Seaside Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverleaf Seaside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Silverleaf Seaside Resort to your Saves list