We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, except...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silverleaf's Seaside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galveston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silverleaf's Seaside Resort
Save
You added Silverleaf's Seaside Resort to your Saves list
19320 West San Luis Pass, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful, except...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our older son and family relocated to Houston early in the year, and we wanted to spend some time with them at summer's end. Found availability through RCI at Silverleaf's for the Labor Day week. Would have liked Friday to Friday better, but figured the elevator, in unit washer/dryer, etc were more needed. Hence went with one of the Saturday-Saturday available units.
Arrived at check-in around 2:45 PM. No line. Took less than 3 minutes. And didn't even ask for a credit card imprint. I was already impressed.
Then a short drive to our unit, #182 in bldg. 16 in the far rear of the resort. Plenty of parking. Like nearly all structures in the area, the building rests on very tall stilts. So a nice climb to first floor. Our unit was on the far right of the second floor. Given our bags and other goodies, the elevator was a must.
The unit was huge, with interior locking doors between larger and smaller portions, each with a full kitchen. The primary bath was larger than many hotel rooms I've been in. All appliances, TVs, lighting, AC, etc worked well with the exception of a toaster which wouldn't lock down. Very large deck with views of the gulf and bay.
Although the weather was brutally hot, our family enjoyed the pool and the beach. As others have noted the beach is quite a distance from the unit, so plan to drive to it. Galveston with its many attractions is about 15 minutes north. Found that to be wonderful on the day after Labor Day when the crowds had disappeared.
Had a couple complaints, though:
a. In its catalog, RCI incorrectly shows the property as not allowing pets. We therefore left our pooch at a kennel only to be quite displeased to find dogs everywhere on the property. There is a $100 charge per pet, much less than the kennel charged. So don't always believe what RCI publishes.
b. Mosquitos are a real problem especially in the elevator, stairwells and parking lot. Suggest having Off, Raid, etc among your items. Packing to depart was very bad. I sprayed Yard Guard around our car to be left alone long enough to stuff the trunk. While the property is quite wonderful, there is no way I could give it a rating of excellent.
Have included a few photos of property.

Room Tip: If doing a timeshare swap and you need an elevator and in-unit laundry facilities, be sure to book o...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    10
    8
    9
See reviews for
51
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We enjoy the resort lots of activities easy beach access and quiet.staff very friendly and helpful
Construction going on is only downside.view from room was nice.resort is not near downtown but we prefer that.beach is clean and grated daily to make for nice time no seaweed

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I visited the RCI-side of the resort (timeshares), and units were quite simple. Internet connection was only at lobby.

We decided after 2 days to move on and headed to Dallas - we had booked the resort for 1 week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Let me start by saying I have been to two Silverleaf resorts (Canyon Lake and Tyler) both were extremely miserable, dirty, unfriendly and smelly. I booked anyway because I needed a two bedroom to accommodate my large family. And figured I would not spend a lot of time in the room. Holy Smokes this place was nice. We stayed in the presidential suites two bedroom (must book to Saturday check-in). The place was very nice, clean, the air conditioner actually worked (unlike Canyon Lake and Tyler). Not close the Strand but we were comfortable with that. TIPS: The State Park is a great place for fishing. Took surfing lessons with C-Sick surfing (very very excellent service and training) my 3 kids, my husband and I all took lessons. Bubba Gumps food was awesome (heard other state locations suck, but this was great). Get the all day pass to pleasure pier it’s worth it. Get there early go home and relax then go back at night. Your pass is still good. Don’t go to the Pirate Museum. It is terrible boring and not a museum, just a bunch of plaques to read. Eat at Nates West End. Food is very very good.

Room Tip: (RCI) book on Saturday to get presidential unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

If you are coming to spend most of your time at the beach and stay at resort.... I'd give it a 10!
We like to go to Pier 21 and Pleasure Pier and, and, and!!!
So it's a hassle driving to where want to go. But this is a Great Property.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have stayed in several Silverleaf resorts and this has to be, by far, the best one!! We were in the Presidential units which provided us with 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths, whirlpool bathtub, and washer and dryer. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful during check in. At one point our keycards quit working, Robert at the check in desk was very prompt in giving us new cards, calling maintenance to check it out and security to help us get in our unit in case the keys didn't work again. Ended up it wasn't the key but the reader on the door. Was an inconvenience but showed how well the resort is going to take care of you if there is a problem, AWESOME SERVICE!!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which is nice as no one is walking above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Our group consisted of two adults in their 30's and a 3 year old. We stayed 1 week in Bld 21 where the presidential units are. The experience we had was nothing short of amazing. We will be coming back as soon as possible!

Our only complaint was the mosquitos that attacked us immediately after we got out of the car each day. I wanted to use the grilling area by our building but these mosquitos were like a plague of locusts. And we're from Dallas and know all about mosquitos. They were only bad near our building for whatever reason. We prepared for it and had a great time otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverleaf's Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverleaf's Seaside Resort

Address: 19320 West San Luis Pass, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Number of rooms: 153
Also Known As:
Silverleaf Seaside Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverleaf's Seaside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.