We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use a bit of thought and attention...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silverleaf's Seaside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galveston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silverleaf's Seaside Resort
Save
You added Silverleaf's Seaside Resort to your Saves list
19320 West San Luis Pass, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could use a bit of thought and attention...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Positives: fresh looking buildings; 5-8 minute walk across road to beach; staff friendly and attentive.
Places for improvement: in this age of technology, the fact that I had to walk up to the registration building/ wifi lounge to GET wifi, seems a little outdated; there are no laundry facilities in the lodge so I went to the local laundromat (washateria in Texan) to wash clothes and guess what?! THEY had wifi!!
Due to mobility issues and the resort was only made aware of this at checkin (so not their fault), we were placed right beside the stairs in building 8 on the 1st (which is NOT ground level) floor....unfortunately other guests having no idea that anyone else was staying there, clomped (yes, I said clomped) up and down the stairs like a wandering herd of elephants day in and day out. At night, it was annoying at best. Not the fault of Silverleaf but something to take note of.
All in all a nice resort but I wouldn't say quiet between the LARGE number of screeching seagulls in the area and our location beside the stairs.
The two bedroom unit was adequate though when we arrived, someone was still cleaning the carpet in the livingroom. We dropped our luggage in the 2nd bedroom and left for awhile. When we returned the door to the 2nd bedroom would not unlock and the interior access door had been closed (by the carpet cleaning fellow?). It was locked from the inside. Maintenance was called and the door was forced open. 1)that exterior door lock was not repaired/ replaced while we were there and 2)the livingroom carpet had been cleaned but the 2nd bedroom carpet was stained and dirt. I have no answer for that one.
I would not discourage anyone from staying here but would meantion the above points including the fact that you are about 25 minutes from downtown Galveston and shops/ stores.

Room Tip: Understand that unless you get into a building qith an elevator, that you are climbing stairs with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    11
    8
    9
See reviews for
53
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed three or four days at a time in the lodges, the suites and the presidential units. This is my favorite GetAway! Across the street, you can walk a wooden bridge over the dunes to a well groomed beach. Both sides of the island are visible from the top level of the presidential units. You can walk to the Bay side from the back of the property. Surfside is clearly visible from most of the property. No one comes into your room without you there. It's still a wise choice to be careful of precious, expensive or pawnable property no matter where you stay. Hard to understand the carelessness of the reveiwer who lost an iPad. Every unit has a whirlpool tub. They are all sufficiently supplied to sleep and serve 6 people. Plenty of towels! A refrigerator/freezer and stove. Three televisions. A balcony.. What's not to love? There is no lift for luggage if you are not presidential. However, if you arrive before nightfall, a porter can usually help you carry your things to your room. Any other time, a security personnel will gladly help. Swimming pool, mini golf, indoor games and arcade - fun for the family!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

3rd floor room=72 stairs with no lift for your luggage
Furniture and rooms in disrepair and dirty.
Appliances also in disrepair.
Property management says they want to comp you for the issues, but disappear just as you check out.
Went home disgusted with the ahold experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Every body is friendly in Gaveston Island, give 5 o more star. But the silverleaf seaside resort check-in no friendly. I saw some review and the have the presidental several time. I supost to have the presidental but the gave me the lodge.And the room no ready, the bring the toilet paper and the shower curtain in the door.. How i cant have the next time the Presidental.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have stayed at this property several times at the presidental level and its been clean decent and away from the crowd. Its a bit secluded so for us its good. Nice vew from the balconies and the rooms are large and ammenities were nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
201 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you want to be near the action, this is not the place. If you want a newer, clean, quiet place with good privacy, this is it. We stayed in one of the President buildings in a very spacious two-bedroom unit. The view from the large balcony looked out towards the Gulf of Mexico while the walkway to the second floor unit had an unobstructed view of the Inland Waterway. The President buildings have elevator access to their three floors.

The staff was excellent and the maintenance staff was outstanding. The maintenance staff saw us unloading in the handicapped parking area and rushed over to help us get our things to the room. The same thing happened when they saw us unloading groceries we bought from the Kroger Market. We had a minor problem with the shower head and maintenance arrived within 20 minutes.and fixed it the first visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This resort is about 20 mins drive from the town of Galveston in a remote area, across the road from the beach. No stores, no gas stations, no restaurants. Although obviously old, the property seems to be well kept. Our 2BR/2bath unit was clean. All the appliances, ceiling fans and AC were working properly. The kitchen had enough utensils. The 3 TV sets were old CRT, so no high-def and no USB port (I like to view my camera pictures on a TV). No VCR and DVD either in the unit.
There is a balcony, but we were not able to enjoy it because it was windy. The windows have venetian blinds that do not block the light entirely. Annoying if you need complete darkness to sleep, especially in the bedroom facing the coursive where the lights are on all night. Bring your sleeping mask.
The buildings do not have elevators and the units are numbered in a funny way. The second floor is actually the third floor, as the ground floor does not count (because of the flooding risk, the ground floor is open). The numbering sequence does not take in account the building number nor the floor. Furthermore, probably because the doors are recessed from the facade, the sign is not affixed on the door but on the wall and sometimes, it ends up a few feet away from the door and between two units. If you have many luggage to carry, take the time to ask the front desk the exact directions to your unit.
Wifi is only available at the so-called activity center which is also the registration centre/gift shop/food counter. At a time when most resorts and hotels offer wifi in every room, I found it very inconvenient to walk to a separate building to get my internet fix. 3 PCs, only one of which is connected to a printer, were available for those who did not bring their laptops or tablets.
We did not use the resort amenities (pool, golf, tennis ...) so I cannot comment on them.
There is no maid service, but you can request towels and linen to be changed. Requests must be made on a specific day. I was also under the impression that the cleaning/housekeeping was outsourced to an outside contractor.
The staff is young but they seem helpful. We had very little interaction with them.
Overall, the resort is clean and comfortable. But its remoteness and the lack of internet access in every unit makes it perfect only for people who are looking for an "off the grid" type of vacation.

Room Tip: If you need frequent internet access, request a unit in the building closest to the registration bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Silverleaf's Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverleaf's Seaside Resort

Address: 19320 West San Luis Pass, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
Number of rooms: 153
Also Known As:
Silverleaf Seaside Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverleaf's Seaside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.