We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a "resort", but a nice place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silverleaf Seaside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galveston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Silverleaf Seaside Resort
Save Saved
You added Silverleaf Seaside Resort to your Saves list
19320 West San Luis Pass, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not really a "resort", but a nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Really, I don't expect an RCI exchange to match a Ritz Carlton or a luxury hotel. Well, rarely anyway. This one provided large rooms with comfortable beds, and the suites were very clean. Huge bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The units were better than average in all ways. The kitchens were generally well-stocked. The staff were helpful, but in the kind of way where we had to ask for things. When we asked, they were always pleasant, but it would be nice to not have to ask for more coffee or dish soap etc.... We weren't really interested in "resort activities", so that was fine for us. The miniature golfing was a nice option. We had fun. Yes, the pool was "just average", and not really 'resortish' - but, it was fine. A hot tub might have been nice. The beach is quite close. (Beware of jellyfish though). I certainly would be willing to stay here again, if we came back to Galveston. If I rate something 5 stars, it is TRULY exceptional. If I rate something 4 stars, I have no major complaints and would be willing to stay there again because it was clearly above average. For me, 3 stars is "acceptable, not terrible, but I probably would look for another place next time. 2 stars means something bad happened. 1 star would mean I left and didn't even stay there because it was so bad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
46
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Property is nice, but the kicker is the bugs, mosquitos, and roaches come from everywhere at night. Crawling all over the property. In the kitchen, bathrooms, and patio. It was awful. Will not return to this property. Sister was down here from Cali and it was very embarrassing. This particular unit was one of the Presidential units.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This whole Silverleaf (The villages resort) program was just a waiste of my money:

1) My daughter's IPad was stolen from the room. If no one broke in to the unit its obvious had to be staff members because will be only ones with key access to units/ rooms. Per their corp office they dont cameras that monitor outside of units!!!

2) Service was the worst - you see the cleanning crew around they dont even greet or try to assist at all.

3) Goodwill or any Thrift store haves better furniture than this place

Til this point still waiting fromt them or their lame insurance company to respond. Watch out when you plan on investing with this " SILVER LEAF RESORT" place

Room Tip: Worst place ever - people are so rude they only want your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The rooms are great- new and comfy. The resort is about 15 to 20 minutes from the action. The amenities on the resort property are mediocre. The porches and covered areas were dirty with bird poop and dirt. Putt putt, small arcade area, small playground, 1 large pool with no water features. I definitely would not stay at the resort for fun time. Now, they say they plan to add these things, but as of today, it is not there. If you just want somewhere to lay your head while you check out the other sites, then it is great. Otherwise, you could do better.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geismar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We were in a first floor corner condo with views of the Gulf across the hwy. Moody Gardens has an incredible variety of venues. Our family of 5 bought the year pass and we saved. Twice the cost as we used it extensively for a week. The resort is about 15 miles from town but the clean beach area is right there. staff very helpful! We will return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

we had a great time, this was our first time there and we really enjoyed it and we are planning to go out there soon again!!the people were very nice and friendly. my grandson had a blast in the playground and playing mini golf and of course enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This resort is newer, better maintained and right across from the best beach front in Galveston. Everyting was in order whenever we've been there. We've enjoyed ourselves so much, we've been eight times.

The pool and mini golf are nice amenities. When we go to Galveston, we spend a lot of time at Moody Gardens and enjoy other sites and attractions in town as well as the beach. There is so much to do on Galveston, you have the best beach on the island at Seaside and the units are very well appointed. I can't see what else you would want.

Room Tip: If you exchance on RCI, get the 6/6 not the 6/4 2-BR's The 6/6 are the Presidential units and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverleaf Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverleaf Seaside Resort

Address: 19320 West San Luis Pass, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Number of rooms: 153
Also Known As:
Silverleaf Seaside Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverleaf Seaside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.