We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pointe West Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galveston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pointe West Resort
Save Saved
You added Pointe West Resort to your Saves list
24620 San Luis Pass Road, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

enjoy the condo or go to the beach? tough decision!

Guest jlee
Date of stay 03/28/13
Review Submitted 04/04/13

VERY, very nice place! The property is extremely clean, upscale, with a lot of thought put into making your stay there comfortable.The amount of space was perfect for us and our two children. They loved having their own room (and bathroom) with their own tv and wii console. My favorite place was lounging in those decadent chairs on the huge balcony. Best place to have morning coffee! We were impressed by a few extras like having several current movies available to watch, charging stations beside each side of the bed, the convenience of the washer and dryer - which I didn't think we would use much, but we did! Do bring groceries. It's quite a drive to purchase the things you might really want. Also, if you have children with a lot of beach paraphernalia like we do, do NOT walk to the beach club! Just get in the car, park underneath the club and take the elevator up. Much easier when you have to take a lot with you. The owner is very friendly and accessible. All in all, I would say that at times we enjoyed the place so much, we almost had to remind ourselves we were there to hang out at the beach, not stay indoors!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    34
    4
    10
    6
See reviews for
68
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We were in the Oceans Eleven condo unit. Third level and the elevator was out of order entire 4 day stay. Condo had a very musty ordor. One little roll of toilet paper and a single trash bag in kitchen-tho there were strict rules regarding disposing of trash. No grill except inside pool area where no food or drinks of any kind were allowed!??? No bar or restuarant on premises as advertised. On site manager not concerned with disappointments or complaints. The lazy river pool down the road is a joke. Tried to post review on management firm-SandNSeas-needless to say they didn't post it. The one good thing I can say, the king size bed in master was wonderful. Will be at Diamond Beach next year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We love the place so much, we went ahead bought one of the units! It is equivalent in quality to a Four Seasons - grantite counter tops, etc. The beach is protected from cars, it is kept clean, etc. There are so many things to do (e.g. crabbing, biking, beach, waterpark downtown, etc.)

Room Tip: Some of the units are "Bay Side" and other "Beach Side". Of the ones "Beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family just returned from our 3 year of spending time at a condo at the Pointe West Resort.

Pointe West is the best thing that has happened to the Texas Gulf Coast in years. The beaches are groomed weekly, the condos and houses are well maintained and the location is great.

The property management group was friendly and prompt in all of their responses.

They have a very nice pool area with cabanas that some people would probably enjoy. We spend our whole time on the beach and don't really enjoy going to the beach in order to swim in a pool.

My family loves the Mayan Riviera section of Mexico - but honestly, this resort makes Galveston more affordable and better for our family.

Bottom line - this is an excellent place for families to vacation.

Room Tip: The web site has great pics of various houses and condos you can look at before you make a selection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe West R, Front Office Manager at Pointe West Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so very much! We agree! The property has never looked as beautiful as it does now. The seaweed season has ended early, mosquito's are under control.
Thank you for contributing to the best summer season we have ever had!
Come back and see us soon!

The Pointe West Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A group of 7 of us went, and boy were we NOT disappointed. We booked for June, at the last minute, and the owner of the specific Condo we stayed in (#301) gave us the deal of our lives. Not only that, the condo, and balcony, "bay side view" was ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!

Cons:
It's kind of far from SeaWall, and they could use some general maintenance on the property. Mosquitos were TERRIBLE and SEAWEED HORRIBLE when we went, but not a Pointe West issue.

Overall, it was AWESOME!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I love it here! It is a refreashing beautiful part of Galveston, Texas! It is a nice get away from the big hotels with more amenities. I have been here twice and plan to go back with my new family. The pools, kayaking, and golf carts to get around add to the resort. If you frequent Galveston you need to try Pointe West.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas-Ft. Worth, TX, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

What a charming condo. It's light & airy, & very family friendly, we have 2 boys < 12. Their room was very comfortable, having lights over their beds was fun when they were reading & playing video games. The kitchen was well stocked & very clean, perfectly sized for my spouse & I to make quick meals in. And yea for the coffee maker to get my husband going in the a.m. The balcony is AMAZING. We ate most of our meals outside, wonderful adirondack patio furniture, & outstanding views across the dunes to the beach, especially when the full moon reflected on the water. It was so neat having balcony access from the master as well, & what you see in the pics is definitely what you get. We've never been that far down the beach f/ Galveston. It will take ~ 30 min without traffic to get from the tourist section of Galveston to this location. I think it was the Seven Seas grocery store, by the Sand 'N Sea property co, that we bought all of our groceries from. It's a full grocery store, with a pretty nice wine selection, and fresh produce, deli, souvenirs and beach toys. There are 2 main pool locations. The smaller pool with the lazy river is further down San Luis Pass, ~ 2 min drive by car or golf cart, and the lazy river is really small, but we still had great fun. The larger pool is at the main location, no lazy river here, but awesome infinity edge. Don't forget, you'll want to ask if you are bay side or beach side, we spent most of our pool time at the main location. The Beach Club restaurant and entertainment center/game room is not operational right now, the entire property complex is bouncing back from a foreclosure, all of the owners have banded together to save this location which is such a good thing. The pool grounds could use a little TLC, but still clean and fun. Covered parking is awesome, something you take for granted unless you're used to TX summer heat. It's also nice to have keyless entry, you don't want to have take your keys to the beach and pool, nice touch. If you are not able to snag this property for your stay, make sure you ask any other location if you have views of the beach, I'm so glad we had those views every day. It sure made a lazy awakening nice! We were there for the 4th of July, and saw fireworks every direction we turned, for HOURS. That was so much fun. Definitely agree with another reviewer, bring mosquito repellant, and make sure it's not wimpy
;-) The gift shop owner was so sweet, and even prices her ice creams so with tax it evens out to $1 to make it easy for the kiddos. Find out early when the kids activities are, or you may sleep in and miss them! Go to the Seven Seas grocery store on your way in (it's only about 10 min f/ the property) and buy staple items and snacks for your fridge. If you're eating out, do it before 8:00 pm, local establishments close early on this end of the island. Don't make extensive plans for Moody Gardens or Schlitterbahn, it's a 30 min 1 way commute there. The owners were friendly, and able to accomodate our almost last minute vacay plans. We got our deposit back without any hassle and in a very timely manner. 4 stars ONLY b/c the ceiling fans and vents need dusting, we have bad allergies--but we would stay here again and recommend it to all!

Room Tip: Stay beach side with views, instead of bayside, you'll be closer to the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pointe West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe West Resort

Address: 24620 San Luis Pass Road, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty lodging in Galveston
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know there a many rumors floating around about our property. Rest assured that Pointe West has never been as beautiful or inviting as it currently stands! We are not under foreclosure! True, the bar and restaurant are not currently available, but all of the other amenities are available. The beach club registration office is open 7 days a week.The Gift Shop, Fitness Center and both pool areas are open. The area has recovered amazingly well since Hurricane Ike in 2008. So come down and enjoy Texas' Gulf Coast! Come to Pointe West, we're at the Western tip of Galveston Island! We are waiting for ya'! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pointe West Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointe West Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.