We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff. Good for one night pre-cruise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Galveston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3606 89th Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Dumas, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great staff. Good for one night pre-cruise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Drove to Galveston for a one night stay prior to a cruise the next day. The hotel is nice and we liked it but it wasn't exactly near what i would call beachfront. It is set back from the road quite a bit.
We did have a balcony and could see the water.
Checked in by a lovely lady - sorry I didn't get her name. The beach looked awful and I asked her about it and she explained the red tide and what was going in in detail.
Room was nice and large with two queens and little living area with sleeper sofa. Kitchen area with microwave and mini fridge and safe. There is a small pool and a work out room and business room with two computers. Also, a 'pantry' for snacks.

Wanted to go out to dinner somewhere close by and the nice desk lady recommended several good places that weren't too expensive. One being Salsa mexican restaurant. It was very good and we really enjoyed the mariachi band that played. Fun place. Close to several places and some shopping. A large convenience store next door for last minute junk.

There is breakfast available in the am but we slept too late to enjoy. There is a shuttle which will take you round trip to the cruise port for $20pp and parking while cruising is free. Nice value there. We elected to take a cab to the port which was $16 for two of us. Took maybe 15 min. to get there. No problem at all getting a cab back.

For what its worth, I thought the Galveston cruise port very easy and quick in and out.
I would stay here again pre-cruise.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_tx885, General Manager at Comfort Suites Galveston, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
goodgame123,

Thank you! What a wonderful and detailed review of your recent stay! I (We) really apppreciate you taking the time to share with us.
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I'm even more thrilled that our Staff was helpful, friendly and knowledgeble about our Island. By the way...I think Salsa's is great too!

Please do return and stay with us soon, whether it's for another cruise or just to get away!

Welcome to our Family and Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    41
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
67
34
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glaveston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is very good hotel on beach front, we had visited 2nd time in this hotel while our business trip to usa. It is very nice and quite rooms. It look like very nice comfortable beds with warm welcome at checking nice and friendly stqaff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_tx885, General Manager at Comfort Suites Galveston, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
dharmesh8,

Thank you so much for visiting us not once, but twice! We really love our repeat guests! It let's us know we are doing our job and we appreciate making new "family" mambers.

We try and offer comfort, relaxation and quality to all of our guests and it's wonderful to hear when we sucessful in doing so! I hope you will continue to visit us as you find yourself in Galveston!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were searching for a good hotel near the ocean but out of the crowds and found this Comfort Suites and booked it because of its location and the reviews. The hotel seems to be a bit older but was well maintained. It is a three-story building located just one block off Seawall Boulevard at 89th Street with no buildings blocking the view.

Arrived at the hotel and received a friendly welcome. Got a room on the second floor facing the sea. The rooms have balconies which we liked a lot but you really have to watch for mosquitoes. The size of the suite was good and it featured a fridge and a microwave. Cleanliness was ok considering that this is a beach hotel and people bring in sandy stuff. The bed was fresh and comfortable.

The breakfast unfortunately was not really good. Although coming one hour before closing all hot choices (scrambled eggs and sausages) were empty and weren´t being refilled. The waffle machine was greasy and baked waffles hard as stone. After waiting for 20 minutes we left without eating anything.

We had problems connecting to the Internet, there couldn´t be wifi established neither to our laptop nor to our iPhone. The iPhone problem was known to the front desk but couldn´t be resolved. But that´s ok since we were on vacation.

The hotel features a small swimming pool with chairs and has a guest laundry. They offer a shuttle service to the cruise port and Schlitterbahn waterpark.

After all we had a good stay at the Comfort Suites Galveston and would definitely consider returning there if we´d be again in Galveston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean -
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_tx885, General Manager at Comfort Suites Galveston, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
urlaubsbaerchen,

Wow! Thank you for such a detailed review of your recent stay with us! Well done and much appreciated. It's always nice to hear feedback...to know what we're doing right and what we could stand to improve on. Your comments have given us both!

We're sorry about the mosquitos. With the beach covered in seaweed we have seen an increase in those critters and they are already plentiful to begin with.

Thank you for the kind words regarding the property and the staff. We do our best everyday to try and be a traveler's "home away from home" and it's nice when we hear that we suceeded. We continue to try and improve and I know the next time you visit (I hope there is a next time) that you will see that reflected!

As for the negatives, please accept our sincere apology and know that we will look into every one of the items you mentioned. While I appreciate you commenting that the room was clean for a beach hotel...that's not good enough and we are already adding a couple of checks and balances to improve that situation.
The internet and/or WiFi is our most recent upgrade and it sounds like we still have a "kink" or two to work out. I personally have had the problem you mentioned regarding Iphones. It is a duplicate ID error. I found that by powering off my device, waiting a couple of minutes and then restarting it seems to resolve the issue. The staff has been made aware of these steps and I am sorry if they failed to offer that as a possible resolution.
In recent months we have revamped our breakfast. We have had many positive comments and a few negative as well. I know we'll never please everyone, but it is unacceptable that food items were not being replenished. This matter has been addressed and will be monitored as it is not to our standard. Thank you for bringing this up so that we could address it.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Galveston. We will continue to improve our product. The feedback our guests provide is critical to us being the property we aspire to be and the one that you expect!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland, Arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our family of five stayed here before sailing on the Carnival Magic in May of 2014. This is our third time to stay at this hotel. This is a nice place to stay and we will continue to stay here before cruises. We stay here for the following reasons: they have a room for five (used to be six before my oldest daughter got married), they have a shuttle to the cruise terminal, free breakfast and free cruise parking. There is a fee for the shuttle, The fee for the shuttle is $20 for four people or $30 for five people and that includes drop off and pick up after the cruise. The breakfast is decent (scrambled eggs, pastry, waffles, cereal, biscuits, gravy) and will satisfy you until you get aboard the ship and eat lunch. The front desk staff has always been friendly and helpful. There is a swimming pool and small exercise room. There is also a room with a computer with internet access. Our room had two queen beds, a sleeper sofa, coffee maker, tv, refrigerator, microwave and safe. We enjoyed staying here and have already booked our room for our next cruise in May 2015.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_tx885, General Manager at Comfort Suites Galveston, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Terry L

Thank you so very much for being a fan and a loyal Customer to our property! The fact that you have stayed with us 4 times and planning on a 5th is a true compliment. It's things like this that make each and every one of us proud to work here. We try our best to make every stay enjoyable, relaxing and fun.

We look forward to seeing you in May and we promise we will continue to strive to be the property and staff you have come to expect and enjoy!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed one night prior to our cruise. The front desk service was great. They suggested a sandwich shop for us to grab a quick bite, arranged for us to have a first floor room and signed us up for the shuttle to the pier on Sunday. The room was very clean and the bottom of the bath tub had a non-slip surface which was the best I have ever seen. It felt like you had a bath mat under your feet. That is very important to Senior Citizens of which I qualify.
The breakfast was typical of a small motel. They had the normal waffles, scrambled eggs, fruit, etc. The eggs and meat were relatively cool, to say the least, but I was hungry and ate everything on my plate.
The shuttle was on time and delivered us promptly to our ship. We left our car at the motel for the duration of the trip but we decided beforehand to take a taxi back to the motel when we returned the following Sunday. That worked out very well as there was no wait for the taxi and $20 later we were back in our vehicle.
I would recommend this motel for folks going on a cruise and also those staying in Galveston for a nice vacation. You are only a block or so from the water and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. The staff is helpful, the rooms are clean, the tub is great and it's just a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_tx885, General Manager at Comfort Suites Galveston, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Retiredat65,

Thank you! On behalf of the staff and myself, we appreciate your feedback. It is really important for us to hear how we're doing. It's motivating to hear that we made such a favorable impression. Our staff is the reason our guests (hopefully) have a good time while staying. From the front desk with their tips and "insider" info to those behind the scenes...our engineers, housekeepers and others. Thank you for noticing them. We also appreciate that you found our location clean, accessible and close to other activities!

Our non-slip tubs do work well and it's nice that one of the more subtle touches we provide was noticed!

Thank you for your honest assessment of the breakfast, we are constantly looking at ways to improve and/or enhance it and feedback like yours is constructive.

We're so glad you tried the one way shuttle option! We have found it to be a great alternative for folks that don't want to wait after all the fun of dis-embarking and Customs! In the end, ten dollars seems well worth it to leave when you are ready. This is a new option for our guests and it's nice to hear it worked.

Thank you so much for staying with us and for recommending us to everyone! We will continue to do our best and hope that it's not too long before we see you again!

Happy Travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The overnight stay was as I had expected it to be. Everything was practically perfect. The effort needed to make the short notice reservation was rewarded by quick response ease of completion. I suppose it would be fair to say that the whole process was stress free.

Room Tip: Short notice did not bring about any surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_tx885, General Manager at Comfort Suites Galveston, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Tom W

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback and comments. We appreciate when our guests let us know how we're doing. So glad you made a quick trip and that you found the process and the property to your satisfaction! Our staff and management tries hard everyday to make each guests stay as "stress free" and enjoyable as possible.

I hope you will come visit us again! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed there recently, the night before our cruise. We had a group of 12 staying there and had 6 rooms. We requested that we all go to the port at the same time and were told that was not possible, that only 10 could legally ride in the van. So we went in 2 trips. Following the cruise, upon our return to the port of Galveston, we called the hotel to ask the shuttle to come pick 4 of us up. We were told there would be about a 30 minute wait, which was fine. After we were loaded into the van the driver called the hotel to see if he needed to pick up anyone else. He informed us that he needed to go to the Royal Caribbean pier and get 2 more passengers. Again, not a problem. After he picked them up and we were finally headed to the hotel, one of the other passengers got on his cell phone and called friends at the port, who said they were ready to be picked up, so the driver turned around and went back. At this point, we are thinking he should have dropped us back at the hotel and then gone back. What was supposed to be 2 more passengers turned into 6 more and we were crammed in like sardines. The driver pushed 12 passengers into a 10 passenger van, and we had to wonder why it was okay then, but we weren't allowed to do it on the way to the port.

As far as the hotel itself, I would highly recommend it.....we have stayed there numerous times. My only advice, if you are cruising, is that it would be better to take a cab to the port. We would have taken one back to the hotel if we'd known if was going to be over an hr. until we arrived back at a destination 10 mins. away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_tx885, General Manager at Comfort Suites Galveston, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
C'Ann F,

Thank you for your feedback! It is very helpful...not only to us, but to other Guests looking to stay at our property! Thank you for being a loyal guest and for staying with us on several occasions. We appreciate that and hope you will continue to visit us! We also appreciate the kind words regarding the hotel and especially our Staff. They are a vital part to our operation and it is very positive (and motivating) when they are singled out for praise.

Now in regards to our shuttle. It can be challenging at times. Not only for our guests, but also for us too. More often than not things run as planned. However, we do have those days where we get thrown a "curve ball" or two. The guest that called his friends while being transported put our driver in a difficult situation. I'm sorry that happened and we have spoken in regards to what to do if that situation arises again. Honestly, we just have never had that happen before and the driver was unsure of how to proceed. He made a judgement call.

We are always looking for ways to enhance or streamline the shuttle process. A larger van is being looked at and may help some. Limiting the total number of guests we offer the service to has also been discussed. Finally, we have added a one way option for our guests. This allows for us to transport them to the Terminal and then upon their return, they may take a taxi back to the property. This allows a guest to leave at their leisure and as you know, taxis are quite plentiful at the port.

Thank you again for your loyalty! Your feedback is vital to what we do. We look forward to seeing you again when you find yourself in Galveston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Galveston

Address: 3606 89th Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Galveston Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.