We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff makes a Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Galveston

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3606 89th Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Tenaha, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff makes a Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff was EXCELLENT. Anytime me or any other family member needed anything, they were very accomodating. I was surprised with an email thanking me for staying with them, the very afternoon I left. I should have thanked them for having us! We have four children and didn't want to lose any of them in the crowd, so we were looking for a not so crowded area. We found it just a short distance from the hotel. We didn't hear the traffic of the partiers at night. The maids weren't waking us up first thing in the morning cleaning the rooms down the hall. It was a very peacful stay. A true vacation! The breakfast was wonderful. Something for everyone. The sheets....Oh....they smelled so clean!! I truly enjoyed my stay. I don't know the measurements of tv's and all that. Who measures the tv's? Owners! Anytime I see tv measurements, I think it is a "FAKE" review. So....it was a nice size tv! Comfortable beds! Not sure what kind of mattresses! I just know they were comfortable! There was a sales person in the lobby doing some kind of promotional thing. We did sign up. So I will be headed back to Galveston next year. This year isn't over....so who knows! Oh the bathtub, it was a deep and wide bathtub! Was able to just relax!!! The way you should do on vacation. Did I mention the staff? The entire staff, maids, front desk and maintenance man were all outstanding. My husband took a glass bottle to the pool, the maintenance man got some cups and brought them out to my husband and told him bottles weren't allowed in the pool area. Any other place tells you that you can't have glass in the pool area and asks you to leave the area. High-five on the cups!! Guests aren't there for employees to "get onto", they are there for pleasure. I have to say, we were all treated like "wanted" guests!!! Everyone would smile and say good morning/afternoon to us. We felt very welcomed. We lucked up and got the right hotel at the right spot. This was our first trip to Galveston, but it will not be our last. This is the hotel for us! Thank you Comfort Suites!!!

Room Tip: Third floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    38
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
64
32
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have to say that I was surprised to read one reviewer saying the staff is unfriendly. They were all very friendly & accomodating. The hotel was clean and quite. The pool & workout room was kept clean. It has your typical free breakfast with eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, yogurt fruit, pastries. All good. It is not on the main drag which I liked because we were there to go to Moody Gardens mainly and it was only a mile away without heavy traffic. The hotel does not face Seawall but you can walk up a small hill and cross Seawall to a fishing pier across the street. It also has a restaurant & gift shop. You can also walk to a great miniature golf course and a movie theater complex. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

All three people i spoke with there, the evening shift girl, the overnight lady, and the morning shift girl didn't seem like they cared for the job at the hotel too much. Not very friendly like desk people should be. I go to Galveston almost every week to play at Schlitterbahn and normally stay at Quality Inn and Suites but decided to change up a bit. Quality is much more friendly. The thing that bugged me the most is the stupid TIMESHARE SALES LADY or something like that I did not listen because I wasn't there to hear a sales pitch. When I'm on vacation and eating my free breakfast I don't wanna here a sales pitch. The rooms are small compared to other Comfort Suites. Last this hotel is located just off the beach but its the rocky part of the beach not much fun to enjoy the beach in rocks.

Room Tip: Stay at the hotels east of this hotel for beach without rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Suites Galveston for one night prior to departing on a Western Caribbean cruise. We chose the hotel based on our previous experience with Comfort Suites properties, the fact that the hotel offered parking while on the cruise and shuttle service to the cruise terminal ($20 per room for these services), and the value compared to some of the other choices in town.

We were there the night of the main Mardi Gras parade and it was very busy in town..this may have had something to do with the elevated room prices at the local hotels that night. It took us a little time to get to the hotel due to the traffic and road closures associated with the parade, but we were very pleased when we arrived.

The property is in very good condition and attractive. It is across the highway from the ocean/gulf, but it is set back far enough from the street that there are not really great views from the hotel. The free breakfast area is large and has a fairly typical selection of items (typical for Comfort Suites, which is pretty good). One cute item was a waffle iron that made waffles in the shape of the state of Texas. The room was well appointed, in good condition, and clean. We did not use the pool, hot tub, or exercise room, but they looked fine.

As far as the cruise parking/shuttle was concerned...it was well organized but could work a little more smoothly. There were quite a few other people going on cruises doing the same thing we were (parking/shuttle) and the hotel had a system down. They had several scheduled shuttle departures to choose from early morning to midday. However, the shuttles were not very timely. Our shuttle was the last of the day and we had to wait nearly two hours past our departure time to leave. We did not get too upset over the delay as the Galveston cruise terminal is notorious for delays and getting taxis can be tricky (this was the second time we have cruised from Galveston).

Parking was a little difficult/crowded since the hotel has a standard size lot for this type of property. There are no additional spaces to account for cruise passengers parking there. We were told by a front desk employee that they plan to build additional parking on a vacant lot behind the hotel to ease the parking congestion.

The shuttle upon return went a little more smoothly. We called as requested when we exited the terminal. There was still a wait, but it was not unreasonable considering how busy the terminal was. When we arrived back at the hotel, our car was fine, just as we had left it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slidell
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

First visit, will stay again. This hotel was immaculate! Clean rooms, good breakfast. The pool and hot tub are well kept and the staff were all so friendly. Only a block from the seawall and maybe 5 minutes from Schlitterbahn and Moody Gardens. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venus, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Comfort Suites in Galveston TX was so great, other motels on the Seawall St had a good view, BUT, we had a great view at a much lower price... Quality Inn, a motel we stay in often had very little view unlike the two rooms we had at CS... AND, the price did not go up each night higher at CS. Our Daughter and her two sons was with us and by all of us staying at CS we saved about $150.00... Sharon and Joe

Room Tip: Get the room facing the Sea at Comfort Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, IL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a great little hotel ! We were hesitant to book this place because it's just slightly off the beaten path for Galveston beach attractions. However, we found just the opposite, Far enough away from main attractions to enjoy a pleasant stay. Room was clean, large enough for a wheelchair user and yet not beat up or looking like a disabled room. Just clean, roomy, nice fridge, laundry, nice little private pool etc.

Management here "Miguel" is excellent ! Kind, helpful, caring about your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Galveston

Address: 3606 89th Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Galveston 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Galveston Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.