We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place in galveston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Porter, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome place in galveston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a business conference and was very surprised by the hotel and the staff. It was spotlessly clean everywhere and the front desk staff went out of there way to make me feel welcome. I was there in time for happy hour and the fresh cookies. The room was more than adequate and would have been great for an extended stay if this was a vacation trip. Asked for advise on restaurants and was given a perfect recommendation. Easy access from the freeway and the beach is about 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: high floor is best, views really don't matter at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    17
    4
    12
See reviews for
49
28
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the place to stay in Galveston in April. Faces the mainland, not the Gulf, but has water views. You are about 60 blocks from the ocean beach, but an easy drive. Exceptionally clean; very helpful, knowledgeable staff; great breakfasts. (The waffles were the best I've ever had at a complimentary breakfast, also fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, etc). We stayed for three nights and would definitely stay here again. Thank you Springhill Suites for a wonderful start to our three week Texas tour.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here last week for two nights and our stay was fantastic. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Galveston. The hotel was VERY CLEAN and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: we had top floor room with balcony with beautiful water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maya S, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us. I hope we will see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted Falls, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our reservation was for 1 night prior to our cruise. I called the day prior to check in to let the hotel know that we would check in after midnight, so please hold the room. We arrived to find that there had been an oil spill which closed the Galveston port. There was no one at the front desk, but a sign that said wait 10-min. The girl who arrived shortly thereafter had clearly been running herself ragged and apologized for the wait. As it turned out, cruise ships scheduled before ours were held up and there was only one room left, which was dirty. She offered to clean the room for us if we waited or try to find us a room in another hotel. We opted to stay, so she comped the room and offered us refreshments for free. She was very sweet.

Finally getting to the room, here's what we found:
* It was very clean, even having been hastily prepared.
* EVERY door squeaked very loudly. Seriously, it was like a haunted house. I felt bad for our neighbors since it was so late at night and we made so much noise with 5 family members using the bathroom.
* I don't know what those things on the bed are called, but they are NOT blankets. There is a thin sheet on the bed, another thicker puffy sheet and then what I would consider a throw that you would use while watching tv on top. I froze all night.
* The continental breakfast had a wide assortment of food and everything was good. My husband said it was the best complimentary breakfast he's ever had.

It is a very nice place with great service and with a few tweaks it could be amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maya S, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do appologize for your inconvenience. We are very happy to hear that our front desk associate was able to help you. I will pass on your good words to her. Thank you again for your patience and I hope to see you again next time you are in Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Needed a room on the spur of a moment before a cruise - fortunately they had a room available. The front staff made the stay wonderful with their warm and friendly disposition. The hot breakfast the following morning was wonderful. In between, the room was comfortable and quiet. Overall, a great experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maya S, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
It is great to hear that you sincerely enjoyed our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with your friends. I hope to see you again the next time you visit our island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The price was a little high for the night, but I expected that given it was Spring Break. The location was conveniently off I-45, but not within walking distance of anything much. The lobby is pleasant enough...even with the smell of chlorine from the pool next door. My biggest complaint is the fact there is only 1 elevator and it is very slow. The room was nice enough and the beds were pretty comfortable, but the room didn't have any towels when we arrived. The breakfast buffet wasn't bad. I'd probably consider this place again, but only if something comparable, closer to the Sea Wall wasn't available.

Room Tip: Try to opt for a room further away from the Interstate. I could hear the traffic a good part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maya S, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
We are sorry about your inconveniences. Our goal is to make each guest's experience an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksboro, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Spring Hill Suites by Marriot in Galveston, Texas was everything we expected and more! The room was spacious, comfortable, clean, up-to-date, technologically advanced with I-phone/i-pad docks, etc. the staff was very friendly and helpful. the parking was adequate, well lit, and visable from the room. the pool and hot tub were indoor and comfortably heated. the pool stayed open late and was a family friendly environment. there were two very nice treadmills in the fitness center. The breakfast was terrific and there were lots of choices! checkout was at noon. this afforded lots of time for relaxing and taking our time eating and enjoying the many amenities they had to offer. I will definitely stay at this hotel next time we go to Galveston. Thank you, Spring Hill!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maya S, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
You are welcome. We enjoyed having you and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel
Springhill Suites Galveston
Address: 6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Galveston Island 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your SpringHill Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Galveston Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Galveston Island to your Saves list