We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Reasonably Priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Galveston Island to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean and Reasonably Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The motel was centrally located to where I wanted to go with easy access to the ocean and the revitalized downtown. The room and entranceway was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is also better than I expected. I stayed on the 4th floor facing the bay and the room also overlooked the Interstate. Once the glass doors were closed the road noise was not a distraction. Neighbors could be noticeably noisy at night but normally quieted down before terribly late.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    21
    5
    14
See reviews for
63
37
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed at this location many times. The hotel staff is wonderful, and the front desk staff is always available and helpful. I had read a review of this hotel many months ago that said the location is too close to the highway and there is too much road noise. Maybe I had good room locations as I never had a noise problem. The hotel is conveniently located for easy access to Seawall Blvd, Moody Gardens, the historic downtown area, the Strand, and Harborside Drive. And when you need to depart early for a flight out of Houston, access to I-45 is quick and easy, even in morning traffic. Only complaint that I have is that this hotel is the only Marriott property on Galveston Island, and with the amount of travel I do to the area, it would be nice to have alternatives when the place is sold out.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are furthest from possible traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I made reservations here based on my daughter's recommendation. The front desk staff were so helpful. My room was clean and fesh; stocked with fresh towels and a coffee pot!!! What a welcoming after a long flight. Our group attended my daughter's wedding and checked out the next morning with ease. Once aboard the cruise ship, everyone said that they had a good night's sleep and enjoyed their breakfast which included a State of Texas-shaped waffle! I didn't see any strawberries to put on that waffle like the Marriot SpringHill ad showed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here the night before a cruise. The value was good for the money we paid, the staff was friendly and it was convenient to the cruise port. It was right off the highway and easy to find. Was in walking distance from a little bay area and the sunset was beautiful from this vantage point.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Being on the coastal area I expected the rooms to be a little musty but the rooms are extremely bad. The hotel staff are extremely rude especially the front desk.

I was extremely disappointed in the two nights we stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

came down to visit family and the hotel has the perfect placement since im sure im not the only one that wants to get out of the car as soon as possible after a long road trip. the service at the front desk was excellent; the staff was polite and helpful as they checked me in to my room. when i got to my room it was so clean and neat that i felt bad when i tossed my bag down and fell into the soft bed. i would definately recommend staying here, i know i'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First let me say that I did not pay a lot for this room. That was hard to understand when I booked this hotel. I have stayed at a few Springhill Suites and this one was a little (actually a lot) overdue for a renovation.

This is an older property and everything showed it's age. It was clean though, and I looked closely but needs a fresh coat of paint, the grout cleaned, the furniture wood it nicked up and all metal had that rust that you see from salt air. Breakfast was average with minimum selection, only one waffle iron. But again I feel the hotel knows this and that is why the rooms are at a much lower rate than other locations.

So for the $61 that I paid I must stop complaining. And for that price I would go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Address: 6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Galveston Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.