We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access, Quick Exit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Galveston Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Easy access, Quick Exit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed at this location many times. The hotel staff is wonderful, and the front desk staff is always available and helpful. I had read a review of this hotel many months ago that said the location is too close to the highway and there is too much road noise. Maybe I had good room locations as I never had a noise problem. The hotel is conveniently located for easy access to Seawall Blvd, Moody Gardens, the historic downtown area, the Strand, and Harborside Drive. And when you need to depart early for a flight out of Houston, access to I-45 is quick and easy, even in morning traffic. Only complaint that I have is that this hotel is the only Marriott property on Galveston Island, and with the amount of travel I do to the area, it would be nice to have alternatives when the place is sold out.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are furthest from possible traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    53
    18
    4
    12
See reviews for
56
30
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I made reservations here based on my daughter's recommendation. The front desk staff were so helpful. My room was clean and fesh; stocked with fresh towels and a coffee pot!!! What a welcoming after a long flight. Our group attended my daughter's wedding and checked out the next morning with ease. Once aboard the cruise ship, everyone said that they had a good night's sleep and enjoyed their breakfast which included a State of Texas-shaped waffle! I didn't see any strawberries to put on that waffle like the Marriot SpringHill ad showed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here the night before a cruise. The value was good for the money we paid, the staff was friendly and it was convenient to the cruise port. It was right off the highway and easy to find. Was in walking distance from a little bay area and the sunset was beautiful from this vantage point.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Being on the coastal area I expected the rooms to be a little musty but the rooms are extremely bad. The hotel staff are extremely rude especially the front desk.

I was extremely disappointed in the two nights we stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

came down to visit family and the hotel has the perfect placement since im sure im not the only one that wants to get out of the car as soon as possible after a long road trip. the service at the front desk was excellent; the staff was polite and helpful as they checked me in to my room. when i got to my room it was so clean and neat that i felt bad when i tossed my bag down and fell into the soft bed. i would definately recommend staying here, i know i'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First let me say that I did not pay a lot for this room. That was hard to understand when I booked this hotel. I have stayed at a few Springhill Suites and this one was a little (actually a lot) overdue for a renovation.

This is an older property and everything showed it's age. It was clean though, and I looked closely but needs a fresh coat of paint, the grout cleaned, the furniture wood it nicked up and all metal had that rust that you see from salt air. Breakfast was average with minimum selection, only one waffle iron. But again I feel the hotel knows this and that is why the rooms are at a much lower rate than other locations.

So for the $61 that I paid I must stop complaining. And for that price I would go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo TX
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel was great for the price. It is a short drive to the beach and all the major shopping and dining. The indoor pool is nice and the water was heated while the pool area was kept cool. Breakfast was good but it was very warm in the dining area. The staff was very nice and attentive except for one particular incident. We asked the male clerk where is the best place to find shells for the kids and he simply said "the beach." I thought he was being a bit of a smart aleck since we already knew that the beach has seashells. What we were looking for would be something like "Go down past 51st street", or go to such and such beach. Other than that, we'll be back.

Room Tip: This hotel was great for the price. The indoor pool is nice and the water was heated while the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Address: 6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Galveston Island 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Galveston Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.