We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Hotel You See Entering Galveston Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Galveston Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First Hotel You See Entering Galveston Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Located right off the highway this Marriott hotel welcomes you to Galveston. It is located in the shopping area. Breakfast was pretty good. The pool needed a little cleaning and maintenance-disappointing to the kids but we made up for it since the beach is not that far from the hotel. Staff is friendly. THE ELEVATOR WAS SOOOO SLOW! This hotel is really close to Moody Gardens. Overall, a family friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room located at the end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    55
    18
    4
    13
See reviews for
58
31
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Rooms were very clean and had recently been redone. Loved having a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. The sitting area was comfortable and nicely separated from the bed. Location was not near the sea wall or beaches, but Galveston is small enough that the drive wasn't long. We enjoyed going back to our quiet side of the island at night for a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the bayou. Complimentary breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the water has great views over the bayou towards Moody Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

It's not the nicest hotel, but I didnt expect much. It's close to Moody Gardens. You can watch the fireworks at night right outside the hotel. It's not right by the beach, but it's a quick 20 min drive. Free breakfast is good with hot food. We had a 2.5 year-old and were worried we were making too much noise, but there were a lot of families around with kids. We had a corner room with a living space and mini bar area with microwave and fridge which can be used for extra drinks or snacks you get for the beach. I don't think I would stay here if I didn't have kids, but it was great for what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the night before our cruise of out of Galveston. We didn't arrive until after 10pm and the lady behind the desk was very helpful and gave us a nice balcony room overlooking the water. The hotel is older but nicely kept, and no issues that I noticed. If you are looking for a nice place to stay before a cruise or just to hang out in Galveston at a good price, this is a good hotel for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Check in was easy...check out was too. Room was very clean and comfortable and had a nice view of the West Bay and Moody Gardens. All the employees we came in contact with were professional, polite and friendly. Hotel was very clean and smelled great in all the public areas including the hallways. No problems parking although attempting to pull out onto the feeder road is a white knuckle experience during peak "beach" hours when 90% of the people visiting the island are exiting 61st street and flying up to the light one after the other. There is a back road you can take directly to 61st but you're then stuck there waiting on the same flow of traffic as before. Hotel itself seemed pretty quiet even though it appeared to be full. It needs more than one elevator (which moved at a snails pace). We finally just started taking the stairs. Our mini-fridge in the room had an annoying rattle but otherwise, no real complaints. Enjoyed the visit. Have stayed at other Island hotels closer to the beach but I think when we go back, we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the fourth floor with an obstructed view of the bay. Watch the fireworks at Moody Gardens f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a new hotel. The rooms are large and nicely appointed. The location is good. No ocean views, but a nice walk and your there! Free breakfast... But it is a "cold" breakfast. Lots of choices of foods. The staff is friendly. This hotel is a great value at 89.00 per night ..... That price may be a short lived deal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were in Galveston for a wedding and really enjoyed our stay at this Springhill. Friends of ours were staying at the Harbor House Inn and comparing we definitely made the right choice in staying here. The breakfast in the morning was very yummy. My husband really enjoyed the waffles and strawberry waffles :) The hotel was very clean. It had a small gym for those people who were looking for a treadmill. They also had an indoor pool. The women at the front desk were so very friendly!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Address: 6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Galveston Island 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Galveston Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.