We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Hotel You See Entering Galveston Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Galveston Island to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“First Hotel You See Entering Galveston Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Located right off the highway this Marriott hotel welcomes you to Galveston. It is located in the shopping area. Breakfast was pretty good. The pool needed a little cleaning and maintenance-disappointing to the kids but we made up for it since the beach is not that far from the hotel. Staff is friendly. THE ELEVATOR WAS SOOOO SLOW! This hotel is really close to Moody Gardens. Overall, a family friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room located at the end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas_TXTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Rooms were very clean and had recently been redone. Loved having a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. The sitting area was comfortable and nicely separated from the bed. Location was not near the sea wall or beaches, but Galveston is small enough that the drive wasn't long. We enjoyed going back to our quiet side of the island at night for a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the bayou. Complimentary breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the water has great views over the bayou towards Moody Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

It's not the nicest hotel, but I didnt expect much. It's close to Moody Gardens. You can watch the fireworks at night right outside the hotel. It's not right by the beach, but it's a quick 20 min drive. Free breakfast is good with hot food. We had a 2.5 year-old and were worried we were making too much noise, but there were a lot of families around with kids. We had a corner room with a living space and mini bar area with microwave and fridge which can be used for extra drinks or snacks you get for the beach. I don't think I would stay here if I didn't have kids, but it was great for what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the night before our cruise of out of Galveston. We didn't arrive until after 10pm and the lady behind the desk was very helpful and gave us a nice balcony room overlooking the water. The hotel is older but nicely kept, and no issues that I noticed. If you are looking for a nice place to stay before a cruise or just to hang out in Galveston at a good price, this is a good hotel for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekT1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Check in was easy...check out was too. Room was very clean and comfortable and had a nice view of the West Bay and Moody Gardens. All the employees we came in contact with were professional, polite and friendly. Hotel was very clean and smelled great in all the public areas including the hallways. No problems parking although attempting to pull out onto the feeder road is a white knuckle experience during peak "beach" hours when 90% of the people visiting the island are exiting 61st street and flying up to the light one after the other. There is a back road you can take directly to 61st but you're then stuck there waiting on the same flow of traffic as before. Hotel itself seemed pretty quiet even though it appeared to be full. It needs more than one elevator (which moved at a snails pace). We finally just started taking the stairs. Our mini-fridge in the room had an annoying rattle but otherwise, no real complaints. Enjoyed the visit. Have stayed at other Island hotels closer to the beach but I think when we go back, we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the fourth floor with an obstructed view of the bay. Watch the fireworks at Moody Gardens f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a new hotel. The rooms are large and nicely appointed. The location is good. No ocean views, but a nice walk and your there! Free breakfast... But it is a "cold" breakfast. Lots of choices of foods. The staff is friendly. This hotel is a great value at 89.00 per night ..... That price may be a short lived deal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janiam33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were in Galveston for a wedding and really enjoyed our stay at this Springhill. Friends of ours were staying at the Harbor House Inn and comparing we definitely made the right choice in staying here. The breakfast in the morning was very yummy. My husband really enjoyed the waffles and strawberry waffles :) The hotel was very clean. It had a small gym for those people who were looking for a treadmill. They also had an indoor pool. The women at the front desk were so very friendly!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#12 of 49 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
1.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Address: 6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing