We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable hotel on the island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Galveston Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“comfortable hotel on the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

While this hotel is not on the beach it is quiet and clean. They offer a pretty substantial breakfast that comes with the room price. The breakfast offers eggs, sausage or bacon and the usual waffles, but in addition there is real oatmeal, healthy yogurt and fresh fruit. i come for business but there are a lot of families. It's not Moody Gardens, but then neither is the price and everything on the island is close.

Room Tip: i like a view of the bay instead of the highway. sunsets and sunrises (I don't see those but my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    52
    17
    4
    12
See reviews for
52
30
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last night and we very happy with it. The location is perfect; not right on the seawall, but it looks out to a bay. The hotel was clean - lobby, downstairs restroom, pool area and the room. The beds were comfortable... pillows and the bedspread. The bathroom was clean and very spacious - we loved the showerhead and there was plently of water pressure. The 2 women at the front desk were very gracious and made us feel right at home. We didn't get up early enough for the complimentary hot breakfast, but our friends did and they said the food was great. We would definately recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before our Disney Cruise. It was right off the highway. Short drive to restaurants, beach, boardwalk and cruise ship docks if u have a rental car. Saw complaints about getting back to hotel but was actually really easy to get back to with back roads (directions provided by hotel). GPS is helpful. Breakfast was good and a good start before our cruise. Would stay here again for the price. However if you don't have a rental car would not stay here and would recommend staying at a hotel along the beach as these are closer and would be walking distance to restaurants, stores, beach and the boardwalk with rides etc.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Other reviews of this hotel said there was no view. There is if you are on the west side of the hotel. My room had a nice sunset over the bay view.

The breakfast was typical of Marriott properties. The rooms and lobby were clean and have modern furniture/tv, etc.

The pool is indoor. It's small but clean. Parking is limited but there. The main beach is a solid mile and a half but an easy drive. The location is good in that is right there when you come over the bridge from the mainland.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the night before a cruise. Unfortunately, this hotel is on the wrong side of the island. If you want to be close to the cruise ships, you have to stay on the other side of the island, near the downtown area. This hotel was clean, the room was nice, and everything was fine. I didn't like the breakfast options, but I'm not a big breakfast eater. Overall very good.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingram, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were a little concerned about this property after reading some dismal reviews. My sister's family stayed there in Oct, 2012 and reassured us that it was more than acceptable.
We arrived on a Saturday in anticipation of our cruise leaving on Sunday afternoon. Check-in was smooth, however upon arriving at our room, found we were close to the freeway AND next to the elevator-two things we specifically mentioned in our reservation. We went back to the reception area and they were very accomodating. We were moved to the 4th floor, as far as possible from the road noise and the elevator. It made for a quiet stay. To get a room facing the bay, you had to prepay when making the reservation. Breakfast was good, with a decent selection.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: 4th floor-away from road and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had 3 rooms for 9 of us for a one night pre-cruise stay.

This hotel was a perfect choice for us. We had driven that day from Dallas to Galveston, with a stop at the Space Center on the way. We were tired and hungry when we arrived in the early evening. The front desk check in was efficient, nice and friendly.

Our rooms were all 3 in a row on the second floor. We had rooms overlooking the bay and we could see the holiday lights at Moody Gardens.

I read some reviews about the rooms being small. I actually thought they were roomy. In 2 of the rooms, we had two people each in King beds. The other room had 5 people with 2 double beds (My sister and BIL, My BIL's mom and my niece, and my nephew who slept on the pull out couch). There was enough room for the 5 without feeling too cramped. Obviously, if we were staying for more than a night we would have had an additional room, but for one night it was just fine.

There was enough room that 6 of us sat and watched football in one of the "living areas". Not to bad. The bathroom is small, but efficient. The vanity area is outside of the bathroom, which I prefer and it makes it easier for a family to get ready in the morning.

The beds were very comfortable with plenty of pillows.

The balconies were large and sunset was very nice to watch in the evening.

The breakfast in the morning was good as well, and they have the make your own waffle station which I always enjoy.

Obviously, this is not a resort or full service hotel so if that is what your expectation is, you either need to stay somewhere else or adjust those expectations. I thought the hotel was clean, safe, and just what we needed for the pre-cruise night.

We did go out to eat for dinner and I found the location easy to drive around the island. The cruise morning we were about 5-10 minutes away from the cruise terminal parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Address: 6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Galveston Island 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Galveston Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.