We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Galveston Island to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Ingram, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were a little concerned about this property after reading some dismal reviews. My sister's family stayed there in Oct, 2012 and reassured us that it was more than acceptable.
We arrived on a Saturday in anticipation of our cruise leaving on Sunday afternoon. Check-in was smooth, however upon arriving at our room, found we were close to the freeway AND next to the elevator-two things we specifically mentioned in our reservation. We went back to the reception area and they were very accomodating. We were moved to the 4th floor, as far as possible from the road noise and the elevator. It made for a quiet stay. To get a room facing the bay, you had to prepay when making the reservation. Breakfast was good, with a decent selection.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: 4th floor-away from road and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had 3 rooms for 9 of us for a one night pre-cruise stay.

This hotel was a perfect choice for us. We had driven that day from Dallas to Galveston, with a stop at the Space Center on the way. We were tired and hungry when we arrived in the early evening. The front desk check in was efficient, nice and friendly.

Our rooms were all 3 in a row on the second floor. We had rooms overlooking the bay and we could see the holiday lights at Moody Gardens.

I read some reviews about the rooms being small. I actually thought they were roomy. In 2 of the rooms, we had two people each in King beds. The other room had 5 people with 2 double beds (My sister and BIL, My BIL's mom and my niece, and my nephew who slept on the pull out couch). There was enough room for the 5 without feeling too cramped. Obviously, if we were staying for more than a night we would have had an additional room, but for one night it was just fine.

There was enough room that 6 of us sat and watched football in one of the "living areas". Not to bad. The bathroom is small, but efficient. The vanity area is outside of the bathroom, which I prefer and it makes it easier for a family to get ready in the morning.

The beds were very comfortable with plenty of pillows.

The balconies were large and sunset was very nice to watch in the evening.

The breakfast in the morning was good as well, and they have the make your own waffle station which I always enjoy.

Obviously, this is not a resort or full service hotel so if that is what your expectation is, you either need to stay somewhere else or adjust those expectations. I thought the hotel was clean, safe, and just what we needed for the pre-cruise night.

We did go out to eat for dinner and I found the location easy to drive around the island. The cruise morning we were about 5-10 minutes away from the cruise terminal parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reney313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked this hotel knowing that it is not close to the beach; but we just needed a place to stay for one night. I was very pleasantly surprised.

When we arrived Mya (at the front desk) was so nice and helpful. She asked if we had plans for the next day and was glad to make suggestions for family friendly attractions. She even gave me the schedule of events for the island that she had printed for herself!

Despite being a tad small, the room was beautiful. All of the furniture, fixtures, and paint looked brand new. Everything was clean. The bed was soft and comfy (my husband may beg to differ since he likes a more firm mattress). We could see the bay from our room but also had a transformer right outside our window. This really didn't matter to us since we were just there for the night.

We were able to take advantage of the heated indoor pool and spa. It was a great way to relax after a long drive. We were lucky enough to be the only ones in the room.

The (hot) breakfast the next morning was well stocked and delicious. No complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccibarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night and was totally disappointed. I'm willing to pay extra for quality but my stays at Marriott hotels made my stay feel like I was in a motel. Noisy air conditioner . No view despite the fact that they advertise bay view . Take my word for it book another hotel and save your self the hassle. U might think are saving $20-50 but you end up paying in aggravation and waste of time trying to correct the outdated rooms and poor service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Av8travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

It may not be close to the beach but it was perfect for the weekend we were there. Spent the weekend in town for a wedding and it was a great experience. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. My only complaint was the "fitness center" only had two threadmills and a stairmaster. We also had a wheelchair accessible room and it was great. The space available was roomy and the bathroom was huge. My only complaint about the accessible room was that the set up of the batheroom was awkward. It needed a towel rack near the roll in shower and it also could have been better if it had a bench in the shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have stayed at Springhill Suites a few times before and have found them to be an excellent choice when travelling with family. This one is starting to look run down. The ceiling in the bathroom is peeling, the sofas are all worn out, the air conditioner in the room is very noisy and the suite is not as spacious as it is at other properties. I was dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssharonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Here for a one night stay precruise. Arrived at 130pm but check in is not until 3, very pleasant front desk staff, made suggestions on some things to do while we wait. Headed out for a few hours, upon return there is a small art show with appetizers in lobby. We have a balcony room on fourth floor, room 412, small but usable living area with small sleeper sofa and chair, desk with wobbly chair, kitchenette area with cube fridge (watch out its frozen) and microwave. Half wall hides the sleeping area with small closet and sink area outside the toilet and tub/shower combo. Basic toiletries which seem half filled (?) bar soap (yuck) and thin, long towels. Everything very clean but worn, in good working order. Shower has hot water and is a full sized tub, shower curtain fresh and clean.
We have a balcony which overlooks the parking lot but further is the bay and moody garden pyramids. Only one chair but nice to sit out and see sunset. Beds have double pillows and duvets but are fairly hard. Walls are thin and you can hear road noise from the freeway but it is muted through the glass door.
Staff is very friendly and lobby has a fireplace, comfy chairs and tables for the included breakfast which consists of eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, fruit, yogurt, bagels and muffins, coffee, tea, juice and oatmeal. Also a mini store area, small indoor pool/hot tub and tiny workout room with two treadmills and a elliptical. Parking lot is small and it is on a one way street, but easy to get to once you figure out the back way in.
All in all a decent overnight stay and earns us Marriott points but I would look elsewhere if I were staying any longer to enjoy the island at the price we paid. Also, as others have stated, not near the beach but convenient enough if this doesn't matter.

Room Tip: Get a balcony facing the bay, less road noise and pretty sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#13 of 49 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Address: 6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing