We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting to show wear and tear” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Galveston Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Starting to show wear and tear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have stayed at Springhill Suites a few times before and have found them to be an excellent choice when travelling with family. This one is starting to look run down. The ceiling in the bathroom is peeling, the sofas are all worn out, the air conditioner in the room is very noisy and the suite is not as spacious as it is at other properties. I was dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    55
    18
    4
    13
See reviews for
58
31
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Here for a one night stay precruise. Arrived at 130pm but check in is not until 3, very pleasant front desk staff, made suggestions on some things to do while we wait. Headed out for a few hours, upon return there is a small art show with appetizers in lobby. We have a balcony room on fourth floor, room 412, small but usable living area with small sleeper sofa and chair, desk with wobbly chair, kitchenette area with cube fridge (watch out its frozen) and microwave. Half wall hides the sleeping area with small closet and sink area outside the toilet and tub/shower combo. Basic toiletries which seem half filled (?) bar soap (yuck) and thin, long towels. Everything very clean but worn, in good working order. Shower has hot water and is a full sized tub, shower curtain fresh and clean.
We have a balcony which overlooks the parking lot but further is the bay and moody garden pyramids. Only one chair but nice to sit out and see sunset. Beds have double pillows and duvets but are fairly hard. Walls are thin and you can hear road noise from the freeway but it is muted through the glass door.
Staff is very friendly and lobby has a fireplace, comfy chairs and tables for the included breakfast which consists of eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, fruit, yogurt, bagels and muffins, coffee, tea, juice and oatmeal. Also a mini store area, small indoor pool/hot tub and tiny workout room with two treadmills and a elliptical. Parking lot is small and it is on a one way street, but easy to get to once you figure out the back way in.
All in all a decent overnight stay and earns us Marriott points but I would look elsewhere if I were staying any longer to enjoy the island at the price we paid. Also, as others have stated, not near the beach but convenient enough if this doesn't matter.

Room Tip: Get a balcony facing the bay, less road noise and pretty sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
1,677 reviews 1,677 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 331 cities Reviews in 331 cities
699 helpful votes 699 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is not that close to the beach area. Our check out was in order. There are nicer hotels in the area however there are also many older hotels in the area that may not compare with this one. If you decide to stay here be prepared to deal with a lot of children. The days we stayed definitely were not good for businessmen.
The Springhill Suites in Galveston, TX is certainly not a five star location. It is worthy though of 3 ½ stars due to the following. The hotel is not on the beach and is in rather hard to get to from the freeway. Entering the hotel parking lot should be done from the side street at the hotel and not from the street directly in the parking lot as the drive is badly designed and many cars will drag the bottom when trying to get into the parking lot. The parking lot itself is poorly designed more than likely due to the small amount of space this hotel sits on. Be sure and set your handbrake as many parking specs are highly slanted. The hotel is about 4 years old. The check in was a pleased as the staff was professional , friendly and courteous. My reservations were accurate and I was given a room key very quickly. The lobby was clean as was the dining room area. I was offered a “happy hour” bag or popcorn and cup of punch. Not mush I would have to confess however it’s the thought. There was no “happy hour” on Saturday or Sunday.
The elevator is horribly slow so don’t get in a rush. We were on the fourth floor thus there was no option other than the elevator. Passed the indoor swimming pool which we found a little cloudy however since we don’t plan to use I won’t complain. The fitness room is rather small and has three pieces of equipment in it. Don’t count on an extensive work out.
Our room (401) was nice however small. Just appears this hotel was really designed to be hotel room rather than suites. The mattress was very soft and some people .like this---we don’t. Towels were cotton and polyester and I mention this because that combination usually means cheaper products and these were thin and small cut towels. The bathroom amenities are bottom of the line.
In the bathroom the shower curtain rod had been replaced and whoever replaced the rod just left the old holds visible thus you have a not so nice view of the shower curtain rod plus the old holds that did not match the holes for the new rod. In the bedroom part of the room the closet door had been replaced and there were the old holes left exposed when the new door was installed. The new door is one cheapo door make of lightweight pine and very unsteady. It also was raw wood and had not been painted. With daily use that door will not last long.
The internet connection worked well. The carpet was clean and did not have stains or dirt on it although there was a section in front of the refrigerator that had a small tear in it. The furniture appears to be about four years old and does reflect some sue however not too badly.
The breakfast is the usual food you will find at most Springhill Suites. The only issue was the quality of food and the cleanliness of the dining area on Saturday and Sunday. On Monday there was a remarkable improvement as the area was wells stocked and the area was very clean. The two employees in that area the first tow days had little initiative to keep the food replenished or to clean the tables. We were there for three breakfasts and on one day we saw a guest cleaning off tables in order to have a place to sit as the staff was no where to be found. They made little effort to keep the food area tidy and stocked. This was totally different on Monday as the one employee kept the area clean and the food well stocked. The only difference in the food among the three days as the last day the eggs were scrambled while on the first tow days the eggs had been cooked in a round ring of some sort resulting in think rounds of eggs.

Room Tip: Stay on the front side for a view. Be prepared for lots of kids in the pool, the breakfast area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Very clean hotel with very nice spacious rooms that have very spacious bathroom. Definitely would recommend. Very close to beach and moody gardens and water park. Room has view of bay.staff very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was a pre cruise night. I am a silver elite rewards member with Marriott and they normally honor all of my requests. However my request for an early check in at this hotel was not. I acknowledge that a 10:00 a.m. arrival is very early but when I asked the pleasant girl at the front desk about my request she replied that the hotel was full the night prior and we would not have a room until 3:00 pm. I do understand that sometimes it is not possible but feel that since we were the only ones sitting in the lobby waiting for a room that the first available room should have been offered. We had a relative come to drive us around to see Galveston and upon our return at 10 minutes until 3:00 were still told that the room would be ready at 3:00. This is not the kind of service I have come to expect from Marriott properties. The room was spacious and clean with a nice view over the bay towards Moody Gardens (pyramid shaped buildings). The air conditioning made a loud noise and vibration which we could feel as we tried to sleep but we were told this is the central duct for all rooms and nothing could be done. The bed was not as comfortable as I am used to at a Marriott either so it was not a restful night. If you're visiting Galveston and arrive as we did without a car then there is really no way to get around and see the tourist areas and/or the beach. We were told different distances to the beach from 12 blocks from another guest to 3 miles from the front desk clerk. It was very hot and humid and there is really not a sidewalk that runs all the way. So we ended up walking to find a place for dinner and ended up at Boudreaux on the Bayou. The walk there was along a very busy road with large areas of no sidewalk so not really a nice walk but Bouldreaux had a great view of the bay (towards the Springhill suites) with $2.00 margaritas and lots of beer specials. We tried the calamari for an appetizer which was very good and enjoyed the water view. This hotel does not offer a shuttle to the cruise port but we did take a taxi which cost $13.00 from here. The breakfast was nice as there isn't really any restaurants nearby. If I had a choice I would not stay here again due to the distance to the tourist areas of Galveston and lack of transportation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay to avoid the road noise from I45 which is very close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas area
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here just one night for a last minute visit to Galveston. It was for a Saturday night so there wasn't much of anything else available on the island. I got this one through Orbitz. It was nice. There are a few rooms on the front with a nice view of the bay but we didn't book one of these - just a standard king size room. It's pretty standard but clean, cold (important in Texas in August) and comfortable. There's a great indoor pool that you can see from the lobby when you check in. We didn't use it but the kiddos in there were having a blast. Good breakfast ... waffles, sausage, eggs, muffins, cereal, etc. Courteous, friendly front desk staff. This is located on the bay side of the island ... nowhere near the beach. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights- stay was ok. Breakfast was the same every morning- sausage, scrambled eggs, waffles, oatmeal, donuts,fruit and yogurt. It's nice when hotels switch the meats every other day, etc. Also breakfast ends @9:30, and they mean it. 2 ladies are waiting to put everything on a cart immediately @9:30, literally moving amongst people making waffles & getting breakfast. I understand that it ends @9:30, but how about letting those people already there finish? Also, there's not enough room in the breakfast area for all the families @ breakfast. Property is right off the highway, as it turns into Broadway- before 61st street. Within 10 minute drive to the piers, seawall, moody gardens, etc. The windows were thin,& heard some highway noise. Thankfully the a/c didn't cycle, the fan stayed on all night to help drown out sound. TV doesn't have any children's channels at all. Tried to get extra towels, said we would be charged extra unless we turned in the dirty ones. No problem, so as I left the front desk to retrieve the towels, she stated maintenance would bring them up. Over an hour later- no towels. Same issue w/a laundry bag. Maybe there's a theft issue here? When I stay at a property for multiple days & don't have housekeeping clean the room or change the sheets, I figure I'm saving them $$. We had a king room w/ pullout sofa. Room was average size until the sofa is extended, then it gets cramped. There's also a wetbar area w/ sink, microwave, mini fridge. Indoor pool & hot tub. Pool is small but ok. Overall an ok stay, but lacking in customer service skills.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Address: 6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Galveston Island 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Galveston Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.