We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, uncomfortable comforter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6431 Central City Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good stay, uncomfortable comforter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I love Hampton. They are clean, a good value and typically consistent. I stay at them almost exclusively when traveling, but 2 of my stays have had ruined and very uncomfortable comforters. This on is included in those 2. The comforter on the bed had been laundered. Typically Hampton uses duvets which can be washed. This Hampton seems to have washed the comforter itself. The problem with laundering the comforter itself is that it ruins the stuffing in each box -- bunching it into a ball and making it terribly uncomfortable. That being said, the bed itself and the pillows provided were very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    86
    44
    26
    29
See reviews for
159
85
7
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 2 months on buisness. The lady at the front desk (Toye) was absolutely awesome! If I ever have to come back it will be because of her. She is the most friendly down to earth woman I've met. It was because of her I had a great stay. I did have to request a room change once because of children not being controlled by their parents at 1030 at night but other than that it was great. Comfortable beds great showers and even the cleaning staff left me exactly what I asked for (more coffee)! Good breakfast. The seaweed was overwhelming but I wasn't on vacation so it was no big deal for me. Defiantly would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The toilet in our room wouldn't stop running. When maintenance finally showed up without even any tools or parts, he claimed he fixed it. Nope. Made it worse. Loud repetitive noise that never stopped. The woman at the front desk told us maintenance said they fixed it so if we weren't happy we could get out. She never offered to move us to another room or even hotel. She was beyond rude and was threatening. We left and drove almost an hour away after midnight to stay elsewhere. This hotel is not worth the money. Absolutely horrendous.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandhampton, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality.

I am hoping to get an opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay and do hope to hear from you soon. I am sorry for the experience you had and ask that you please either email or call me at my contact information below. Your opinions are important to us.

Kind regards,
Shamsah Mukhida
409-744-5600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We checked into our room a bit after 3. We got a room with balcony and the room feels very small... crowded. We can see the gulf but mostly the WalMart. The beach is unusable due to the high amount of seaweed so we thought we would try the pool. There are chunks if plaster missing and a cover missing to a jet or drain on the steps into the pool. The water level was way too high for the scimmer baskets to be effective. Came back to take a shower before dinner and the shower head and water pressure are horrible. We have been waiting for almost 45 minutes for someone to come and fix the toilet. It's been running for the last hour. I've been removing the tank lid and fixing it all afternoon but for $309 a night I shouldn't have to!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Nice, Clean Rooms, Friendly Helpful Staff, Not on the beach but a Great location, Close to everything. Breakfast was amazing for a Hotel breakfast !! Very Comfortable place to stay up to date and modern Hotel.

Room Tip: Higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I tend to stay at Hampton Inns when we travel. This one was one of the friendliest locations we have experienced. The room was nice and clean but didn't have a great view. It is located an easy walk to the pier, restaurants and shopping. The staff made our stay enjoyable with fine southern hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I know that I Can depend on Hampton to provide a variety of breakfast foods and an attractive place to enjoy it. I will continue to search for Hampton accommodations in future travel plans. I asked for a newspaper. Reply: We don't get it on Sunday. I know it costs more on Sunday, but it is a "natural" when having breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Address: 6431 Central City Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Family Hotel in Galveston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston hotel is right by the Galveston Seawall, Moody Gardens, the beach, and historic sites. The hotel offers a free full hot breakfast every day, free high-speed internet and Wi-Fi, outdoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center, and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Galveston
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.