We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Clean, Spacious Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6431 Central City Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #13 of 49 hotels in Galveston
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean, Spacious Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel looks like it has just been remodeled. The room was spacious, clean, and had a kitchenette with a mini fridge, microwave, and sink. It is located near 61st street and a block north of the seawall, which is a convenient location to everything. It is approximately 10/15 minutes driving distance from The Strand. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. There is some covered parking under the hotel with more outside parking. There is not an off season for Galveston Hotels because of the cruise ships that depart from there so this was a moderately priced option for a weekend getaway. We were with 6 other couples and everyone was pleased with the hotel. There is a nice aquarium in the lobby/breakfast area.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with a balcony and a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    76
    38
    24
    27
See reviews for
135
70
7
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a great hotel! I called before arriving and spoke with Pamela, she is outstanding! Upon arriving, I found that I needed to go to Walmart, how easy...it's right across the street. Our rooms were wonderful. And while we had a few minor issues, the staff handled them amazingly. The young lady who worked the Saturday evening of our stay, I forget her name, was so caring and concerned about our needs. We will refer all of our friends to this location and be back ourselfs...Amazing hotel and employees!

Room Tip: Don't unload your bags at the front, get your room keys and use the elevator in the parking gara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times before cruising......Always feel at home. The Front desk personnel was very nice and helpful. All the staff was very friendly. We had a very nice room on the first floor. Large room with balcony. Nice breakfast. Close to the beach for a nice walk. We look forward to returning to this hotel again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed for a week, PROS it is very clean and well maintained, easy parking and free breakfast. The breakfast is not very interesting for Vegetarians, not much of options. Cons Very, Very slow internet connection, Video's are playing very slow or not opening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel, great rooms and quiet. Cheaper than surrounding hotels and worth every penny. We stayed at the Holiday Inn last night but had to check-out do to noise. There is no comparison as far as accommodations. You can never go wrong with Hampton!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Sailed out of Port of Galveston, so we arrived the night before (late) and received a very warm reception. We reserved 2 rooms, so we appreciate that they were next to each other and overlooking the beachside of the property. Rooms were large; bathroom also spacious with a high showerhead and good water pressure. Sonic and WalMart are across the street for late night dining and last minute items. We did a morning walk along the waterfront (didn't walk all the way to the Pleasure Pier amusement park, however) - very clean and well-maintained beach area. Morning breakfast was standard Hampton-style (scrambled eggs, waffle maker, cereals, breads, and yogurt), with Hampton folks constantly refilling or cleaning the tables. There was an hourly shuttle service that does a pickup from Hampton to the cruise port (other side of the island) for $6 per person - service was very prompt.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room that overlooks the Sonic (beyond that is the beach)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here Wednesday and Thursday nights in April was very clean nice as the Hampton's usually are its near the beach and has a great pool and breakfast. Only minor thing I would advise is the suites are not separate like Embassy more like a larger nice room but again no complaints because we had more than enough room and everything was nice and clean. We are also renting out 8 rooms in August for a family get together so we will be back and possibly often. 8)
Also I love there coffee!!

Room Tip: I do not really have a preference on rooms and would read other reviews to decide which room meets y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Address: 6431 Central City Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#9 Business Hotel in Galveston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston hotel is right by the Galveston Seawall, Moody Gardens, the beach, and historic sites. The hotel offers a free full hot breakfast every day, free high-speed internet and Wi-Fi, outdoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center, and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn And Suites Galveston
Hampton Inn Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.