We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton at the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6431 Central City Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay, and Go
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hampton at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hampton is very near the beach and the seawall, having that location, there are tons of restaurants and shopping nearby. The rooms were great and the staff was wonderful. The majority of hotels nearby were much higher price, it was nice to get the location & Hampton ammenties without paying the full beach price. I was there for work so the hotel was a convenient, nice perk. Would stay again if I were in the area. The walmart is across the street and there were several places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    113
    59
    30
    31
See reviews for
195
102
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

i think i have very good luck to finding hotels, this time i stayed at this hotel and it was wonderful surprise, brand new look with wonderful staff, breakfast is like buffet what to eat and what to leave, very wide variety, front desk staff is very helpful, we stayed there for 3 days and every morning there was a lady at the front desk(i think she was the head of the staff) very helpful and always greet us with smile and she gave us some ideas about transportation to the airport and saved us whole lot of money, over all the hotel is very tidy and clean, managment deserve a huge compliment.

Room Tip: ask them to give you room on higher floor and facing walmart side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

During the Thanksgiving Day holidays, we were fortunate to stay at this Hampton Inn. The hotel looks like it has recently been renovated. The common rooms were decorated very nicely. The front desk staff and housekeeping were very friendly and were always trying to help. We stayed in a king studio suite with a balcony on the fifth floor. The room was very comfortable and clean.
The studio suite had a bar area which included a mini fridge, microwave, sink and coffee maker.
The french doors opened onto the balcony. From the balcony, you could see the ocean. There is a Walmart directly in front of the hotel. Therefore, you are looking across the parking lot to see the ocean. There is a flat screen television with an extended cable lineup. This is not a beach front hotel. It is approximately one block from the beach. Walking from the driveway of the hotel to the ocean takes about 3 minutes. One side of the hotel has balconies. The other side has windows. You can see the ocean from the upper floors on that side. The rooms on the side that have no balcony will have less road noise. Parking is safe. You can either park underneath the hotel or in the lot behind the hotel which is fenced. The breakfast in the morning is the standard Hampton Inn breakfast. It was well stocked and offered a nice selection. For families with children, there is a McDonalds in the Walmart across the street. There are a few restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is centrally located and close to Moody Gardens. When visiting Galveston again, I would definitely stay at this hotel. I have included two photos from our balcony room on the fifth floor. One at night and the other during the day looking out at the ocean.

Room Tip: The upper floors have a better view of the ocean. The rooms on the side that have no balcony will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Perfect place to stay overnight. You could walk to both the beach and Walmart. You could walk to everything on the Seawall, which makes it a great location. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. The breakfast area was quite spacious, and not missing one thing. It was immaculately clean and every single thing was in its place - you couldn't find a crumb anywhere! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the parking lot side - you will avoid the view of Walmart, and be able to see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Not a beach front property, but conveniently located to everything on the Seawall. It is across the street from Wal-Mart, so that's your view on one side. We stayed on the opposite side and had a nice view of Galvelston and the ocean. The breakfast area is quite large and immaculately clean. The offerings were plentiful and every detail was thought of. The hotel is in the process of renovations, and the new stuff looks great. The hotel was a good value and I liked the underground parking garage.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

we to see a relation, ended up staying the night, I would come again, in fact thinking of booking, Hotel , in August of next year , and bringing family, so will give report then. friend said was really great value for money, enjoyed he breakfast. saunders family

Room Tip: will tell you in august, I will be the secret traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Converse, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have stayed here twice in the past few months. The front desk is always helpful and friendly.
The brkfst area is large,clean and airy and the food plentiful.
Walmart is across the street.
The rooms are clean and fresh. The flatscreen tv's great. We love the microwave and mini refrig in the room.
The underground parking lot does fill up fast and we had to park outside on several occasions. But really no big deal. We didn't use the pool but saw many enjoying themselves.
Would def recommend. Have stayed in many hotels on the Seawall and this rates up with the Hilton for room quality in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#10 of 49 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Address: 6431 Central City Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston hotel is right by the Galveston Seawall, Moody Gardens, the beach, and historic sites. The hotel offers a free full hot breakfast every day, free high-speed internet and Wi-Fi, outdoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center, and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn And Suites Galveston
Hampton Inn Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.