We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfy Room..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6431 Central City Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Converse, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfy Room..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have stayed here twice in the past few months. The front desk is always helpful and friendly.
The brkfst area is large,clean and airy and the food plentiful.
Walmart is across the street.
The rooms are clean and fresh. The flatscreen tv's great. We love the microwave and mini refrig in the room.
The underground parking lot does fill up fast and we had to park outside on several occasions. But really no big deal. We didn't use the pool but saw many enjoying themselves.
Would def recommend. Have stayed in many hotels on the Seawall and this rates up with the Hilton for room quality in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    79
    43
    24
    27
See reviews for
147
77
7
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sealy, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean and the staff was accommodating. The people above us were very very loud, which is not the hotels fault, but when I called to say something to the front desk because it was 2am.... They weren't very helpful. The price is very very ridiculous. $300 for one night with tax and everything for a regular room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice hotel, very clean, beds are comfortable, breakfast is good, a little diferent every day.
not so good that the hotel don`t have ocean front rooms and a little to far from all the fun. is across from Wallmart.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I was disappointed in the cleanliness of this hotel. The hallways needed to be vacumned. The pool area was awful....The tiles all around the pools were loose and broken. If you weren't careful then you would cut your feet. The pool loungers were old and not comfortable. I didn't like that ANYONE could get into the pool area and there were many people in it that were obviously NOT hotel guests. So disappointing. I would not stay here again...

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGalveston, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland,Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

the hotel is nice from the outside and when you walk in and the staff is nice as well but when we went to our room we went on the balcony and our view was the top of the parking cover of the entrance of the hotel which was covered with beer bottles and 2 white hand towels from the room. We went ahead and went to eat and when returning asked if we could get another room to be told all rooms were booked. When i told the manager about the bottles and towels I was told she had informed her maintenance team previously and they have to have a special machine to get up there. REALLY??? if you have had complaints then looks like you would take care of the problem. We also had a stool in the room with a big burn mark on it. The balcony doors where also broke when we tried to go in and out. While sleeping a storm came through and I woke up to see the doors wide open. I informed the front desk when we were leaving and she said you have to close the handles a certain way for them to lock(even tho there was a lock on the door and noone bothered to inform us of this). As if that isnt enough.... the pool was so pretty and tiled but evidentially isnt cleaned daily. there were old cig butts and cigar butts everywhere (NASTY) We usually stay on the seawall but because we were using our reward points this was the only hotel available when i went on to reserve. We wont stay here again sorry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGalveston, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of our pool and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. We also apologize that your door kept opening, we know that it disrupted your stay and we can’t feel badly enough about that. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.

Neel Shah, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotet was awesome. The free breakfast was great. The tv had lots of channels and lots of HBO channels. Room was a little small but ask for a balcony. Pool was clean and the hot tub was hot. The hotel was just a small walk to the beach but still in all the action. Walmart is across the street if you forget anything.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our stay far exceeded our expectations after reading several less than flattering reviews. Our two king suites was huge and clean. Comfy bed, cold AC. Friendly, helpful staff, good breakfast, covered parking. Hotel full, still had empty parking spaces. Great place for the money!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Address: 6431 Central City Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston hotel is right by the Galveston Seawall, Moody Gardens, the beach, and historic sites. The hotel offers a free full hot breakfast every day, free high-speed internet and Wi-Fi, outdoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center, and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Galveston
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.