We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6431 Central City Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay, and Go
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
plano, tx
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Plenty of parking. Check-in was easy. Elevators and hallways not air conditioned and quite warm. Rooms were comfortable. Beds were comfortable. Quiet. Complimentary breakfast buffet in the mornings. Usual fare...bagels, fruit, cereals, eggs, bacon/sausage and make your own waffles.

Room Tip: higher floors have better view of the gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    113
    60
    30
    32
See reviews for
198
103
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
120 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our family was happy with this hotel overall. The location is very good -- a short walk to the beach, and right across from a Wal-Mart. There is some covered parking under the hotel, which was nice during the heat of the day. Our room seemed smaller than the average hotel room, and as others have said -- that made it seem crowded with furniture. But it had a nice balcony with a partial view of the ocean. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable -- however we did wish the A/C worked a little better (our room faced West, and the A/C couldn't quite keep up). The free breakfast was typical for Hampton (better than most hotels in this price range), and very busy -- so it was nice that the staff opened the meeting room for additional seating. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the West side have a partial ocean view, but will be much warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This Hampton Inn is located one block off of Seawall. If you request a room facing west on the top floor, you can view the beach and sunsets! You are not facing directly towards the gulf, but you can see down the beaches (westward) just fine. What's nice about this location is that you are OFF OF SEAWALL that is constantly congested with traffic. Don't waste your money on a hotel on Seawall unless the smell of car fumes and noise from car boom boxes doesn't bother you. The Hampton room interiors need some updating, but the beds are very comfortable and the staff is very helpful. Wal-mart is just across the street and the rooms have refrigerators so that you can store your food for and save you $$$. Rent bikes for your trips around the area (especially on seawall) because parking is nearly impossible and you'll spend too much time sitting in traffic to go a short distance. The Hotel will allow you to store the bikes. I would certainly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, request a top floor, facing west
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My stay at this Hampton Inn was average at best. I didn't have a bad experience but didn't have that "wow" experience either. The room was so full of furniture all around the room that there was no space at all in between the beds, tables, chairs, tv, fridge, etc. and it felt very closed-in and suffocating unless the balcony drapes were open. The room was nice and clean and the air-conditioning worked extremely well. The breakfast was good with a waffle station, bagels, muffins, toast, eggs, sausage, fruit, juices, milk, cereals, and coffee. The manager on duty, who is the one who checked me in, was not as friendly as most other Hampton employees I have encountered. The location is good if you plan to stay on the West end of the Island but if you plan to go to the East end where the new Pier is plan to spend at least 30-45 minutes in traffic during the summer. I used reward points to pay for my stay but in my opinion, this hotel is way over-priced and I would not pay the normal room rate to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The elevators and hallways were not air conditioned and very hot. The rooms that state "queen size" beds are "full" size beds. Rooms have unnecessary furniture making it crowded. Rooms are overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
We apologize for the quality of services you received during your recent stay, and we appreciate the feedback about the arrangement of the guest rooms. I would also like to assure you, all of our rooms with two beds are queen size beds. We have reported the malfunctioning of the air conditioning to our maintenance team. We will resolve the issue with our maintenance team and hope you will consider staying with us at again the next time you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Nice and clean, easy check in and out. It is across from Walmart, but for us that didn't matter. I asked about "feathers" and stated I had requested "no feathers" on my reservation. The front desk lady said they did not receive that information and said she would immediately send housekeeping to change the comforter and pillows. He arrived about 5 minutes after we got into the room and changed the comforter and feather pillows, with no problem. Nice parking under the hotel. Not many spaces there, but we arrived back both evenings before it filled up. Overflow is behind the parking garage on the same level. Only one complaint. They had some kind of energy sensor thermostat. I noticed the temperature seemed to go up when there was no movement in the room. Once we moved around, the temp started back down and the ac started blowing again. But we were never to hot. Excellent bedding with nice pillow top mattress.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I am not a fan of Galveston - being from California - I know what a beach should look like, but my family went to Galveston for Memorial weekend. The hotel is located right across from Wal-Mart which is VERY convenient if you leave something at home. It's also within walking distance of quiet a few restaurants etc.

There is an awful stink at the elevators leading to the parking garage. It smells like too much partying. A mixture of vomit and urine really is a turn-off.

Suprisingly, once we entered the hotel it was entirely different. The decor is very nice in the rooms and hallways.I was taken aback, due to the fact that I thought it was a hooker hotel by the smell downstairs. The pool area was also nice and clean and the water was perfect.

The breakfast was also decent. Plenty of food/table area. The hotel was packed so they did open up the conference room to accomodate everyone.

The only complaint I could have - would be - the sound proofing. You can hear every door that opens, being slammed shut. The people who stayed above us made so much noise, I had to call down the front desk and ask them to please go tell them to quiet down. Noise continued for about another hour though.

That just being inconsiderate neighbors, but all in all - the hotel was a good choice!

Room Tip: Request a high floor to avoid noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGalveston, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the bad smell in the elevators during your stay. It is great to hear that you did enjoy our guest rooms and breakfast area. We understand that travel is very important and try to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Neel Shah, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
0.2 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Address: 6431 Central City Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#7 Family Hotel in Galveston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston hotel is right by the Galveston Seawall, Moody Gardens, the beach, and historic sites. The hotel offers a free full hot breakfast every day, free high-speed internet and Wi-Fi, outdoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center, and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn And Suites Galveston
Hampton Inn Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.