We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by locals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltgrass Steak House

Saltgrass Steak House
1502 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
(409) 762-4261
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 263 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Recommended by locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

i went here on the recommendation of a couple of local people i encountered, Seamless service, probably one of the best values on the seawall, non pretentious place, excellent steaks, and the something called rattlers on the appetizer menu was wonderful, also had a seaside seat, we did go late so the dinner crowd was gone, made it even better, i had a great experience here and have zero complaints, i also do not remember my waiters name but he was very good.recommend this place to anyone staying on the seawall area in Galveston.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    88
    38
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenaha, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wanted tea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I cannot remember our waiter's name, but we just walked about 2 miles to the restaurant and waited for about half an hour to get tables, I was impatient and just wanted something to drink...TEA! He was very nice. We had a large group and we were all thirsty and hungry. We didn't realize that getting a table for dinner in this town took over an hour and a half. We kept walking down the strip trying to find somewhere to eat. Saltgrass had the shortest wait time, so we stayed to eat. Oh my!! It was so good. I had the chicken loredo. The tea was so good and the chicken was even better! Was worth the 2 mile track!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't move, ate too much deliciousness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

First of all, our waiter, Sheldon, was excellent! He was funny, attentive, helpful and very friendly. The food was amazing! The fried zucchini made us drool, the NY strip melted in my mouth and my husband asked me for a divorce so he could marry his steak. Sheldon had to roll us out of the booth because we were too full (and too lazy) to move. Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Steak House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A nice steak house with good service and a full bar. a wee bit on the expensive side. We enjoyed the steaks however, I guess we are spoiled since we can get better steaks for the same price here in Florida. After all Texas is known for it's beef. Right?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Iowa, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We decided to eat here as they offered a wide range menu, steak, seafood and more. We were not disappointed one bit. Food was very good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltgrass Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.