We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff makes this a special hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Galveston Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff makes this a special hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location for this hotel in Galveston but the helpful staff push this into 5-star status. Zack the concierge knew as much about Galveston and what was going on as any tourist guide and his recommendations of what to do and where to go were invaluable. The front office were helpful and friendly day and night. At the breakfast we thought the orange juice was a little off and they immediately took the canister away to check and change the juice . Asking for extra shampoo yielded 4 extra bottles of shampoo and conditioner! The carpets may just be a little worn from salt and sea but the beds were clean and comfortable and general housekeeping was good. We had a birthday for one of our family friends and they had balloons and a plate of the famous Doubletree chocolate chip cookies waiting for her in the hotel room when we got in late at night - a delightful surprise. Highly recommend for families.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    14
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
29
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The rooms were big and well decorated. Couldn't stress the location more: walking distance to the beach and if you wnt big breakfast, you can always stop by iHop accross the street. There's also a nice swimming pool inside.

Room Tip: Quiet floors, clean rooms, free wifi, great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I chose this hotel because I read where it had only been open for several months after a complete overhaul and was now a Doubletree. The first room we were in was not up to Hilton standards - the carpet was dirty in more than several spots. The second room was much better - kind of trendy decor - with even a better view - yet the gulf was really muddy looking this week. Really nice bathroom with thick towels, very comfy bed, cute fridge, coffee maker and balcony overlooking the pool and gulf. Good chocolate chip cookies upon checking in but I still don't understand why they charge $10 to park in an unsecured lot with signs posted everywhere that they are not responsible for damages or losses. Enjoyed seeing all the huge ships lined up along the horizon both during the day and lit up at night.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you so much for your post. And thank you for your ranking. We are on our carpet like crazy. Honestly we are hitting our rooms at twice the rate of any hotel I have worked at. The beach is relentless in this endeavor. But we love the beach! Not to show my age..... There have been a few....

We hope you get the opportunity to come back again soon this summer and enjoy the weather and hotel again soon!

Sincerely

Rick Galyean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just returned home after a couple of nights at the DoubleTree. As a Hilton Honors Member, always enjoy the Hilton properties and this trip paid less for the room and used some of my points. The room's balcony faced the ocean, decent breakfast buffet and comfortable, informal pool bar with decent food. Good location and staff all very pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room with full balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your post! We love all of our guests but especially our loyal Honors members! With all the benefits you receive as a loyal Hilton traveler everyone should sign up! I am glad you got to use your points at our hotel! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely

Rick Galyean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If you want a relaxing weekend getaway by the beach with all the amenities and never have to leave the area this is a great place to stay! It has everything you could possible need with a great view of the ocean and beach.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for posting your comments here regarding your recent stay! We do have pretty much all you need right here. Don't get me wrong there is a lot of fun things to do on the island but if you just want to kick back and have a good time you need go no further!

Come back soon

Rick Galyean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel with retro fridge and fixtures in the rooms, comfy bed, wonderful breakfast buffet in the hotel and nice pool bar. We had a balcony overlooking the ocean and pool bar. Bands nightly at the pool bar. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thanks for the Great review of the hotel. Its going to be a good summer so I hope you can find the time to come back soon!

Sincerely

Rick Galyean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Augustine, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was very pleased with everything at this hotel !!! Will be staying here again soon. The staff were so helpful with anything we needed !! The view was great !!! We had the Beach view room on the 5th floor Loved it !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 6 days ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay! You were in one of our premium rooms. The views from the top are spectacular. Not many hotels around here have what we have when it comes to those views! Cant wait to see you again!

Sincerely

Rick Galyean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach

Address: 1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Galveston Beach Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#9 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over looking the Gulf of Mexico, our hotel in Galveston, TX is located on Seawall Blvd, just 7 blocks down from Galveston Island's Historic Pleasure Pier. Most of our inviting guest rooms and suites feature a private balcony, offering full ocean views. Feel at home with complimentary WiFi, a mini-refrigerator, a luxurious Sweet Dreams(R) bed and a 42-inch flat-screen HDTV. Enjoy fresh seafood in Foxtail or relax with a glass of wine as you soak up the sunshine on the poolside patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.