We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Customer Services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Galveston Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“First Class Customer Services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our post cruise hotel. After a disappointing 7 day cruise spent with no luggage the staff at this hotel went all out to rescue our holiday. Although no fault of theirs they upgraded us on arrival and the service was second to none. A fine hotel in a wonderful location. From Joann in the gift shop to Kelly our Breakfast waitress and the hotel management thank you so much for your southern hospitality. Hope to return some day.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    10
    5
    7
    2
See reviews for
25
21
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idalou, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had problems with key to room, had to try several times before it would open and although the room was clean, the staff was great, it was too pricie for the type of room. We've paid less than that for other Hotels on trips and they were more roomie, had living area and more homie. Our stay at Port Isable at the lake house was by far the best experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We took my elderly parents down for a small vacation and the people at this hotel were the nicest I have had the pleasure of meeting. They we so helpful and understanding. This made the trip extra special.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I thought the remodel of the lobby was good, but the room was done in an expensive way, if you really look at it. This hotel remodel will not hold up for very long. I checked in online and was given a certain room, that I had chosen on a higher floor, so, we wouldn't be bothered by the noise from band at the bar. When we arrived, I was given a totally different room and it could not be changed by the front desk clerk. Bobby in the Foxtail restaurant really made our stay more enjoyable. He was by far the friendliest and most knowledgeable employee. I would have given the hotel a lower rating, if it wasn't for Bobby.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor away from bar to avoid the band noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your response. I am also thankful that you enjoyed your time spent with Bobby. He is an excellent associate. I apologize for you not getting the room you reserved on line and am curious as to how we can improve in regards to our room decor. Please feel free to email me at rick.galyean2@hilton.com or call me directly at 281-703-4188 on my cell. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely

Rick Galyean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is perfect! It is near Murdocks, Pleasure Pier, and the Hotel Galvez (for spa days or a nice dinner). Each room has a nice balcony with two chairs and a side table. It was not difficult to cross the street at all to get on the beach. The pool is well cared for and clean. The staff at this hotel are great! So friendly. There was even a special towel arrangement of two swans on my bed! I went by myself to recharge and it was the perfect experience. Definitely will be returning here!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We all are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! come back and see us soon its gong to be a great summer.

Sincerely

Rick Galyean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Excellent decor and furnishings. the rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable Great pool and bar. Great location. Great for business or leisure.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 6 days ago
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having you again as our guest!

Sincerely

Rick Galyean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a newly renovated (and I think re-branded) hotel in Galveston. We went down to the Island on a spur of the moment overnight trip. The property has some really interesting design colors and shapes. Our fridge looked like an orange carry-on piece of luggage!

The hotel is clean. The staff was friendly. My only complaint was that we booked a king room and when we got to our room it was two queens. A quick trip back to the desk solved that but I had booked on-line about 4 hours before we showed up and they were not full. Not sure what happened but the desk cleared it up quickly.

The hotel is in a good location relative to the main Galveston attractions. It is a short walk to Pleasure Pier and about a 10 minute car ride to the Strand. Moody Gardens is a bit farther away but nothing in Galveston is that far away from anything else.

The room was a nice size, the bed was comfy and the AC worked well (although a little noisy.) We'll go back. Galveston lacks 3-4 star hotels and this one qualifies in that range.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your comments! I am glad we were able to rectify your room type situation quickly and am sorry it wasn't ready upon your arrival as you requested. We are glad you stayed with us and look forward to your return!

Sincerely
Rick Galyean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach

Address: 1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Galveston Beach Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over looking the Gulf of Mexico, our hotel in Galveston, TX is located on Seawall Blvd, just 7 blocks down from Galveston Island's Historic Pleasure Pier. Most of our inviting guest rooms and suites feature a private balcony, offering full ocean views. Feel at home with complimentary WiFi, a mini-refrigerator, a luxurious Sweet Dreams(R) bed and a 42-inch flat-screen HDTV. Enjoy fresh seafood in Foxtail or relax with a glass of wine as you soak up the sunshine on the poolside patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.