We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant;y surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Galveston Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant;y surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a newly renovated (and I think re-branded) hotel in Galveston. We went down to the Island on a spur of the moment overnight trip. The property has some really interesting design colors and shapes. Our fridge looked like an orange carry-on piece of luggage!

The hotel is clean. The staff was friendly. My only complaint was that we booked a king room and when we got to our room it was two queens. A quick trip back to the desk solved that but I had booked on-line about 4 hours before we showed up and they were not full. Not sure what happened but the desk cleared it up quickly.

The hotel is in a good location relative to the main Galveston attractions. It is a short walk to Pleasure Pier and about a 10 minute car ride to the Strand. Moody Gardens is a bit farther away but nothing in Galveston is that far away from anything else.

The room was a nice size, the bed was comfy and the AC worked well (although a little noisy.) We'll go back. Galveston lacks 3-4 star hotels and this one qualifies in that range.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
18
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I try to always stay in a Hilton family property. On my recent trip, we stayed in this hotel. It was clean, comfortable, secure and great views. The staff was friendly and the room was very nice with a modern look and well appointed. The negatives: pillows, the elevator and front desk wasn't well trained - couldn't give basic directions. The positives: the bed, television, balcony, the view, parking, friendly staff, close proximity to fun things to do and the price wasn't horrible, especially for the location. Recommend and would give it five stars if the pillows weren't so horrible.

Room Tip: High floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, today
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a response and point out some areas we can improve. I am addressing the pillow situation insuring we have both firm and soft pillows available in each room. I apologize for our lack of knowledge of the area at the desk and I am reviewing this area with my team as well. Please contact me directly on your next visit! We hope to see you back with us.

Sincerely

Rick Galyean
281-703-4188
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Yes, this is a Doubletree so you are somewhat confused when you arrive because it will not be the posh exterior you are accustomed to seeing. Don't let first impressions fool you because the staff members are extremely courteous and helpful, the grounds are well kept and clean, and the rooms, although not quite as luxurious as one might expect, are very nice. Brandi, the young lady who checked us in went above and beyond to meet our requests and provide us with a quiet room on the top floor. The room was extremely clean upon our arrival and the bath had a nice large walk-in shower with a large vanity. The view from our balcony was awesome and we were so close to the oceanfront that we propped the door open so we could enjoy the sound of the waves. Will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your response! We cant wait to have you back as our guest here in Galveston! Brandi is a great team member and I am glad she made your stay even better. Thank you for mentioning my team!

Sincerely,

Rick Galyean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was newly renovated on the 5th floor. On entering there were dirty shoe prints on the tile floor from the entrance to the toilet. Toilet lid was up and had urine in it, hair was in the sink. The staff was accommodating and moved us to another room with the explanation that one of the remodeling workers must have used the bathroom. That was a scary thought to think they have access to the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for letting me know about your bathroom issue. This is obviously not acceptable. Your review says you stayed with us in January. I would like to speak with you if you don't mind in regards to your visit. I want to make it right and I truly want you back as our guest. Please feel free to call me on my cell phone. 281-703-4188

Sincerely,

Rick Galyean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 4 nights, and enjoyed the stay. Hotel staff was very helpful. Good food in the restaurant. Our room was on the 4th floor with an awesome view of the beach accross the street, Pleasure Pier, and the Gulf of Mexico.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 5 days ago
I am so happy you enjoyed the food, view and staff! Its very relaxing to sit on the balcony and listen to the waves crash on the beach. We hope you can come and visit us again this summer!

Sincerely,

Rick Galyean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great time staying at the Double Tree. We had a wonderful retro style room with a mini fridge that matched in decor. Our family had a great balcony view of the ocean. (It was nice just being across the street from the ocean.) The staff was friendly and helpful. It was very clean.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your comments about your stay! We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to having you back!

Sincerely,

Rick Galyean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meteghan River
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel staff was very friendly, nice and helpfull. This hotel was prearranged for me but I really liked the location and the staff very much. I was only there for one night but the reception staff made the point to call me by my name (Ms Aymar) when they saw me. The location close to the water was excellant and quite quiet for being close to the road.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Ms. Aymar,

Thank you for the kind words. The building is very nice but the people inside is what brings guest like you back. I hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely

Rick Galyean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach

Address: 1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Galveston Beach Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over looking the Gulf of Mexico, our hotel in Galveston, TX is located on Seawall Blvd, just 7 blocks down from Galveston Island's Historic Pleasure Pier. Most of our inviting guest rooms and suites feature a private balcony, offering full ocean views. Feel at home with complimentary WiFi, a mini-refrigerator, a luxurious Sweet Dreams(R) bed and a 42-inch flat-screen HDTV. Enjoy fresh seafood in Foxtail or relax with a glass of wine as you soak up the sunshine on the poolside patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.