We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Galveston Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Galveston Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
McKinney, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Galveston Beach Hotel twice. We are recent transplants from CA to TX and found ourselves jonesing for the Ocean. All the rooms have an ocean view and we found the staff pleasant. Paul Davis, who works at the Hotel, was so wonderful and attentive.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for your response! We are located right on the seawall! If you don't want to make that walk to nearby attractions we do offer a complimentary shuttle within five miles! Hope to see you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    17
    14
    19
See reviews for
34
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for five nights. Only half of the hotel was open, but our room was newly remodeled. The ocean view decks are nice, but the chairs are not very comfortable outside.

From this hotel, you can walk to pleasure pier and a lot of local shops and restaurants. You could probably walk to post office street, but it would be about a 20 minute walk.

The plans for the new renovation looks nice and our newly remodeled. Our room was significantly discounted, therefore we paid a minimal price for a very nice room in a great area.

Room Tip: You will want a room as high as possible to get the best view. Also, some of the rooms have a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for posting to Tripadvisor! Your comments are great information for or staff and all of our readers. We are almost complete and cant wait to raise the new flag!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmond, oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

This hotel is undergoing major renovation to become a part of the Hilton brand. Our room overlooked the Gulf (across the road). The carpet and all furnishings were brand new. Despite ongoing construction we enjoyed our stay and the staff was exceptionally helpful. They provided a parking place, for a small fee, and transportation to the cruise ship terminal. I would definitely stay here again. It is close to a wide variety of dining and entertainment venues. WIFI was free and very fast.

Room Tip: Ocean side is definitely better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2014
Thank you for your response! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our new rooms and hope you had a fantastic cruise as well! We hope to see you again when you can stay with us longer and enjoy the hotel and our amenities!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The hotel room was perfect (with the exception of no tub) but that's just a personal preference.
There was a lot of renovation happening so that was a bit noisy. Although it was too cool to swim the pool area was awesome. Hopefully this summer I can get back there to enjoy. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked like they faced the beach, try to get on the upper levels so you can enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2014
Wish we cold have had some warmer weather for you! New heaters were just installed in Long Boards and the pool will definitely be the place to relax and enjoy a beverage at our swim up bar. Make your reservations early for the spring and summer season! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

The hotel has good location, room was nice, no bathtub, shower only. Halls were raw, under construction, no carpet. Workers all over the place, one elevator. Check in was fast, staff friendly. The place was not that clean due to construction. I had a great view of the beach which is located directly across the street. The bottom line is that the hotel will be very nice once construction is complete

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to respond to Tripadvisor! We hope you enjoyed your time on the island and as you can see, we are diligently working on our transformation to a Brand! You got just a glimpse of exciting things coming soon! We will welcome you back with a warm cookie on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

The Galveston Beach Hotel is in the midst of a change of ownership and remodel. I was a guest there for a wedding and the room was sufficient. The staff was very friendly, and I did feel safe at all times. The view from their outdoor bar was beautiful. I believe once their renovations are complete this will be an excellent choice for a visitor to Galveston. Also the hotel is centrally located if you do not have access to a car during your stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2014
thank you so much for your review! We look forward to having you back as we will be completed in early 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Galveston Beach Hotel on November 7th and 8th, 2014. We really enjoyed our stay. We had stayed in the hotel before, when it was a Holiday Inn and had wondered about the hotel now that it was independent. We were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is undergoing renovation and will soon be a Doubletree property (completion February 2015) and will be even nicer. We especially appreciated the helpfulness of all the employees. Everyone was upbeat and eager to please. One employee, Daryl, was especially helpful, with both luggage and information. We stayed in the part of the hotel that had not yet been renovated, our room was older, but very comfortable. Our window faced the beach, gorgeous view. The location is great with easy access to all parts of the island. We will definitely make this our place to stay whenever we visit Galveston, which is quite often.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach, might ask to be away from the pool bar if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments! all of our available rooms we are selling right now have been renovated. We are so excited to finish our transformation soon! We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Rick G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Galveston Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galveston Beach Hotel

Address: 1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston Beach)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Galveston Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over looking the Gulf of Mexico, Galveston Beach Hotel,is located on Seawall Blvd. Just 7 blocks down from Galveston Island's Historic Pleasure Pier. Enjoy a beach front cocktail at Longboard's swim up Pool Bar or relax poolside while taking in the sun either way, allow Galveston Beach Hotel to be your getaway. Most rooms offer balconies with fantastic panoramic views the beach and we are centrally located to ensure ease of travel to local destinations. We offer breakfast daily and a breakfast buffet on the weekend. Just minutes from the cruise terminal, our property offers great cruise packages including parking and shuttle transportation. Whether you are going to the beach, on a cruise or in Galveston on business, you are sure to have a comfortable stay at Galveston Beach Hotel. Our property offers bunk bed kid suites, private balconies, a great pool, and beautiful beach views. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Galveston Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galveston Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.