We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations will help this place alot...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Galveston Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Galveston Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
OKC, OK
1 review
“Renovations will help this place alot...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I read the reviews here on TripAdvisor before our stay. We had limited choices on where to stay due to late notice and a wedding but when push came to shove, my first experience with them was a gem. I spent 30 minutes on the phone with the Hotel Galvez (the place to stay on the Seawall) and was yelled at and spoken to like a child. They were not interested in helping me but rather just getting my card info. It took less than 180 seconds on the phone with the GBH to get a reservation, with a confirmation # and a pleasant person on the other end of the phone. That phone call gave me a little confidence to brush off some of the subpar reviews on here. The GBH has a lot of potential, hence the renovations. Oddly, the renovations never got in our way. Quick note, we did not eat on site as it was only open for breakfast and they didn't really push it. There were so many other options in walking distance so we chose to branch out. Side Note : GO TO THE FARLEY GIRLS CAFE!
Quick hits:
The AC unit worked, but ours rattled like a snake in the grass surrounded by predators
The bed was large and very comfortable, the bedding was nice as well.
The bathroom was pleasant, shower had good pressure, space and ample towels. The lights in the bathroom weren't very bright though.
The windows seems to be have been recently replaced. The door seals and the AC seals were noticeable tended to recently with rather average patchwork, but with renovations looming I can understand that.
The TV setup was great, real DirecTV and a mini - fridge was a nice touch.
The patios that face the ocean are great, but you can roast in the sun if youre not careful.
The pool is really nice and the swim up bar is a cool thing. The bar does stay open rather late and if you like bass and music request to be placed on the second or first floor. If you value sleep and rest and go to bed sober and before 11pm, request the 3rd floor or higher.
The staff was very nice and made up for the atmosphere.
The cucumber water sucked, abandon that poopy water quick.
All in all, it wasn't horrible and we had a good time. It had great views and a party lively atmosphere that most folks could bear, some couldn't. If you are *bichy* (take that auto proof for profanity), rude, egotistical and judgmental, take you attitude to a different hotel, because it would only be youre own fault to stay at a work in progress. If you have a go with the flow attitude and like to party, give it a go. Tribal tattoos optional.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher on the non pool side for peaceful nights. if youre all about that bass, bout t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    14
    14
    19
See reviews for
32
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I arrived at the hotel a little later at night than we intended but were still greeted like it was the afternoon! A warm reception and quick check in were pleasant contrasts to the less than favorable drive we just had to endure to get here. The room had the slight hints of a previous smoker, but that was quickly overshadowed by the view from the beach facing windows. A beautiful view of the water and overlooking the bar/pool beneath. Breakfast the next morning was spectacular. A reasonable price for the amount of food and quality. We spent about 25 dollars between the two of us and were treated to a couple of extra drinks by the wonderfully pleasant and attentive Zach! Even though there was a much larger table seated near us, he made sure we were not neglected. Another special shout out to Theresa Wiggins for a quick and delicious breakfast that morning! Pleasure Pier is within walking distance as are several restaurants and other attractions. If you're looking for a comfortable stay with friendly staff, then look no further because you've already found it.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms on south side overlook pool bar. No noise noticed on 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind review!. We appreciate you as our guest and look forward to taking care of you again in the future as we make our conversion!

Sincerely,

Rick G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not what we expected at all! We came here for a memorable honeymoon, we got an experience aight! Not the great ever lasting experience you want to cherish after just getting married! After first having problems with our reservation, we had come to discover bugs and insects in our room. And that's after the elevator being out of service and having to hike up four flights of stairs!!! If I wanted to workout I would have stayed home! The lock on the door was broken and hanging by a thread. Other things in our room needed fixing/replacing, we'll have to get a tetanus shot soon! Now, I doubt they're even willing to give us a refund. Oh, and staff definitely needs to take a few classes on customer service!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am so sorry that you had an unpleasant experience. Even with our current renovation schedule we are committed to insuring a pleasurable experience. Please call me directly so we might discuss your stay.

Sincerely,

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We received a very warm welcome at the font desk by Jennifer. It is true the hotel is undergoing a renovation, but this in no way detracted from having a great stay. The room was on the third floor and we had a great view of the ocean and the swim up bar pool. The pool is "roomy" with plenty of pool side lounge chairs for bathing and visiting. It seemed that everyone there were all so relaxed and enjoying their stay. My wife and I became acquainted with the staff who treated us as their most important clients. The Longboard Bar at the pool has plenty of televisions so we could keep track of the football games. The rest of the guests clearly caught the contagious friendliness from the staff. The food from breakfast to pool side Nachos was excellent. Special thanks to Zac and the time that he and the general manager Rick Galyean who spent time visiting with us and sharing their excitement of the Double Tree Flag they will soon be flying above their portals. We are looking forward to our next visit. Did I say "Great Location"?

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean. So, I would recommend the third floor. It makes a great perch from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a response here. It was a pleasure having you as or guest. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had the worse customer service ever. We drove all the way from San Antonio to come and enjoy a family weekend. Paul the night manager has the worse customer service skills ever! I have never been treated so disrespectfully. He accused our children of being disruptive and said other guest had been complaining about the wild kids jumping in the pool. We had just arrived at pool. Instead of politely asking that our children not jump for their safety and advising us of the pool rules, we were told to control them and threatened to order us to leave the pool. The pool closes at 11PM and he said he was closing the pool at 10PM so we would leave. We appreciate the front desk girl refunding all our money. We will not be back.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I am sorry you feel as though you were disrespected. We truly are concerned for the safety and security of or guests and their children. I am glad my staff compensated you and hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely

Rick G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had friends in from Ohio and we spent the weekend in Galveston at the Galveston Beach Hotel. We had a Gulf View Room which was awesome. The hotel is currently under renovation and we thought would cause problems but everything worked out great thanks to Forrest, Manager onsite for our visit. We spent a lot of time outside by the Tiki Bar and Cherish was an outstanding Server to us and very accommodating. Wish all servers could be as pleasant and nice as her. Sunday we ate breakfast there at the hotel restaurant and Zach and Paul made sure that we were taken care of and our meal was excellent, plenty of food for the price.

Would highly recommend Galveston Beach to anyone and we are planning on returning in 2015!

Thanks to Forrest, Cherish, Zach and Paul who did a great job and made our trip fun and pleasant!

Room Tip: Ocean/Gulf View is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I met six friends from six different states in September 2014 at The Galveston Beach Hotel. We were apprehensive since we had booked the hotel sight unseen, but were all quite pleased with our choice. All agreed that the beds were the most comfortable we had ever slept on! It is not the fanciest hotel in the area and, although it is older and is in need of renovation, they are in the process of becoming a Doubletree and renovations are due to be completed in early 2015. The rooms were clean, and despite the high humidity in Galveston, we saw no mold in our rooms or bathrooms. The ladies and gentlemen at the front desk were the most friendly and helpful people anyone could ever meet, as was Zach, our waiter in the hotel restaurant. We ate breakfast at the hotel several times and it was excellent. The hotel is right on the beach and all rooms have a small balcony and a great view looking out at the waters in the Gulf. I had read warnings online of valuables being taken from guest rooms by cleaning staff. But we never even used the safes in our rooms and had no problem with any items going missing. In fact, one of our group left an expensive item in the bathroom when we checked out and as we were pulling away in the car, one of the staff, Darrell, came running out with the item saying that the cleaning lady had found it and brought it to him. The only reason I rated the hotel a 4 instead of 5 was because of the needed renovations.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for posting here on Tripadvisor! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay here with us in Galveston. Renovations are under way and you will be pleasantly surprised with the outstanding transformation coming soon! We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galveston Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galveston Beach Hotel

Address: 1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston Beach)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Galveston Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over looking the Gulf of Mexico, Galveston Beach Hotel,is located on Seawall Blvd. Just 7 blocks down from Galveston Island's Historic Pleasure Pier. Enjoy a beach front cocktail at Longboard's swim up Pool Bar or relax poolside while taking in the sun either way, allow Galveston Beach Hotel to be your getaway. Most rooms offer balconies with fantastic panoramic views the beach and we are centrally located to ensure ease of travel to local destinations. We offer breakfast daily and a breakfast buffet on the weekend. Just minutes from the cruise terminal, our property offers great cruise packages including parking and shuttle transportation. Whether you are going to the beach, on a cruise or in Galveston on business, you are sure to have a comfortable stay at Galveston Beach Hotel. Our property offers bunk bed kid suites, private balconies, a great pool, and beautiful beach views. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Galveston Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galveston Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.