We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient access to beach and secure parking lot!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Galveston Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galveston Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Fort Worth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Convenient access to beach and secure parking lot!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel gets some very bad reviews for what appears to be ill logical thinking on the part of their guests. While I am no expert on lodgings, I do have extensive varied experience with the ranges of accommodations from “bates motel” to “Carlton Ritz”. I would like to address some concerns for any future travelers.
First, it is an older motel; emphasis on motel. From the front it looks like a hotel, but on the inside you can see where they have accented décor to hide the fact that it was an open motor inn at one time. Therefore, many of the rooms are directly exposed to the sea salt water from both directions. Because this is a seaside town, there is always going to be high humidity and moisture in and around ALL lodgings. It will have a damp feel and as such you can smell it and it doesn't necessarily mean it's moldy. You must turn on your air conditioner to alleviate and “dry out” the room air. Our room was essentially like this when we arrived. An hour later, it was perfectly fine after getting the air going.

Second, both elevators were running fine this weekend. However, we never had a problem using only the main elevator with everyone else. Once again, I detect impatience as a reason for previous gripes. You should always know where and how to access stairs in an emergency as even new hotels have problems.

While this hotel certainly overcharges for what you get, they do offer friendly, helpful people at the front desk, you do not have to fiddle with pay by phone parking as Stewart Beach is right there, Pleasure Pier, Floats, The Spot, Fish Tales(a favorite of locals) are all within walking distance, the pool is clean and has a swim-up bar, they have their own palapa street-side bar from where you can enjoy the ocean, and Miller's Seawall Grill has the best breakfast and is a block from this hotel. You could literally pull in and never have to move your car if you didn't want to. This hotel is on the East end of the Island very convenient to the Bolivar Ferry, The Strand, and Bishops Palace. The view from the windows is great and the balconies are well used by guests. They also have some of the best soaps I've ever used in terms of the fragrance.

The only drawbacks we experienced were the timing on cleaning service daily and once again I think the rate is a little high considering other places I have stayed. But, you have to be willing to pay for perfect. I suspect these previous reviewers would need to pay the 300 – 400 a night range in Galveston to satisfy their needs. Not being willing or able, they would rather bash this hotel.

I'm not related nor do I have any interest in the success or failure of this establishment.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better and not 209/210(no view) because of building constraints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    13
    14
    17
See reviews for
32
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just finished a 5 day stay and I knew the hotel was undergoing renovations so I expected it to be a little rough, but it was in a little worse shape than what I thought it would be. We've been there 2 other times and while it is not a fancy place, the rooms were always clean and dry. The worst thing to me right now is the mold and mildew problem. Our room smelled strongly of disinfectant when we entered it and by the next morning the disinfectant smell had worn off and it was obvious there was a bad mildew problem in the room. My husband stepped on the wood threshold going out to the porch and water oozed out from the carpet or carpet padding onto the porch which explained the mildew. And the more he stepped on the threshold the more water kept oozing out. We asked to change to a different room and the staff was very helpful and immediately let us have another room. When I opened the dresser drawer to take out my clothes they smelled of mildew though, and any paper sack or box that had been sitting on the floor was soft and damp feeling. The second room was much better as far as the smell, but the A/C still did not seem to remove any moisture from the air at all. We noticed that our towels never dried out and that even the papers on the table got moist feeling no matter how low we set the A/C and how cold the room got. There were other little inconveniences due to the construction and poor housekeeping (construction noise, broken water pipes which shut off the hot water for several hours, false fire alarm, burnt out light bulbs & a tv that was unplugged in a newly cleaned room, etc). On the positive side though, Rick and the staff are trying their very best to make the best of a tough situation and they absolutely did the best they could to fix things promptly or offer us another room. And even though I know they are getting a lot of complaints they were all very pleasant. Rick used an ozone machine for an hour or so in our room while we were out having dinner and it helped the smell tremendously for 24 hours, but unfortunately the smell returned. Both my husband and I are allergic to mold and ended up coughing a lot more than we usually do and I definitely would not advise anyone with any sort of lung disorder to go there now. I will not go back until after the remodel, but look forward to visiting again then.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I first want to give a huge thank you to Paul Davis. He was so great to my friends and I. He should get a big fat raise. I read all the reviews before going and was a bit nervous. I have to say his hotel is not perfect but it was perfect for me and my friends. Awesome view and comfortable beds and ice cold room. Only thing I didn't care for was the price of wine. WOW $7.00 for a cup of wine is very pricey, even for a hotel. Other than that we had a great time and look forward to coming back after the remodeling is done. Also want to say thank you to our bartender Cherise for putting up with our craziness and thank you to Forest for all you help.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind words! I am blessed with an exceptional staff and will certainly read your post to our team! We look forward to having you back! Our Transformation is under way!

Sincerely

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Own timeshare week after Labor Day @ Holiday Inn Beach Resort - 11743 San Luis Pass Rd - 1 bedroom beach front - beach had lot of kelp on the beach -Mosquito were in force, but one could walk beach and walk around sargassum piles with no problem

This year the Galveston beach is receiving higher than normal amountss sargassum that has washing up on Galveston beach that started in May and has continues throughout the summer. It is a natural part of being by the sea and in some locations on the Galveston Island has received larger amounts seaweed in a short period of time of the consolidated seaweed influxes this year.
Galveston Park Board will leave sargassum on the beach and not push away from the shoreline to create a path for beach-goes this is for to allow this important organism to decompose naturally. Seaweed has many environmental benefits, such as serving as a nesting habitat for sea turtles, and removing it from the beach would take away miles and miles of sand, creating erosion of the beaches. Seaweed is actually a good thing, so it is a constant balance for us to be environmentally responsible and still accommodate beach-goers

Room Tip: Holiday Inn Beach Resort - 11743 San Luis Pass Rd - web site can rent room for weekend or week
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your insight on the seaweed on the beach. Its actually been very fun for the kiddos looking for shrimp and other small critters! You are correct! Its a very important part of the nature! We hope to see you back again in 2015 if not sooner!

Sincerely,

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I are currently staying here. At first I thought this was going to be great. The pool looked amazing, but they closed it 25 minutes early so that bummed us. The ladies at the front desk were friendly, so that was nice. Then we needed a staff member to come to the room to help with the TV remote, my wife was met by a guy with an attitude issue. But hey, could have been us being tired. The room was average at best, smelled stuffy, stained carpets, mold, and to us the worst part was the Mosquitos. We killed about 30 of them before deciding to freeze them out with the AC. We are praying our experience gets better or we will be taking our business elsewhere. On a positive note, they are renovating. That part is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for letting us know of your concerns when you checked in via Tripadvisor. I sincerely hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay! I did reach back at to you and my team spoke very highly of you! I would love to hear how the remainder of your stay progressed! Hope to see you back soon!

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So we ended up getting a great last minute deal for a long weekend thanks to priceline. We got 2 rooms for 2 nights. Staff is very friendly. Room are decent but need some fixing. There was rust on the doors for balconies and paint peeling here and there. All rooms have ocean view and free parking. Convenient location. Pool is small but nice. The beach across the street is a plus. Not that from pleasure pier and you can rent bikes right next door. We had a great time. The next time we come hopefully it will be fixed up.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for telling us about your stay! We look forward to having you back and yes!.... our transformation begins this week! Its going to be incredible! Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came to Galveston in August 2014 and through a change of circumstances found myself needing to find a place to stay. I was not prepared for this unwanted expense. I had planned on staying with friends. I needed something nice, where I felt safe being alone. When I came in I was greeted by Britney at the front desk. She was very nice and listened to my long explanation and solved my problem within minutes. The rate I was given was affordable AND I HAD A VIEW OF THE OCEAN. I was on my way to salvaging my vacation. Upon arriving in the room I discovered my TV remote was not working properly. Eric came up right away and fixed it. I had a nice conversation with him as well. Both people made me feel very comfortable there.
The hotel itself was nice as well. I loved the pool and the bar area where I could eat. The location was PERFECT as well. I would definately recommend this as a place to stay when coming to Galveston.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for letting everyone know what a great stay you had with us! I am glad you had some excellent interaction with our team! We will let them know! Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galveston Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galveston Beach Hotel

Address: 1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston Beach)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Galveston Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over looking the Gulf of Mexico, Galveston Beach Hotel,is located on Seawall Blvd. Just 7 blocks down from Galveston Island's Historic Pleasure Pier. Enjoy a beach front cocktail at Longboard's swim up Pool Bar or relax poolside while taking in the sun either way, allow Galveston Beach Hotel to be your getaway. Most rooms offer balconies with fantastic panoramic views the beach and we are centrally located to ensure ease of travel to local destinations. We offer breakfast daily and a breakfast buffet on the weekend. Just minutes from the cruise terminal, our property offers great cruise packages including parking and shuttle transportation. Whether you are going to the beach, on a cruise or in Galveston on business, you are sure to have a comfortable stay at Galveston Beach Hotel. Our property offers bunk bed kid suites, private balconies, a great pool, and beautiful beach views. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Galveston Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galveston Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.