We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Galveston Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Galveston Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Long weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

So we ended up getting a great last minute deal for a long weekend thanks to priceline. We got 2 rooms for 2 nights. Staff is very friendly. Room are decent but need some fixing. There was rust on the doors for balconies and paint peeling here and there. All rooms have ocean view and free parking. Convenient location. Pool is small but nice. The beach across the street is a plus. Not that from pleasure pier and you can rent bikes right next door. We had a great time. The next time we come hopefully it will be fixed up.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    12
    12
    17
See reviews for
32
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I came to Galveston in August 2014 and through a change of circumstances found myself needing to find a place to stay. I was not prepared for this unwanted expense. I had planned on staying with friends. I needed something nice, where I felt safe being alone. When I came in I was greeted by Britney at the front desk. She was very nice and listened to my long explanation and solved my problem within minutes. The rate I was given was affordable AND I HAD A VIEW OF THE OCEAN. I was on my way to salvaging my vacation. Upon arriving in the room I discovered my TV remote was not working properly. Eric came up right away and fixed it. I had a nice conversation with him as well. Both people made me feel very comfortable there.
The hotel itself was nice as well. I loved the pool and the bar area where I could eat. The location was PERFECT as well. I would definately recommend this as a place to stay when coming to Galveston.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you so much for letting everyone know what a great stay you had with us! I am glad you had some excellent interaction with our team! We will let them know! Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and pretty nice place, pool equipped with a swim up bar that also serves food! The staff was very friendly and helpful, The rooms could use a little updating (carpet was a bit worn) but all and all its a very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for staying with us! I am really glad you had a good time with us! Come back and see us! The carpet replacement is only a small portion of our renovations starting shortly! Your going to love it! Thanks Again!

Rick G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel first of all placed false advertizement on website. I asked for the glass I saw on the website NO CAN DO!!! The elevator is still slow and that is where you hear all the other complaints from all!!!:( I took our own beer to the pool,after reading the rules said no glass containers. Did not say can't bring your own beer!!!:( They did have a bar in pool and said TX state law, I guess for US.There was No microwave at all no where in building that is what we where told. The room stunk when we first got there. I was just looking for a fun vaca with my family for a couple days cause that is all we got this year. Working mom and dad very athletic daughters but we will go some where else next time!!!!

Room Tip: Just be careful what you see online and ask lots of questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Your comments are very important to us. Thank you for taking the time to post. The elevator situation is resolved at the Hotel as the company was waiting on parts. It was very frustrating for all f us. Please contact me personally regarding your stay as I would like to discuss it in more detail. On another note we begin our transformation next week and are excited about great changes to come!

Sincerely

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here this past week. Cannot beat the view this hotel has to offer. It is however in great need of updating (which they are starting to undergo.) The carpet in our room was horribly stained/dirty/musty smelling. Little specs of mold growing on the ceiling, and on the artwork hanging in room. I understand this is a beach hotel but the mold is unacceptable. If we do come back to Galveston, I'd love to stay here again- only if the entire place is remodeled.

The longboard bar and pool was great. Good drinks, nice bartenders. However, someone should REALLY be watching what goes on at night in the pool. The other night I walked out onto our balcony and saw a couple having sex off in the corner of the pool! There were children in the water! Absolutely sickening.

3 star recommendation.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor

Our hotel begins its total renovation in a week. There are lots of things to do and I insure you that upon your return you wont wont recognize us as the place you stayed on your last visit! We are very excited to be able to get started. Hope we see you in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best expirence I have had out of all the places i have ever staied some of the friendlest and most helpful staff i have ever met it almost like being with family members that you realy like the rooms are clean and comferable and they have a realy nice pool to lay out at and the most fun thing of all is the Long Board bar that is conected to the pool they have some of the best bartenders i have met anywere and great food and you get all of this without going off the hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your response regarding your awesome stay. WE appreciate your loyalty and cant wait to unveil our new product! Hope to see you back soon!

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 8/8-8/11/14. Really enjoyed our Girls weekend out. Despite needing a little updating & only one elevator was working which made for a long wait each time we used it. The rooms were a little muggy till they cooled down but not enough to complain about. The waiter (young guy) that worked in the dining room both mornings was extremely polite and made me want to go and see him and tell him goodbye. The hotel was clean & the pool/bar was awesome & the ocean was right across the street (perfect location). I had to call a few days later re: charges on my card and Brandi in reservations was extremely helpful, polite & called me back as she said she would in timely manner and had hold taken off my card earlier. Thanks and we will defiantly be back. Angie W

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor & facing pool. We loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your business and I appreciate you mentioning associates that went beyond for you. Our culture as well as our look is moving forward. I hope you make it a point to come back and visit us!

Sincerely,

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galveston Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galveston Beach Hotel

Address: 1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston Beach)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Galveston Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over looking the Gulf of Mexico, Galveston Beach Hotel,is located on Seawall Blvd. Just 7 blocks down from Galveston Island's Historic Pleasure Pier. Enjoy a beach front cocktail at Longboard's swim up Pool Bar or relax poolside while taking in the sun either way, allow Galveston Beach Hotel to be your getaway. Most rooms offer balconies with fantastic panoramic views the beach and we are centrally located to ensure ease of travel to local destinations. We offer breakfast daily and a breakfast buffet on the weekend. Just minutes from the cruise terminal, our property offers great cruise packages including parking and shuttle transportation. Whether you are going to the beach, on a cruise or in Galveston on business, you are sure to have a comfortable stay at Galveston Beach Hotel. Our property offers bunk bed kid suites, private balconies, a great pool, and beautiful beach views. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Galveston Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galveston Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.