We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Galveston Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galveston Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Tellico Plains, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“Awsome Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The best expirence I have had out of all the places i have ever staied some of the friendlest and most helpful staff i have ever met it almost like being with family members that you realy like the rooms are clean and comferable and they have a realy nice pool to lay out at and the most fun thing of all is the Long Board bar that is conected to the pool they have some of the best bartenders i have met anywere and great food and you get all of this without going off the hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your response regarding your awesome stay. WE appreciate your loyalty and cant wait to unveil our new product! Hope to see you back soon!

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    11
    12
    16
See reviews for
31
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed 8/8-8/11/14. Really enjoyed our Girls weekend out. Despite needing a little updating & only one elevator was working which made for a long wait each time we used it. The rooms were a little muggy till they cooled down but not enough to complain about. The waiter (young guy) that worked in the dining room both mornings was extremely polite and made me want to go and see him and tell him goodbye. The hotel was clean & the pool/bar was awesome & the ocean was right across the street (perfect location). I had to call a few days later re: charges on my card and Brandi in reservations was extremely helpful, polite & called me back as she said she would in timely manner and had hold taken off my card earlier. Thanks and we will defiantly be back. Angie W

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor & facing pool. We loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your business and I appreciate you mentioning associates that went beyond for you. Our culture as well as our look is moving forward. I hope you make it a point to come back and visit us!

Sincerely,

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hmmm, the hotel does seen to be in transition. One elevator worked so very inconvenient and riding w grumpy guests who have been waiting just like you. Kinda stuffy smelling but it is a beach room which I feel always smells. Good location and pool. Decently nice staff nice view from balcony. Not sure I'd stay again but your choices are kinda limited.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We appreciate your choosing us and hope that you WILL come back as I can assure you compared to the other hotels in the market, we will be at the top of the list. Renovations start soon and in 2015 you really will have to look twice to see if you are in the same hotel.

Sincerely,

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a room for $125 a night online. We drove 7 hours to get here, and all of the sudden, they want to charge us $350 a night. They would not take responsibility, and said that they would do $250 for the first night, and $350 for the second night. Ended up cancelling everything and going to a Hampton(Amazing place).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Mr. Jake,

Please contact me here at the Hotel so I might be able to investigate your situation. A reservation confirmed is a reservation confirmed. I look forward to speaking with you.

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great time there but it is not worth the price. One elevator was down so only had one elevator working for a 5 floor building. The staff by the pool were great, and so were the maintenance crew that you ran into in the hall. The front desk not the best. I understand we were right by the beach, but the mildew smell in the room was horrible. They were advertising in the lobby and on the TV for a remodel so maybe next summer it will be better.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
I am so sorry about the elevator. Unfortunately, there is never a good time for something like that and as important as that to break. I do so apologize and appreciate your review! We have lots of changes starting in just a few weeks! We Hope to see you again in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a blast! Yes it's not modern or a chain so that's why I like it. The view is AWESOME! You are directly across the street from a nice quiet SANDY rock free beach! The price is extremely affordable for the price. I have no complaints about our stay everyone is nice proximity to pleasure pier and dining fantastic! I would stay here again if it was going to be changed into a modern chain hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHGM, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you so much for your review! When can't wait to have you back with our new product!

Sincerely

Rick G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First off, we got a "family room" with bunk beds for our children. It was a great idea. Except for they are on the same level/side as the pool and music until 10:00 so they said. That doesn't matter much since the bar adjacent to the pool is open until 2 am with loud music.
Only one elevator works, and the night prior we found out it failed in between floors with people on board. The fire department had to be called to get them off. The other elevator is non operational.
That leaves the wet/moldy stairs to travel in between rooms if you don't want to wait 10 minutes to go up two floors on a potentially dangerous elevator. My wife and daughter slipped on the hazardous stair way injuring my wife's leg.
The rooms smell of mold and the floors are soggy and make you feel uncomfortable.
The "children's room" suite is no more than a closet with a bunk bed crammed in with a door that had apparently been ripped off at some point in time.
One lamp worked in our room. Which was okay since it helped us not focus on the paint bubbling off of the wall and ceiling in our "suit".
The location is prime and the staff did seem to be helpful.
However, you can't look past all of the flaws in a hotel we paid over $300.00 for.
I will never recommend this place and as it goes without saying will not ever stay here again.
Save yourself the heartache and money and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I read and take seriously all the comments both good and bad. The elevator concern is being corrected and I am truly sorry for the inconvenience that it caused. Your families comfort and stay is important to me and I will reach out to you regarding your experience to make things right. Again thank you for your response.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galveston Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galveston Beach Hotel

Address: 1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston Beach)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Galveston Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over looking the Gulf of Mexico, Galveston Beach Hotel,is located on Seawall Blvd. Just 7 blocks down from Galveston Island's Historic Pleasure Pier. Enjoy a beach front cocktail at Longboard's swim up Pool Bar or relax poolside while taking in the sun either way, allow Galveston Beach Hotel to be your getaway. Most rooms offer balconies with fantastic panoramic views the beach and we are centrally located to ensure ease of travel to local destinations. We offer breakfast daily and a breakfast buffet on the weekend. Just minutes from the cruise terminal, our property offers great cruise packages including parking and shuttle transportation. Whether you are going to the beach, on a cruise or in Galveston on business, you are sure to have a comfortable stay at Galveston Beach Hotel. Our property offers bunk bed kid suites, private balconies, a great pool, and beautiful beach views. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Galveston Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galveston Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.