We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Galveston Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Galveston Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Family Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

WE Have Always Stayed at this hotel, Being A Holiday Inn at one time. We found The Staff To be the same Extra friendly People They have always been. This Hotel has no Brand but it seems They operate Very well without all of that. Don't listen to the Naysayers.

Room Tip: Face the Beach Get up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Return guest reviews such as yours are greatly appreciated here at the Galveston Beach Hotel. We are happy to read you think our staff are the same great people they have always been and we hope to be seeing you again soon! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    17
    14
    19
See reviews for
34
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed October 6-8, 2013. After we made a reservation we got a email stating that the motel was no longer a Holiday Inn, we were a bit concerned of what we might be getting into. We decided with the location and the view we would roll the dice and keep our reservation. We were very happy with the view and the room. We could tell they were working on improvements to the motel. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. The secure parking outback was very nice. Will stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor great sunrise view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are very happy you decided to stay with us here at the Galveston Beach Hotel and you were very happy with your decision. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review and for your business. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I fell in love with the staff. Wonderful people constantly willing to help. Tommy, the bartender for the restaurant was a fast friend and made my stay feel like coming to visit friends.

I stayed in 419 which is right above the pool and Captain Jacks bar. It was great! On Saturday night, I opened my balcony door and listened to the band. It was a great band as well!

I plan on booking this hotel again when I come back!

Room Tip: If your wanting to enjoy the pool area and listen to the live band, stay above that area. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are happy you fell in love with our staff and hotel here at the Galveston Beach Hotel. We will be sure and let Tommy know your kind words about him. Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Quite clean and very near to the beach. We have barbecue and camping in the beach and just walking distance from the hotel. The hotel stuff is friendly and we do have a wonderful trip with my family. Like it !

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are happy to read you had a wonderful trip with your family here at our hotel the Galveston Beach Hotel. Thank you for such a nice review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I booked a room through booking.com. We stayed for 2 nights. It took us 45 min to figure out that it was actually the hotel with the big Holiday Inn Sign, because they had failed to change the sign to Galveston Beach Hotel... Actually they have not done much with the place during the transition accept for down sizing customer service! I had smoked outside by the pool and uses a cup to dispose of my ashes, I carried the cup inside which I had already stacked a few other cups in it and through it in the trash in my room not thinking anything of it... A hour after checkout, my banking account was charged 100.00 and then a week later it was charged $50.00 then $15.00 them $10.00 all different transactions in the same day... When I had checked in my room was 49.00 a night on a special.. And they charged me 75.00 each night, $25 of that was suppose to be refunded at check out... When I asked about the charges they were very rude and just kept saying we are no longer the holiday inn and I just said good because I didn't think I booked at the holiday inn... I even had one girl walk off as I was asking her for more towels... I also received many comments about the rate I was paying and how low it was and that would be changed with booking.com immediately. It was clearly printed on my conformation email that I had a late check out included at 2pm.. And they argued that with me.. Again saying they were not the holiday inn... When I called to ask about the extra charges I was told they found a cup with ashes in my room ( a cup that was in the trash with other cups stacked in side) and because of that I was charged 250.00 for smoking in the room.( Which never happened) So not only do they have terrible musky smelling old rooms, they snoop through your trash trying to add on extra charges and there staff are the most unprofessional and completely none accommodating hotel staff!!! I would stay at hotel 6 before I stayed here again (rooms are cleaner) but immediately after checking out because of their rudeness, we checked in at Palm Beach Hotel the rooms were just as nice, the location was great... And the staff was friendly and eager to help!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that I am truly sorry.”The problems you mentioned were brought to the attention of our management staff and have been addressed. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for an attitude on the part of any of our employees. We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here Aug 13- a Tuesday. My boyfriend and I had a bad experience at this hotel and it was definitely not worth the $200/night.

The drain in our bath/shower was clogged and slow to drain, the coffee maker didn't work (and was FILTHY inside), the wifi didn't work in our room at any point during our stay, and our TV was not working correctly.

They have a Holiday Inn guarantee plaque in the bathroom which says that if any part of the stay was unsatisfactory guests didn't have to pay for it. However when we tried to call the front office- not at weird hours mind you, at 5PM and again at 8 and 9 PM, we never got through.

When we told the front desk at check out how we were not pleased with our stay they said there was nothing they could do because we booked through Kayak/Expedia. When we called Expedia/kayak they didn't do anything either.

Avoid this hotel and Expedia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to discuss the disappointment you experienced during your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is essential to our future success! Problems can always arise, but our goal is to have them addressed promptly by staff members so our guests are not inconvenienced. I regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of evaluating opportunities for improvement and appreciate your input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The View was great and the bed was comfortable! Hotel is the Holiday Inn Sunspree but also goes by the name Galveston Beach Hotel! Our room was on the 3rd floor across from the beach bar Captain Jacks! We were there on a Saturday night and there was a live band that was very loud and we had a hard time hearing our tv over the loud reggae music coming from the bar!
Another problem we had was our balcony did not have any chairs-all other balconies had chairs! We asked the front desk for our chairs after we checked in -no Chairs and again the next morning we asked again and NEVER got any chairs!!! Make sure you have chairs!!!! Also there was not any tissues!
View and location is great! Pool is beautiful!

Room Tip: Stay away from the beach bar!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Galveston Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for providing us with feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry about the chairs on the balcony. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galveston Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galveston Beach Hotel

Address: 1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston Beach)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Galveston Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over looking the Gulf of Mexico, Galveston Beach Hotel,is located on Seawall Blvd. Just 7 blocks down from Galveston Island's Historic Pleasure Pier. Enjoy a beach front cocktail at Longboard's swim up Pool Bar or relax poolside while taking in the sun either way, allow Galveston Beach Hotel to be your getaway. Most rooms offer balconies with fantastic panoramic views the beach and we are centrally located to ensure ease of travel to local destinations. We offer breakfast daily and a breakfast buffet on the weekend. Just minutes from the cruise terminal, our property offers great cruise packages including parking and shuttle transportation. Whether you are going to the beach, on a cruise or in Galveston on business, you are sure to have a comfortable stay at Galveston Beach Hotel. Our property offers bunk bed kid suites, private balconies, a great pool, and beautiful beach views. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Galveston Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Galveston Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galveston Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.