We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay for reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very nice stay for reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

My husband surprised me with a trip to Galveston for Valentines Day. Just an FYI-Galveston was not impressive at ALL! I know it has had it's problems with the hurricane but, it was just not something we would see again.

We were very pleased with the hotel. The rooms were clean. They all had a balcony, HUGE 42' flat screen televisions and a great staff. They also had a hot breakfast each morning; they had make your own waffles, sausage, yogurts, bagals and cereals. The pillows were VERY comfortable and the beds were as well. It was very quiet, no disturbances. They also had free WiFi and it was a very quick connection. We honestly could not say a bad thing about the hotel! They also have a pool, jacuzzi and exercise room, but we did not check that out at all. It is in a great location as it is right on the seawall.

We ate at Tortugras right in front of the hotel and they also have great food and speedy service.

If a trip to Galveston is your cup of tea, my husband and I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. Great price, great service, great view of the gulf and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    210
    94
    31
    19
See reviews for
203
191
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Located close to the beach. Our room had two TVs for watching professional football games. The rooms offer a nice view from the balcony with chairs. There is a heated pool on the ground floor. They have a large parking lot and allow their customers to leave their cars there while they travel on a cruise line. Taxi from hotel to cruise line runs $15 each way. I would return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Just returned from Galveston. Can't be sure, but the Quality seemed to be the most popular hotel on the Island over the New Year's weekend judging by the lobby at breakfast. Staff was efficient and accommodating. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA - CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We visited Galveston for our anniversary- I'm originally from CA and was lonely for the beach. The hotel was directly across from the Seawall which was great, we even had a view from our balcony. The beach was not clean like the CA beaches I was used to but we still had a nice time strolling along. The hotel staff was very friendly and the continental breakfast was fantastic! There was an assortment of whole fresh fruit, the usual breakfast pastries (bagels, danish, toast), a variety of hot and cold cereal, and a waffle-making station. The location was ideal- across from the beach, a comfortable walk to shopping/dining, and a quick drive to local attractions. Overall, very nice.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

After reading other reviews I expected more from the hotel. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. I booked a room with a king sized bed and only stayed one night waiting for a cruise.

Checking in took no time at all. The parking was iffy. I ended up parking in a lot in the back and certainly was rethinking not getting the rental coverage with my insurance in case my car got stolen. One of the elevators was out, which was not to much of an inconvenience for my wife and I, but could be one if you have kids or a large party. The elevator that was out was the closest one to the pool as well so if you plan on swimming you have a good walk ahead of you, unless they fixed it.

The elevator that was working and hallways smelled very musty and the elevator had upside down buttons. The smoke alarm near it on our floor that had writing on it that says "do not paint over" was painted over. Small things I know, but details matter. Elevator moved at a moderate speed and I think it talks but the voice was going out.

The room itself was pretty nice. The balcony view was breathtaking and was worth the low price of the room alone. There was a huge flat screen TV in the room but was a brand I had never heard of, Curtis Mathis. The wife and I got a kick out of googling that. The internet went in and out on me. I know it wasn't just my laptop either because I ran into other people in the hallways walking around trying to get a good signal. The breakfast is truly continental. I may have been spoiled in that department by other hotels though.

Overall, it was a very cheap room with no major drawbacks outside of the iffy parking lot out back. I'd stay again if I were going on another cruise, otherwise I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Manager truly gives you the motel with lights out in the sign feeling. I watched a little Italian guy ask for a luggage cart and the manager told him to "search around the property because there all over the place" Then I was hoping it would get better when a lady asked for towels... he proceeded to grill her as to why she needed them... when her husband finally spoke up the manager told him " I'm the manager and we have our policies" The overall stay at the hotel is ok.... little view, indoor pool, on seawall, hot breakfast ( boiled eggs, waffle, sausage, breads & cereals ) they really should exterminate though, we killed a few cockroaches in the room and had ants on the walls. Sometimes being near water in cold temps you have to be more aggressive. But it appears the only thing the manager is aggressive with "ARE THE GUESTS". Few more months of this manager and no attention to the problems and this Quality Inn may soon enjoy the low customer rankings of its neighbor properties.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We stayed here the Friday after Thanksgiving, checking out two days later on Sunday. The room, although slightly on the narrow side, was clean and updated. The queen sized beds were very comfortable. We were on the east side on the fourth floor. The balcony was nice, with two plastic chairs to sit in. The view was great of the gulf and surrounding areas. You could see the cruise ships docked in the distance too.

The biggest negative was that we had a room with an adjoining door. The first night the noise wasn't bad. The second night, it was loud with the adjoining room having a lot of noisy people in it. We had to call the front desk to have them quiet them down (which I rarely do unless the fan doesn't drown the noise out). Next time we will request a room that doesn't have an adjoining door/room.

The indoor pool, located on the basement level (basement level not enclosed), and looked nice. We didn't have time to swim in it. There was a sewer odor outside the pool building the first night, possible from the exposed sewer pipes that were in the ceiling. The parking lot was on the same level and so was the elevator. One of the elevators was out of order after the first day (and could be slow).

Breakfast was good with waffles, cold boiled eggs, yogurt, little muffins, cereal, etc. (the usual items served at Choice Hotels).

There was a good Mexican restaurant in front of the motel, a grocery store within walking distance and many other sitdown and fastfood restaurants nearby (since this motel is on the "tourist strip").

The beach was across the street. There was still some noticeable left damage from the hurricane that occurred one year ago. Some of the areas were roped off with no swimming. There were piers that people could walk on and fish.

The beach isn't the cleanest one in Texas. There was some graffiti on the breaker wall (and some trash around). There are other nicer beaches in Texas like North and South Padre beaches. This beach will work if the others are too far to go to (which was the case for us due to the limited amount of time we had available for this trip).

We would definately stay at this motel again. The staff was friendly and accommodating. As mentioned in other reviews, check in isn't until 4PM. However, they will let you check in earlier if the room is ready.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 three ISP Broadband Connection. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014 - 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.