We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Franklin, TX
1 review
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The outside and lobby were clean and presentable. Friendly staff. Nice clean rooms. Rooms were cleaned daily. Patio and view ok...wish the view was better. All rooms have a patio and a partial view. Has an indoor pool, which is nice after spending all day in the sun. You can walk across the street to the beach or to the 61st Pier and do some fishing. Was a pretty good location a little away from all the main action. For the price it was great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
I am glad you had a good time on the island, and for the really kind comments. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    229
    104
    33
    19
See reviews for
226
200
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I took my two boys there recently, and we had a great time. The hotel and the room were clean and in excellent condition, and our top floor beach view room was very nice, with views of pelicans and gulls zipping close by at eye level. I wish we had chosen to stay longer.

They offer a good continental breakfast in a large eating area (good selection, more than one waffle iron, and no trouble finding a table). The LCD TV in our room had a burned out backlight in the top half of the picture, and the hotel replaced it within an hour - I was quite impressed.

The only down side is that the hotel only has an indoor pool, but we were there for the beach anyway, seaweed and all - lol. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments. I would like to mention that you are also able to use the outdoor pool next door too. We are so glad you decided to stay with us...thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

No hotel here is ideally situated as nearby beaches are awash with smelly seaweed. There is no outdoor pool either. We had issues here with the housekeeping as the bath tub wasn't cleaned for 3 days. (the bill was reduced but still...) The breakfast is a typical carb-fest and bun fight. We grabbed coffee ( when they had any) and fled or went to the Ihop on 53rd.
The staff were either absolutely charming, eg the girl who sorted out the cleaning issue, or sullen. On balance I wouldn't come here again, I'd rather spend more and go the Hilton or holiday Inn resorts.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
I am sorry there wasn't enough coffee when you went to get some. We keep (2) decaf, and (4) regular coffee out 24/7, so may have just been refilling it during a busy time. We appreciate your staying with us. Perhaps the seaweed situation will return to normal next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife, 2 grandkids, and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night last weekend. We had a average sized, clean, comfortable room comparable to other Quality Inns I've stayed in. Each room had a nice balcony with partial view of the gulf. The breakfast was average, however, there is a Waffle House, Mcdonalds, and Golden Corral within walking distance, so we didn't eat at the hotel. The service was prompt, and efficient. Upon arriving, we needed a luggage cart, and I couldn't find one. The maintenance guy went way out of his way to find us one, which was very impressive. To sum up, I believe this hotel is an excellent choice for a medium priced option on Galveston beach.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
I am happy to hear you had a good time on the island, and that our staff took care of you. You'll be happy to know we just bought another 5 carts to go with the 6 we already had. It has become a problem with guests leaving their luggage on the carts and just leaving them in their rooms, with no consideration for the needs of the other guests. We actually just went out and bought cart locators, so we can walk down the hallway hitting a button, and the receiver in the room beeps to let us know where the carts are! Thank you so much for your patience, and for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is always our family's first choice when we go to Galveston! As always, our bed and even the pillows were so comfortable, our view was amazing, the staff was so accommodating and the breakfast was so delicious and filling! In the early morning it was so nice to easily cross the street to the Seawall for my morning jog. Later on, after our yummy breakfast we played with the kids on the beach and then swam in the indoor pool one more time before we checked out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
It is wonderful to hear you had a good time. We are so happy that you have continued to stay with us, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our double queen room was great for one night. We were on fifth floor with view of the Gulf which was nice. The breakfast was what was expected and adequate. Being close to the seawall was worth the price and in walking distance. However, the seaweed this year in Galveston is the worst that I have seen in 40 years of going to the Texas coast.

Room Tip: Room on fifth floor was great with no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We appreciate your staying with us, and your nice comments about the hotel. Nature isn't always kind, and the seaweed phenomena is amazing. It is affecting all the way from Florida around the Gulf of Mexico to Cancun, Mexico. Luckily it is not usually anywhere near this heavy. It's good for the environment, so I guess in the long run it is good for the whole coastal region. Biologists say it is caused by all of the late cold fronts this year, because the strong north winds pushed it away from the coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We use tripadvisor quite a lot to find places to stay on our trips, and mostly what we find is as expected. This time around we were quite disappointed however. When we stayed here this hotel was rated as number 7 of 49 hotels in Galveston, well, I guess that says a lot about the other hotels in the area. I see a lot of the other posts here say the hotel was very clean, then I've been unlucky, because my first floor room cannot be described as very clean.... The price is pretty low, but I guess you get what you pay for. I probably had my expectations up too high.......

Room Tip: I think and hope that the rooms are better the higher up they are
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
I am sorry you had a problem. I wish we had known while you were here so we could fix it. We take these issues seriously, and it would have been nice to be able to go back to the person that cleaned the room, and retrain her. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#11 of 49 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
#13 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 three ISP Broadband Connection. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014 - 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.