We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and affordable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Saint Cloud
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great and affordable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Spent 5 days in March at this property. We were very impressed. The rooms were clean, beds were ok. Overall the property was well maintained. The staff, at all levels from the front desk to house keeping we amazing. They were friendly helpful, and knowledgeable. Some of the best service I have seen in along time. The Breakfast was your usual Quality Inn fare, but its was well stocked, organized and the area was clean. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    202
    89
    31
    19
See reviews for
192
180
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I booked my room online and saw that most guest gave it a rate of 4 out of 5. That was far from accurate. My check in went smoothly. As soon as I got on the elevator, I was overcome with the smell of sewage and vomit. The hallways smelt better. I booked a room with 2 queen beds...I was given 2 full beds. The restroom was NOT clean. There was a bottle of bodywash in our tub left from the previous guest covered with their hair...EEEWW. The toilet rim was black with mildew. When we asked for more towels, we were told we had to bring our dirty ones down to the front desk before we could receive clean ones. I have never heard of such a thing. The breakfast was the only good thing about this hotel. Never again will I stay at the Quality Inn @ Galveston, TX.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay, I wish you had told us when you were here that you had issues. I am in the elevators daily, and unless some had actually just done something in the elevator, they were not a problem. There is no way you could have gotten a room with (2) double beds, because all we have are queens, and they are the extra longs. Again I am very sorry you had problems. The towel exchange is necessary because during Spring Break people take the towels to the beach and leave them, or wrap their wet shoes and bathing suits in them and take them home, so we end up giving out 10-12 rooms per room and many get taken. Our hotel, like all of the hotels in Galveston, spend tremendous amounts on linen replacements due to theft. If you were to call me I might be able to make some kind of accommodation...as we would have done if we had known of your issues while here.

Best Regards,
James Marx, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel was very clean, nice pool and location. We accidentally left our room key in the pool area and asked a gentlemen that was working in the laundry area if he could let us in to get it, not only did he but we had forgotten our towels and he went and got our family some without us even asking for them, however we called to the front desk to get more shampoo/condition ( we had left ours at previous hotel and hadn't made it to the store yet) and the lady said she would try to get some to us, but never showed up with it but there was a walmart and walgreens as well as several other store very close by so my husband just ran and picked us up some. I do feel like the price was a little high, only because we stayed in planet Hollywood in Vegas which was quite a bit more elegant and it was less. Overall I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed overnight on March 17. Perhaps the St. Patrick's day holiday had something to do with our unpleasant stay. First with the positives: Check-in and out was easy, and the staff was courteous. The room was spacious enough for four of us, and it was clean. Breakfast was decent.
There are a few minor things that could easily be remedied: the tissue box was empty, the door to the patio did not stay closed unless it was locked, and there was only one plastic cup even though there were 4 of us staying in the room. Also, the vending machine did not have bottled water, just soda. The beds were extremely soft.
The walls are very thin. We could hear every sound on the other side of the walls, and above us it sounded like people were bouncing around until midnight.
The reason I would not stay at this hotel again is the location, which other people seem to think is a positive. It is located on the corner of 61st and Seawall, directly behind McDonald's and Popeye's. Our room faced the McDonald's with bright lights from their parking lot shining directly into our room. The noise from the street, especially the cars taking off from the red light at the intersection was so loud that it sounded like there was no glass in the window. Not only that, but a trash truck came by around 3:00 a.m. to empty the dumpsters in one of the nearby parking lots.
In a different location, I may have stayed at the hotel again because of the value; unfortunately, I will be looking for a quieter spot next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
I am sorry you didn't like the location, and that the other guests may have been noisy. We do not get many comments like this, but this is Spring Break at the beach, and there is not a noisier time of the year to come to the island. Just about everyone in the hotel has teenagers and small children. Perhaps a different time of the year would yield better results. We can not be responsible for road noises any more than any other hotel, and anyone on the seawall, which is where we and the beach are, is going to have these issues. Best Regards,
James Marx, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I researched Trip Advisor before I booked my hotel for a quick trip to Galveston. When traveling with my daughter and her friends, I wanted easy beach access, free wifi, and free breakfast. Quality Inn had all of those things. We arrived very early, about 11:30 AM, and the front desk lady said they had a first floor room available immediately, but she warned there would be no beach view. The girls just wanted to get in a room, so we accepted the offer. The room was right next to the front desk, and close to the elevator, so I knew there would be a little extra noise.

The view from our room was of the parking lot, but if I looked a little to the left, I could see the ocean. The room had two good sized beds, a table and two chairs, a new flat screen TV, a small refrigerator, a microwave, closet, and plenty of room for the 4 of us. One thing that impressed me was that they had Direct TV at the hotel. I don't spend a lot of time in my hotel rooms, but when I am there, I like to chill out with the television. So many hotels offer explanations as to why they get so few channels, etc, but this was nice-even some movie channels included. The bathroom was decent sized, with the sink, toilet and shower/bath all in the room together.

We did enjoy the free breakfast the next morning. I liked that there were three "stations" of breakfast food-everything was not crammed together. There were biscuits and gravy, make your own waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, danishes, a few kinds of cereal, oatmeal, coffee, juices, milk, a really good variety. When I got syrup, I could tell they were almost out in the containers. I got some and sat down. As I looked around, the worker, Roxanne, I believe was her name, had already brought out fresh jars of syrup. She was certainly on top of things in the breakfast room. Another big plus, there was plenty of room to sit. So many hotels have small breakfast areas, but this one had probably 10 tables or more, and there were other chairs and couches nearby in the lobby area. The food was hot and tasty. A great way to start the day.

The location of this hotel is great. It is very centrally located, with lots of restaurant locations close by or just a short drive. The beach was just a short walk to the crosswalk, then you were on the beach. The hotel pool was indoors and fairly small. There was no jacuzzi. The ocean was cold, so the girls were looking forward to jumping in the pool. The water was not as warm as they would have liked, and because it was spring break, there were a ton of kids in the pool. Though I had hoped the pool would be a good alternative to the beach, the girls only stayed at the pool about 5 minutes.

The hotel staff was great during our trip as well. The manager was cleaning up some around the front desk when I complimented his breakfast room. The ladies at the front desk did a great job of recommending close restaurants, getting us items we had left at home, and definitely getting us a room LONG before check in time. I would certainly book a room here again.

Room Tip: I hear the upper floors have a good ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We arrived early on Monday our room was not ready so they gave us one that was. After going to the room we wanted to change to the original room we went and ask them if we could change and had no problem doing . The room was big and clean. Staff was great. Breakfast was as advertised. We would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Clean, comfortable and centrally located. Easy to get to and in the middle of the beach. Lots of restaurants near by and the beach is only 100 yards away. Make sure to ask for the top floor as it offers the best views of the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for the kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 three ISP Broadband Connection. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014 - 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.