We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in the King Suite. Balcony view was excellent. (All rooms have balconies. A big +) It's an older hotel but was clean enough and staff was friendly. Breakfast wasn't "blow your mind spectacular" but for an included breakfast, it wasn't entirely bad. Decent enough selection. Biscuits, cereal, fruit, yogurt, Sausage gravy, toast, muffins, a waffle station... Your average continental breakfast. Pool was a little small and the hot tub had been filled in with concrete. :(
Overall, a good experience and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, but avoid rooms facing the west side if you want a nice view of the gulf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    190
    80
    28
    18
See reviews for
183
167
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Quality Inn for several days as part of a student-musician group and found it to be a good choice. Our room definitely had some budget qualities -- e.g., the air conditioner took some getting used to because it made a loud noise when cycling on or off; our room didn't have a safe; the view from our room (2nd floor, even-numbered) was of parking lots and traffic with a little slice of ocean. However, it was quite clean and comfortable, and aside from the air conditioner I didn't notice any noise issues, even though the hotel was full over the weekend we were there. The breakfast was typical of similar hotels, not gourmet but fine; I ate a lot of waffles and yogurt. The service we received was excellent. We were a fairly large group, and made a fairly large number of requests (storage of instruments, adjoining rooms, extra towels, extra keys, etc.), and the hotel staff consistently responded to our requests very cheerfully and competently. The indoor pool is small and not particularly inviting, but guests are allowed to use the very pleasant outdoor swimming pool at the sister property next door, which our students enjoyed very much. The location is quite urban, along the "strip" of Sea Wall Boulevard, which, while not peaceful or especially scenic, was close to all kinds of restaurants and attractions, as well as a relatively wide stretch of beach just across the street. For an urban, budget beach vacation, this hotel provided solid value.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have a much less attractive view than odd numbered rooms. Higher rooms have a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel with a beachview and this it it. It's in a great location and our room on the 5th floor had a great view og the beach and the swimming pool at the hotel next door. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast bar was ok but not great. We go to Galveston alot for the price this the best place we have found. Will go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 4th or 5th floor facing the east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

When I go down to the beach for a few days, I don't iike surprises when it comes to staying in a hotel I've never stayed at before. Quality Inn is my "go to" tried and true hotel. Always a perfect stay. I always choose a room on the top floor as close to the front of the hotel as possible, for the best view of the ocean. Top floor is always quiet too. Bed is always comfy. Service at the front desk is always top notch. Never disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for continuing to stay at our property! Best Regards, James Marx, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The above photo is deceptive and should be removed. The outdoor pool seen in the photo belongs to the hotel next door, Beachfront Palms. The pool at Quality Inn is indoors, small and not at all inviting looking. The hotel is reasonably priced, basic and fine for the price if all you are looking for is a place to sleep and aesthetics are not important. The view from your balcony of the even numbered rooms is of the parking lots and backs of McDonalds and Popeyes and the noise discourages one from sitting out there. From the balcony of the odd numbered rooms you have a nice view of the pool next door (the one depicted in the photo) and sitting out there is tolerable if you can control your jealousy. The rooms at the front of the hotel may have a partial ocean view but I can't say as we were in the back. Though the hotel did not SEEM full, we were told there was nothing available on the odd numbered side near the front nor any rooms on floors higher than the third floor (there are 5 floors). Air conditioner was noisy when cycling...better when left on "constant fan" setting than having it go on and off. Breakfast was nothing special but okay. Front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. Wifi is free but for the most part didn't work. We were able to connect to the network from the front lobby/breakfast room but most of the time could not get on from our room...guess you get what you pay for. Overall we had no real complaints and would say it was okay for budget minded travelers.

Room Tip: Best would be odd numbered room on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
The photo of the pool next door is from an outdoor pool that our guests are free to use. We actually have access for our guests to both the indoor heated pool, and the outdoor pool, so the photo is not at all deceptive. I can't think of many hotels that have access to both for their guests. We are happy to put guests in areas where they prefer to be, but thee rooms have to be vacant to do that, and sometimes it just isn't possible. This hotel is very popular and has a great location, and as a result, we run full almost every weekend of the year, and annually we do about 82% for the year as a whole. Sometimes it doesn't look busy because guests are at the beach or one of the other island venues. I am sorry we didn't get you what you wanted, but please feel free to ask for me next time, and I would be happy to do what I can to get you on the side you want. We appreciate your comments. Best Regards, James Marx, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Day 3 different room

The location... The price ... The view.... The quality ... And having fun... New room... staff very helpful and still with the vacuum issues .. That's ok....
Good room... Good night sleep...
THEN.... I showed in the am
Reach for a towel... And scream I thought it was a bug folded in the towel and it wasn't it was HAIR
I'm blonde... Hubby bald... We don't have black hair.. I put my glasses on thank God it's long hair!!
Towel 2 .... Not happy hair folded up in it... A different color and texture.... Grrrr gross
Towel 3 ok!!!

Tell front desk who is very nice and calls manager who is in route..
Manager arrives James very nice and apologizes ... Plus discounts room and will speak with laundry on watching hair during folding and to house keeping on vacuuming !!! All is well and We WILL GO BACK... Just watch the towels :)))))

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hello:

I appreciate the fact that you gave me a chance to speak to you before you checked out. If more guests gave us that chance, they would find that they will be happily surprised. We hate it when guests leave unhappy, because it means we failed twice...first allowing the issue to have happened in the first time, and then second, not handling it to the guest's satisfaction. We want happy guests that will stay more than once, and we work hard towards that end. The problem you had should have been caught, and I have re-trained the laundry attendants to be more careful. I really enjoyed speaking to you despite the circumstances, and I ma very happy you want to give us another chance.

Best Regards,
James Marx, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My hub and I stayed at this hotel at the end of August. We came to Galveston on vacation during the mid-week. You cannot beat the location, right across the beach from Pier 61. The price could not have been better! For a two and a half star hotel, this one took the prize. The room was comfortable, the service great. The balcony from the top of the hotel level five was very nice, a side view of the ocean. The only downside was a noisy A/C unit. Other than that, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#7 Family Hotel in Galveston
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2013 – 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.