We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a good scrubbing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Needs a good scrubbing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Was granted early check in. The elevators, hallways and our room were dirty. There was a bag of trash that sat in the hallway by the elevator the entire time of our stay. The front desk clerk 'had a cold' and was serving/setting up the breakfast food. Our room, jacuzzi suite, was dirty. The jacuzzi tub had scum around the jets. The tile had not been washed in a long time and there was nail polish in the bottom of the jetted tub. Do not book this hotel for full price, choose an off day (sunday-thursday).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    192
    83
    29
    19
See reviews for
186
170
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

First let me say the staff was very friendly and informative. Special request for accessible room was attended to before we arrived. Good selection of breakfast items laid out well with large seating area. Room was clean but halls could use some extra attention. Perfectly adequate for a stay in Galveston where you do not expect to spend most of your hours at the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

What a value! Excellent quite rooms, great beds, fantastic continental breakfast! The staff are eager to help with their advice on restaurants and attractions. This wonderful gem is just across the street from the sea wall. A wonderful stroll as the sun sets, or a dip in the indoor pool. Laundry is on site. We will be staying here on our next trip.

Room Tip: even handicap access rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meeker, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I chose Quality Inn after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Couldnt have made a better choice! Room was nice and clean. Front desk employees were very friendly and helpful. We had the jacuzzi king suite. The hotel had obvious signs of normal wear and tear ( worn carpet etc) but it was CLEAN. The breakfast was good but layed out kinda weird. Had to hunt for plates, spoons etc. All in all we had a great stay. Would recommend this hotel and would stay again if in the Galveston area.
PS the mexican restaurant in front of the hotel is a MUST! its fabulous! Food and service were both great!

Room Tip: Ask for room on the east side. Perfect ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
302 hotel reviews
Reviews in 219 cities Reviews in 219 cities
504 helpful votes 504 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Reviews here encouraged me to book a room at this hotel and I was horrified to discover that the room I was assigned had a foul odor, dirty carpets, toxic bedspreads, and an extremely depressing and out-dated decor. A woman working on the desk engaged me in a very unpleasant conversation before she would cancel our reservation without penalty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
The reason our ratings are good is not because we never make a mistake, because all hotels do...it is because we try to always take care of our guests, and fix any problems to make sure the guest was happy. If a guest gives us an opportunity to fix an issue, we do. Most of the hotels on the island would not have been nice enough to cancel the reservation, and we were well within our rights to charge for it...but we didn't. You made a reservation with a stated 48 hour cancellation policy, and then tried to cancel it on the evening of day of arrival. You called before ever coming to the hotel, and the desk clerk was friendly and professional and told you that it was too late to cancel the reservation, per our policy, and that you had been quoted the policy upon making the reservation. The clerk made me aware that you were unhappy, and I had her cancel the reservation for you as a courtesy. It is sad to get a review from someone who didn't want to stay BEFORE they had even gotten to the property, and then made up reasons to get the room cancelled without penalty, when it was already done. To use a false review to punish the hotel after we had already cancelled the room as a courtesy, is in bad taste, and a misuse of this great forum. There was nothing wrong with this room, and THAT is why our overall reviews are good.

Thank You,
James Marx, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton,Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

...due to seemingly "rave" reviews of this hotel on this website, however, we were let down somewhat.We stayed here for one night on Saturday while in town for Dickens on the Strand.We had a Jacuzzi King room reserved and on arrival were checked into # 407. We parked our car after getting lucky and having someone back out of a space near the hotel side entrance at the right moment because parking is limited.On entering the room, the smell was very,very musty and dank.We got lights on and turned on the AC asap.After looking around we noticed dark stains on the carpet and torn carpeting as well. In the morning we noticed that the closed curtains were letting in beams of bright sunlight through the holes in the curtains!! At nearly 150.00 dollars with tax, we would expect a cleaner and more updated room.The positives...large room, pleasant colors on wall, nice flat screen TV, the in-room jacuzzi worked well and was pleasant after walking all day at Dickens festival.There is an in room fridge also,fyi.We spent a few minutes in the morning enjoying the gulf view until children in the room above us started throwing bread and attracting a large flock of Seagulls which proceeded to "bomb" the entire area. So... balcony view was over and we just went ahead and gathered our belongings and checked out.When asked at checkout how our room was, we told the nice young clerk and she advised she would pass on room condition to the manager.Do we think we were the first to ever mention these things which needed to be taken care of...I seriously doubt it! Will anything be done? We'll see if we decide to give the hotel another chance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I go to Galveston twice a year at least and we have tried most all the hotel/motels there. When we tried this one we were blown away by the service, the staff, the free breakfast (to die for),the room and everything else. The first time was in Feb. and it was cold but the indoor pool was sooooo nice. Our room (#520) was the best. Great view from two windows and the balcony. So when we went back this time we decided to stay here again and again it was through the roof in every way. Your staff are so friendly from the second you walk in the door. They greet you like you are old friends and it just makes you feel great. This time we had room 318 and still the view from the balcony was wonderful. We have decided to make this our place to stay from now on. Thanks for everything. Rick and Martha Messinger

Room Tip: Just stay here. You can not go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2013 – 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.