We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Meeker, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I chose Quality Inn after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Couldnt have made a better choice! Room was nice and clean. Front desk employees were very friendly and helpful. We had the jacuzzi king suite. The hotel had obvious signs of normal wear and tear ( worn carpet etc) but it was CLEAN. The breakfast was good but layed out kinda weird. Had to hunt for plates, spoons etc. All in all we had a great stay. Would recommend this hotel and would stay again if in the Galveston area.
PS the mexican restaurant in front of the hotel is a MUST! its fabulous! Food and service were both great!

Room Tip: Ask for room on the east side. Perfect ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    194
    85
    30
    19
See reviews for
186
173
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
308 hotel reviews
Reviews in 221 cities Reviews in 221 cities
509 helpful votes 509 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Reviews here encouraged me to book a room at this hotel and I was horrified to discover that the room I was assigned had a foul odor, dirty carpets, toxic bedspreads, and an extremely depressing and out-dated decor. A woman working on the desk engaged me in a very unpleasant conversation before she would cancel our reservation without penalty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
The reason our ratings are good is not because we never make a mistake, because all hotels do...it is because we try to always take care of our guests, and fix any problems to make sure the guest was happy. If a guest gives us an opportunity to fix an issue, we do. Most of the hotels on the island would not have been nice enough to cancel the reservation, and we were well within our rights to charge for it...but we didn't. You made a reservation with a stated 48 hour cancellation policy, and then tried to cancel it on the evening of day of arrival. You called before ever coming to the hotel, and the desk clerk was friendly and professional and told you that it was too late to cancel the reservation, per our policy, and that you had been quoted the policy upon making the reservation. The clerk made me aware that you were unhappy, and I had her cancel the reservation for you as a courtesy. It is sad to get a review from someone who didn't want to stay BEFORE they had even gotten to the property, and then made up reasons to get the room cancelled without penalty, when it was already done. To use a false review to punish the hotel after we had already cancelled the room as a courtesy, is in bad taste, and a misuse of this great forum. There was nothing wrong with this room, and THAT is why our overall reviews are good.

Thank You,
James Marx, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton,Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

...due to seemingly "rave" reviews of this hotel on this website, however, we were let down somewhat.We stayed here for one night on Saturday while in town for Dickens on the Strand.We had a Jacuzzi King room reserved and on arrival were checked into # 407. We parked our car after getting lucky and having someone back out of a space near the hotel side entrance at the right moment because parking is limited.On entering the room, the smell was very,very musty and dank.We got lights on and turned on the AC asap.After looking around we noticed dark stains on the carpet and torn carpeting as well. In the morning we noticed that the closed curtains were letting in beams of bright sunlight through the holes in the curtains!! At nearly 150.00 dollars with tax, we would expect a cleaner and more updated room.The positives...large room, pleasant colors on wall, nice flat screen TV, the in-room jacuzzi worked well and was pleasant after walking all day at Dickens festival.There is an in room fridge also,fyi.We spent a few minutes in the morning enjoying the gulf view until children in the room above us started throwing bread and attracting a large flock of Seagulls which proceeded to "bomb" the entire area. So... balcony view was over and we just went ahead and gathered our belongings and checked out.When asked at checkout how our room was, we told the nice young clerk and she advised she would pass on room condition to the manager.Do we think we were the first to ever mention these things which needed to be taken care of...I seriously doubt it! Will anything be done? We'll see if we decide to give the hotel another chance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I go to Galveston twice a year at least and we have tried most all the hotel/motels there. When we tried this one we were blown away by the service, the staff, the free breakfast (to die for),the room and everything else. The first time was in Feb. and it was cold but the indoor pool was sooooo nice. Our room (#520) was the best. Great view from two windows and the balcony. So when we went back this time we decided to stay here again and again it was through the roof in every way. Your staff are so friendly from the second you walk in the door. They greet you like you are old friends and it just makes you feel great. This time we had room 318 and still the view from the balcony was wonderful. We have decided to make this our place to stay from now on. Thanks for everything. Rick and Martha Messinger

Room Tip: Just stay here. You can not go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed there this past Thursday and I was surprised that it was better than I expected. I did not like the parking lot but at least it was free to park. The bed was comfortable, though it seemed to be too much furniture in the room. The house cleaning could be better because it seems that every towel that I picked up had a piece of hair on it. The view from the balcony made up for all that I did not like. The breakfast area is nice and it included basics such as cereal, juice, sausage, and coffee. Overall, I would probably stay here again, especially since the hotel offers good prices for the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I liked this hotel. It was in a great location, right across the road from the beach. The rooms were nice. I especially like the fact there was a fridge (also a microwave). I thought parking would be tough but it was fine. I didn't get a chance to use the indoor pool and the exercise room seemed small. There was protein and some fruit on the breakfast. I used the laundry $1 for washer and $1 for dryer. It seemed really expensive tho, because of the event happening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Added a night in Galveston to a Houston convention week. Selected this inn on price and location. It iadvertizes itself as the best Seawall value and to my knowledge it is indeed a value. Inn is on the seawall and views from the small decks off of each room are great over looking Gulf and Galveston Seawall. Room was typical quality for this level of hotel with some signs of use and expected beachfront salt water corrosion in spots. Very convenient just off of end of I-45 thoroughfare to Houston. It is walking distance from several good restaurants, shops and a great place to base a Galveston visit.

Staff is very freindly and helpful. Seemed more like a residence type environment than a hotel. People seemed very comfortable with the place. Hotel seemed to be a favorite for both economy minded business people (evident in the morning as business dressed people left early) and older people using this as an extended stay base for an escape from northern weather. Enjoyed a brief chat with some of those folks lounging outside near the laundry and pool. Breakfast was above average for this type of accomodation.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room near the front for a fantastic view of the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#11 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 three ISP Broadband Connection. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014 - 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.