We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous value on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fabulous value on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Added a night in Galveston to a Houston convention week. Selected this inn on price and location. It iadvertizes itself as the best Seawall value and to my knowledge it is indeed a value. Inn is on the seawall and views from the small decks off of each room are great over looking Gulf and Galveston Seawall. Room was typical quality for this level of hotel with some signs of use and expected beachfront salt water corrosion in spots. Very convenient just off of end of I-45 thoroughfare to Houston. It is walking distance from several good restaurants, shops and a great place to base a Galveston visit.

Staff is very freindly and helpful. Seemed more like a residence type environment than a hotel. People seemed very comfortable with the place. Hotel seemed to be a favorite for both economy minded business people (evident in the morning as business dressed people left early) and older people using this as an extended stay base for an escape from northern weather. Enjoyed a brief chat with some of those folks lounging outside near the laundry and pool. Breakfast was above average for this type of accomodation.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room near the front for a fantastic view of the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    225
    101
    32
    19
See reviews for
220
199
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel over the biker weekend. The hotel was in a good location away from the downtown area, but easy access from the freeway and near many resturants and shopping areas. The beach across the street was poor at best. I understand that the hurricane from a few years ago did a number on the beach. The rooms were simple and clean. Breakfast area was clean. The real plus to this hotel is the staff. Melanie was outstanding. She did everything. Everybody from the front desk, to housekeeping were very helpful and pleasant. I would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel lacks amenities but, for the price, it was a great stay. The staff was very helpful, friendly and courteous. Our room was clean and comfortable as was the breakfast area. However, the hallways and elevator could be cleaner and the elevators were noisy and old. I used the stairs but being on the 5th floor, we used the elevator at times (luggage and bikes to room). The location is convenient to the seawall and 61st Street Pier. We had a nice view of the Gulf from our room. I would stay here again, but only for a bargain price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here in room #111 October 18, 2012. I booked this hotel partly for the price ($57 on a Thursday), but also because I like to watch the sunrise over the Gulf in the morning. This hotel is not "on the beach". It is behind Tortuga restaurant's parking lot, well off the seawall. The "partial Gulf view" is shown on the photo attached. If you sit in the very corner of the balcony, you can just make out the water. King rooms are only on the first floor, so if you want a better vantage point, you must book a double bed room. The hotel itself is very clean, and the staff very friendly. The bed, however, made for a long night and a backache in the morning. Another caveat; this area is heavily travelled by the Island's colorful homeless population, so be prepared to deal with panhandlers on the seawall if catching the sunrise. When I initially parked my car in the lot behind the hotel, I stepped out into a pile of glass where someone had broken out a car window. Not comforting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I am glad you posted a review, by doing so you give us our most useful way to improve...from hearing what actual guests feel about the property. However, I would like to clarify a couple of items: 1) No hotel in Galveston is on the beach, and we make no claims that we are, 2) we have rooms with king beds throughout the property, though there may not have been any available on the day you checked in...we are a very busy property, and in the winter everyone wants rooms with a single king bed. I apologize for not being able to get you one in a different part of the hotel. 3) we advertise partial beach views, because that is what they are. We have many guest that love the views and come frequently. 4) Our rooms start on the 2nd floor and Tortuga's is a one story property, so only the rooms on the 1st level have an obstructed view. All of the other floors have nice reviews. lastly, the balconies face east and west, so all of thee rooms have either a sunrise, or sunset view, depending on what side of the hotel you are on. We do appreciate this review, and I would love to have you back. If you decide to come back, I will give you a discounted rate, and I'll make an effort to get you on an upper floor. We never want anyone to leave feeling we didn't take care of them, and I would love a second chance to prove it. Best regards, James Marx
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Whilst travelling around Texas for 3 weeks (we are from the UK) we visited Galveston. Unfortunately, hotel prices shoot up at the weekends, and we arrived on the Thursday night. We tried a few hotels, but they were expensive - the sign said Quality Inn was the best value for a Seawall hotel and I asked to see the room first. The girl on reception was very helpful and happily sorted out a room on the top floor (my request) for me to look at. The rooms are positioned down the side of the building and each one has a balcony - absolutely brill! The views were stunning and location (just across the road from the beach) to die for! The price was very reasonable for the Thurs - rising for the weekend but still ok and much cheaper than the other hotels we had tried - esp as there was a balcony. Breakfast was included in the rate and was good. Some parts of the hotel are a bit tired and perhaps a little bit more cleaning would be good - and the internet was "naff" - kept freezing and losing emails. For us this was important as we needed to keep in touch with family back in England. I did report this but no one was interested! However, on saying that, Melanie was a really helpful member of staff - always cheerful and nothing was too much trouble. We were sorry to say goodbye to her - and sorry to leave Galveston! Galveston's history and historic buildings are fantastic. The Strand historic area really atmospheric with lots of historic info boards to help give facts and stories. The Moody Mansion and Bishop's Palace well worth a visit, as was the film about the 1900 hurricane when two-thirds of the area was destroyed and over 6,000 people lost their lives. So tragic; so sad.
The beach was lovely and the sea was like walking into a bath. We took the free ferry over to Bolivar and saw loads of dolphins and pelicans. The Mexican Restaurant adjacent to the hotel was excellent - very busy which is a positive sign - service extremely good - food amazing. We are not used to Mexican food but the fish dish we had was something we wouldn't have dreamed of as Mexican!! There is a new Outlet shopping centre just opened (sadly we missed it as we left before the opening day) but it looked good and I really wanted to visit the Croc Shop. I45 and Holland 10 mins out of center of Galveston. We watched the sun set from the most Eastern point - and watched the large cruise ships leave..... Very romantic. Would love to return!

Room Tip: The rooms furthest to the front of the hotel gives you an extra window looking over the front. Wish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It was just okay. Carpet was old and looked like it was dirty.We stayed on a Sun.and it was off season. Partial beach view means you have to go out on the balcony which would not lock. Location was great. We left before breakfast was ready. Front desk was pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRESTON
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Was a little dubious when I booked this hotel as it seemed to be quite cheap for a beach front location. I was very pleasantly surprised when I saw the size of the room which as well as having a large balcony with seating overlooking the sea also had a jacuzzi. The room was beautifully furnished and also had a large flat screen TV as well as a refridgerator and microwave. The decoration in the rest of the hotel was slightly dated however the room more than made up for that. There were also two elevators one at the front and one at the rear of the hotel, this made moving luggage easier especially as they both went down to basement level where you parked your car.Luggage trollies were also provided.
Staff on reception were very helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room for better sea views. The hotel is sideways on to the beach front so all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#10 of 49 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 three ISP Broadband Connection. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014 - 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.