We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Houston
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Great place to stay. Immaculate. Quiet. Comfy bed and pillows Courteous staff. No extra parking fees. Delicious breakfast. Clean pool and hot tub. Close to restaurants and fishing pier. I saw a porpoise from our balcony. I found an olive shell on the beach, and saw a turtle swimming in the surf. I walked the seawall and read the historical and info markers. I had a wonderful, relaxing getaway and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    194
    85
    31
    19
See reviews for
187
173
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

First of all, it meets my most important criteria - very clean. After that all the rest was a perk - friendly staff, close to the beach (1/2 a block to the light to cross, then onto the 61st access), a good breakfast, rooms were quiet and a small balcony with a pretty decent view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Tx
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife and I had reserved a room from May 13, 2012 through May 17, 2012. On the night of May 14th around 11 PM there was a lot of commotion in the hall. My wife looked out and saw 20 something men kicking a ball and rolling around on the floor. She told them to stop it. Approximately a half-hour later, I was awoken by the telephone. It was the front desk. The lady there said that two other rooms had complained about us making noise and that someone had also said that we had a dog in the room. I explained to her about the earlier noise and she was not willing to listen and said that we were going to have to leave. In all of my years I have never seen anything like this. This was evidently the work of the people that my wife had told to be quiet earlier. I asked to speak to the manager. I received a call back from the manager, James Marx, who immediately began cursing me and told me that the police were on the way. This person was the worst example of a manager that I have seen in my over 50 years of traveling. In addition, he wasn't even onsite to speak to in person. When the police came I asked them to see if there was a dog in the room and they responded that they were just there to make sure that we left. When we left I told the police to let me know if any found my non-existent dog. My advice if this situation happens to any of you in the future, call the front desk and the police. Don't let someone turn it around on you like this. Also, stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Our property has a zero tolerance noise property, because we care about our guest having a good night's sleep. When we get multiple complaints on a single guest, we have no choice but to act. No other guest reported anything about the "20 people kicking a ball" in the hallway at midnight, and the clerk did go up to the hallway to check on this, and found no one in the halls. This is an interior corridor property, so it would be very noisy if this were true. Had this guest simply left when asked, instead of yelling, the police would not have been called. He hung up on me the first time I called to speak to him, saying I wasn't the manager. I am sorry this guest was asked to leave, but we have to take care of ALL of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Thought this particular Quality Inn was decent and pretty typical of a 2 1/2 to 3 star facility. Staff at check-in was extremely friendly and found us a room with a balcony facing the gulf. Elevators were super slow, but not that big of a deal. We didn't use the indoor pool or hot tub, but parked close to it and did see a staff member cleaning and checking both every day. Since it's getting to be full blown summer, if an indoor pool wasn't what you wanted, you could use the outdoor pool of the sister property which was steps away. All in all, nice experience from a hotel of this rating that stays extremely busy throughout the year....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I booked this hotel for 1 night precruise. I had to pay over $200, which I have not ever paid that much for a 5 star hotel in Las Vegas!!! I picked this based on the other reviews. I knew it was not a 5 star hotel, but the reviews said it was clean and it was one of the few available on a short notice, (now I know why). Obviously my standards of clean are much higher or I got a bad night. Both elevators smelled like a wet dog. We had the 4th floor and it reeked of cat urine!! The carpet was not vacuumed, nor was the bathroom. There was a piece of food under the air conditioner. The balcony rail was pvc, and had a crack in it. Very dangerous for the kids to be out there.
We could see the ocean from our room, the staff were friendly and the location was within walking distance of Kroger and a couple of restaurants. My husband said the pillows were the size of an ice cube, (little exaggerated, but they were very small). The breakfast was just ok. I think its a shame how the price of the rooms jump up for the night before the cruise ship takes off. This is not worth more than $60 a night for any night!!
I would have not stayed here for more than 1 night and I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
I would like to apologize for the odor in that particular hallway. I have to assume you are refering to the one that had an air conditioner leak, and it smelled musty until we could get that small area totally dried. I can not speak to the problem in the room, because you never spoke to me about any of these issues, and I have no idea what room it was. Our rates are in line with the rest of the island, and it it is not unusual for rates at beachfront hotels to be high on warm weekends. If the cruise had been on a weekday, you would have found the rates at under 70.00, which is less than most area hotels for the same night. We have had many comments from other guests on what a great value or hotel is in Tripadvisor. I hope you will give us another chance to win your business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel was very average in terms of amenities, but it was a great price. Service was very good, parking was easy, and it IS right on Seawall Blvd. But it is about 6-8 blocks away from most of the good restaurants and better beach area. But I'd stay here again...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

I was a little afraid of what I would get at $59 a night (during the week.) I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were great...... clean with a good view of the ocean, comfortable bed, large flat screen tv, a refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, and blow drier. There was a small table and chairs in the room and on the balcony. The employees were very nice My only (very minor) complaint was the pillows. They were small and square, and I would have preferred that they be regular sized. Overall though I was very happy there and will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Galveston

Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 three ISP Broadband Connection. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014 - 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.