We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, friendly staff, clean and modern rooms (with extras)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11743 Termini- San Luis Pass Road, (Farm Road 3005), Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Galveston on the Gulf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great service, friendly staff, clean and modern rooms (with extras)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our family took a mini vacation at the end of summer. We had forgotten to pack a few items for our beach barbecue and realized that the kitchen comes fully stocked with appliances, plates, cups, etc. The rooms were modern and clean and we had a wonderful view of the ocean. The beach was not crowded and so much nicer than further down the wall where you have to cross the busy main street. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We took advantage of the onsite grills, volleyball net, easy beach access, balcony with ocean view, onsite pool and jacuzzi, deep garden tub in the "master" br, and washer/dryer. It's everything you need for a reasonably priced, quick beach vacation. We will definitely visit again. Once they finish renovations, this will be perfect. Make sure you look at the layout and get a true ocean view room (hotel is U shaped, so technically every room has an ocean view but some views beat others) and come to relax. I've stayed in fancier hotels but this was perfect for what is offered.

Room Tip: Make sure you look at the layout and get a true ocean view room and higher up (hotel is U shaped, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    114
    26
    17
    8
See reviews for
151
106
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guthrie, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a trip to Galveston with some friends and it was absolutely beautiful. The staff was very friendly and the room was nice. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean which is a must for me. I really enjoyed my stay there.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Having booked this resort hotel because they said in the hotel details that every room has an ocean view I thought this would be perfect for us to spend 3 nights of our vacation (we are visiting from the UK). Well technically every room does have an ocean view, but as this hotel is U shaped the views are not that easy to enjoy without craning your necks. So really your view is the wing opposite and down on the pool area. The first room we were given had a blocked I flushed toilet which was quite disgusting. How did housekeeping pass this? Then we were offered another room opposite and this one had a blocked kitchen sink and a cooker/range with only 2 working rings. A bit of housekeeping wouldn't go amiss here. Overall the location is good but would rather book another hotel nearby next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was kind of a last minute getaway. I had never stayed away from the Seawall area, and wasn't even aware of this hotel. The location is excellent. A few miles west of town and right on the beach. No traffic, no grungy seawall area, and simply peaceful. The staff was more than helpful on the phone prior to making my reservations. That level of service continued after the booking and all through our stay. The room was a Queen one bedroom with a fridge, cooktop, microwave oven and toaster oven and kitchenette. It also had a small balcony overlooking the pool area with a decent view of the beach and Gulf. The room was clean and supplied, and very tastefully decorated. We were really surprised at how nice it was when we opened the door. The pool area was great. The water was cool and comfortable and the infinity edge offers a nice view. The hot tub is large and nice, although it would be nice to be able to enjoy it after 10pm. Didn't really get to enjoy it at night due to the early lock out. The private access to the beach area was really nice, and fairly clean given the other areas where we could have stayed. There were renovations under way on the floor above, and they could have maybe started a little later in the day, but it wasn't too bad. Nothing like a couple other reviews have made it out to be. If a hotel is going to stay better than the rest, these things are needed. Above all though, the staff was super nice and always with a smile. All in all, it was a great trip, and the hotel really helped make it so. We're already talking about our next trip there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Had high hopes for this hotel but the roach problem proved to be a deal breaker despite its ideal oceanfront location. Stayed 5 nts from the 2nd Sunday of Sept in a king deluxe room. We arrived after 9 pm so our room was ready. Check in was a breeze and the front desk personnel Victoria was friendly and helpful.

Honestly, the highlight of our stay was definitely sitting on our oceanfront balcony atop the 5th floor and enjoying the sound and unobstructed view of the beach. The other positive aspects were ample space in the king unit with full kitchen and stackable washer and dryer next to kitchen. No cooking on this mini vacation so can't comment on effectiveness of the coiled cooktop with 4 burners although appliance appeared new. Reheated some meals in the oven, worked like it should. The separate sitting and dining area was a plus at meal time for our 2 small babies. The separate bedroom away from common living area was great for our babies came nap time. Spacious bathroom with sep tub and shower appeared clean. Uncrowded fairly clean beach was a 5 min walk from unit to the sand via boardwalk. Lots of restaurants, Walmart, Kroger, nearby.

However, the Roach issue proved too much to warrant another stay at this property.

1 hr of unpacking and trying to settle in after check-in, we spotted 2 small roaches on top of the cooktop. Around 5am, another roach found on the kitchen counter. The hair on the back of my neck was sending chills down my spine out of disgust. The 2nd night at 4am another roach sighting but this time a larger roach. We also found 2 roaches in the bathroom around the tub area. When we reported the bug problem to the front desk the response of "Oh, the pest control guy already left for the day but I will write it up" was upsetting and disappointing. Needless to say, we never got a visit from pest control nor housekeeping, not even a follow up from front desk regarding the matter during our entire stay. WTH!!! Paying $200/nt and that's the service response you'd get? Unacceptable! We had to buy Raid roach killer from a Walmart nearby and administer our own pest control. On our last night, 3 tiny roaches boldly paid us a visit on the dining table before dinner time. At that point, somebody just stick a fork in us because we were so DONE with this place. How can we relax and enjoy our stay when every time we turn around there's a roach? We couldn't leave a basket of bananas on the counter for fear the pest will be all over it. Not only did we have to do the expected daily tidying up, we also had to frequently do pest control. With babies around, this place was too much of a health and sanitary hazard.

Oh, and yes there were still construction being done on the same floor as ours. We would hear what appeared to be drilling or machine sawing noise every few seconds randomly throughout the day. At one point, we even felt a slight vibration from the wall. One morning we heard the noise around 8am which is whole other talk show of issue when you're on vac, trying to get some sleep, or your small children are napping. Yet we can tolerate construction noises more so than the roach debacle.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We go to Galveston yearly for our anniversary, this was our first at this property but not our first stay in a condo. We got there early and was told the room was not ready yet but they had us do the paperwork and told us they would call us. Never did hear from them so we went back about 4:30, they advised they had tried to call.......huh seems others have had this issue as well. First night the toilet did not work so we called front desk and they sent maintenance pretty quick. They said they had it fixed but found later they had not. We had to go to the main lobby area for the bathroom. Next morning they once again sent maintenance who could not get it plunged so they called an out sode plumber who ended up having to replace the toilet. Yes they did move us to another room.
The building is U shaped as others have mentioned, we discoverd for a better sea view you wand a room on the outside portion of the U. The balcony on the Standard rooms are pretty small, just barely big enough for the 2 chairs and small table. Pretty simple room but very usable with a fridge, 2 burner stove top, microwave, toaster oven and dishwasher. The bedroom is a bit small as well but once again usable. The matress was very firm and we found it uncomfortable.
Direct path to the beach was very nice with a wash of area to get the sand off. The pool area is very nice but the pool itself did seem a bit small. Plenty of lounges and tables and chairs. Picnic area with grills was nice with sand volleyball and horseshoes.
Overall it was nice once we got past the first night.

Room Tip: We would suggest getting a king deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellent location with direct walkway to the beach. Great view of the Gulf and nice pool. Suite was well appointed, scent-free, and clean, clean, clean! Furniture placement is wheelchair accessible so we didn't have to ask for special handicap room. Hotel comprised of Condos originally built as Timeshare Units with 2 units to each main hall entry sharing a washer/dryer and water heater. "Full" kitchen has stove, refrigerator/freezer, microwave, and dishwasher. It's also stocked with dishware, glassware, silverware, cookware, toaster, and blender. The only thing missing was a mixer which I purchased a hand mixer for $6.00 at Wal-Mart. No restaurant on premise but everything like grocery stores, restaurants, and sights are relatively close. Parking is ground level underneath the hotel with 2 elevators--1 each servicing East and West wings. Maid service is extra so you will have to tidy up like at home which was fine with us.
DID NOT LIKE that in addition to the balance run at check-in, a $115 hold was placed against the credit card for "incidentals" in case you made purchases from their "marketplace", etc.
DID NOT LIKE the awful bed. Come on!! A pillow-top is lost on top of a brick. Send someone in charge over to The Hampton Inn at Rockport,TX, sleep in that bed and buy one just like it....PLEASE!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Address: 11743 Termini- San Luis Pass Road, (Farm Road 3005), Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Galveston on the Gulf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#3 Family Hotel in Galveston
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort offers a wonderfully relaxing experience for couples and families alike. This quiet beachfront resort is located on the Texas Gulf coast south near the historic port city of Galveston. The city is a charming, Victorian-era treasure filled with authentic period architecture and strong echoes of the 1800s. Set away from the bustle of downtown, you'll enjoy villa accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, plus free Wi-Fi internet access. All villas feature private balconies overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The heated, outdoor infinity-edge pool and large hot tub offer direct, waterfront beach access and a new recreation area. Kids enjoy half-court basketball, shuffleboard court, beach volleyball and tetherball, while you'll love the fitness center available to guests 24/7 and picnic areas for outdoor dining. A small Marketplace store is available for guest convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escapes! To The Gulf At Galveston Hotel Galveston
Escapes To The Gulf Galveston
Escapes Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.