We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location away from the hustle and bustle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11743 Termini- San Luis Pass Road, (Farm Road 3005), Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Galveston on the Gulf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location away from the hustle and bustle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed here over the weekend and enjoyed the hotel and staff. Sandy is a very sweet lady. The room is a great setup just like you were at home. The dishes werent washed when we came in and my wife said the dryer was outdated and didnt work well. The construction on 5th floor was barely noticed. I recommend this hotel for any family!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi there and welcome home from your vacation stay with us. We’re so happy to hear that your stay lived up to your expectations, and you enjoyed your time in and around the resort. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    84
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
124
78
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
OKC, OK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I wanted to give this place a great review. One of the few hotels directly on the beach, we were looking forward to staying here. We stayed from Juen 15th through 18th. Check in went well because we were late getting down there. Our room was right by the elevator and it appeared that at the time only one of two elevators were working in the building. The elevator noise ran constantly with a break maybe between midnight and 4am. Additionally, our room was situated next to the housekeeping laundry room, so every time a commercial washer or dryer was running, we could hear it.

The room itself was nice with a small balcony overlooking the pool and part of the beach. The bed and pull out bed were both older and uncomfortable. The beach area is public but on the weekdays was very quiet. Travel to and from the main areas of Galveston were easy.

Now, who schedules CONSTRUCTION during peak travel times? A large corporation who could not care less about its travelers, thats who! Starting on Monday (thankfully we left on Tuesday) at around 8:30am, the construction started. A jackhammer or Sawzall was being used on the fourth or fifth floore on the other end of the building and it was rattling the pictures on our walls in our room. There was absolutely no way to spend any time in the room due to the loud noise and putting a small child down for a nap was next to impossible. I had to go drive our son around in the car. The walls were literally vibrating from the construction and it continued with only short breaks until around 6pm. When I asked the staff about it, all I got was a smile and "sorry about that." In addition, we contacted Holiday Inn corporate last week and have still not heard back from them. For the price we paid per night for the room (Saturday night was outragious!) I would like to think that something more could be done besides "sorry about that."

I do not recommend this place right now. Maybe if they can get the renovations done (try doing it in the winter next time) this place will be great.

Room Tip: Ensure you request a room away from the elevators and the hotel staff areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to reach out to us with a review of your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the noise that you experienced. We strive to keep our guests away from the noise o that you can have the best vacation experience possible. We appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. We would love the opportunity to host you again to show you how much fun vacationing with us can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The BEST place to stay in Galveston...right on the beach with no seawall between you and the water. The room was amazing... I don't know which was more impressive - the separate living room, the balcony large enough for four chairs plus room to move around, the full kitchen inlcuding a washer/dryer, or the location ON the beach. I didin't take a photo but the bath has a seperate tub and shower which is nicer than most. The only downside is that the property is about a mile past the touristy seawall area...but we prefer being in a quiet residential area so we didn't mind the drive to restaurants and activities. We will stay here everytime we go to Galveston!

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the hallway so our balcony was larger and had an entrance from both the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi there and welcome home from your vacation stay with us. We’re so happy to hear that your stay lived up to your expectations, and you enjoyed your time in and around the resort. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We would have loved to give this hotel a great review. It's right on the beach and have heard great things from our friends and family. However, we were able to get a discounted rate on a non-refundable deal. Unfortunately the resort has cancelled our reservation, after taking our money of course, and is 'not able' to reinstate our reservation. We are due to travel there in 2 days time.

Hopefully management are able to fix this before Wednesday.

Room Tip: Spend your money elsewhere. You may actually get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Justin H,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Witchhy, condescending staff, room not available until 4pm but checkout is 10am, tiny room with a loud AC unit, paid for a king and got a queen bed and the rate was outrageous. There's no bar or restaurant, limited shaded parking, and did mention the staff was rude and condescending and that the didn't have the room ready nitpick 3pm?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Karl W,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the week of June 10, 2013. Here are the positives and negatives:

1.Clean room.
2.Nice Staff.
3.Beside the beach.
4.Washer and Dryer handy.
5.About 5 minutes from the sea wall.
6.Nice little kitchen.

Now the negatives:

1. When we checked in, we were not informed the hotel had construction going on on the 5th and 6th floor. Everyday during our stay, we could hear the jackhammer going above us. The ceiling was almost vibrating. Want to take a nap, sleep late or relax in your room during the day? Forget it. They are in the process of remodeling rooms into suites on the upper floors and you can hear this all throughout the building. A lot of people were complaining. We asked to be moved to the west side, where it was not quite as bad but they had nothing available. All they could do was move us to a lower floor, but you could still here the noise below, so we didn't move. Later in the week, one day before we left, the construction crew moved closer to the west side.(you could still hear the noise but not quite as bad)

Also, though the noise from the hall was quiet, the chairs that go with the tiny breakfast table make a loud noise when you move them across the floor. The people above us moved the chairs A LOT, even after midnight, and you can easily hear it below. They seriously need to get some sort of rubber padding to put on the bottom of the chairs.

So overall, while this is a nice place, they had some serious noise issues while we were there and you might want to check and see if their construction is going on during your stay. I have no idea why they chose to do construction during their busiest season, instead of their off-season. Not very smart.

2. The couch bed had a huge hump in it like most couch beds do

*Due to these issues, I couldn't rate it higher than average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Lissarx2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Please accept my deep apologies for the inconvenience our renovations may have caused during your stay. We are all very excited about this and how beautiful the hotel will look and hope you will come back once they have been completed.

Again, I thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Many hotels in Galceston say they are on the beach, but most are not. Instead they are across the street from the beach.

Holiday Inn Club Vacation IS on the beach! Rooms are beautiful, clean, and the staff is exceptional! Washer and dryers are accessible without an additional charge. In-room kitchens are convent. Pool area is excellent. My family loved staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi there and welcome home from your vacation stay with us. We’re so happy to hear that your stay lived up to your expectations, and you enjoyed your time in and around the resort. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Address: 11743 Termini- San Luis Pass Road, (Farm Road 3005), Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Galveston on the Gulf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#3 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular, unobstructed views of sparkling turquoise waters from your private villa balcony are waiting for you at Galveston on the Gulf. Located on a Texas barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico, Galveston offers miles of beautiful, unspoiled beaches and a quiet location away from all the activity found further down the island.The tropical setting and relaxing atmosphere of the resort invites blissful relaxation for you and your family. Enjoy time together lounging by the oceanfront pool deck featuring a generous hot tub and heated infinity-edge pool that seems to stretch to the ocean. For the younger set, there’s a kiddie pool and of course, plenty of sandy beach and warm Gulf waters on your doorstep in which to play! And right next door is a public beachfront pavilion with facilities on an educational wetlands preserve.About 15 miles up the coast of the island you’ll find Postoffice Street in the Historic District, home to many tree-lined art galleries, coffee shops and over two-dozen historical buildings. Additionally, Gallery Row features antiques, collectibles and fine art, while Stand Avenue offers plenty of shopping, boutiques, festivals and nightlife. Great dining options can be found along the shore as well as downtown.With a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere, as well as a downtown historic district famous for its lovely 19th-century Victorian architecture, great restaurants and family attractions, there are plenty of reasons that make Galveston a popular family vacation destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escapes! To The Gulf At Galveston Hotel Galveston
Escapes To The Gulf Galveston
Escapes Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.